We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,749)
Filter reviews
1,749 results
Traveller rating
1,316
296
92
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,316
296
92
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la pergola superior junior suite sea view vip area balconada area walk in closet maria jose dressing room pool area beautiful hotel buffet restaurant pool service a la carte restaurants total relaxation five star hotel half board turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,749 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This is our second visit to the hotel but first in the Balaconda area. How perfect this was for us, we are wary of going anywhere else now.
The room is perfect, the quietness, the all day drinks and food available, the buffet at the restaurant has the best selection we have found.
For us, this is a winning formula and we will be back. Unfortunately we have to go home tomorrow

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbsro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your excellent review of Iberostar. Our goal is to create a particularly pleasant atmosphere for our guests with our numerous services in our wonderfully designed hotel, so your words confirming our success are really important to us. We promise to extend your praise to all of our dedicated colleagues because we do have quite a remarkable team here.
It is also good to know that you hold us in fond memories and we very much hope that you visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We have stayed at this lovely hotel twice now in the last year. Our first visit to Tenerife was in March 2017 and we stayed at another hotel Vincci La Plantation (see review) which was really disappointing. However the one good thing that came out of our stay there was the fact we discovered the El Mirador.

We stayed in October 2017 and again in January 2018 for my husband's birthday. On both occasions we booked a Superior Junior Suite on La Balconada level. We really liked the privacy this affords its guests and the complimentary champagne, canapes and refreshments which are served throughout the day are an added bonus. We loved sitting in the hydrotherapy pool on La Balcondada with a glass of rose wine or champagne watching the sun setting into the sea. We met some lovely couples from all over the world and made new friends who we are still in touch with.

Arrival
On both occasions I emailed the hotel prior to arrival and the communication was excellent. I requested various things for our room and on the second stay asked for a specific room which they did say they couldn't guarantee but we did get it. The reception staff are generally lovely and helpful but at times some can be a little aloof.

The Room
Both rooms are very well equipped and spacious. The rooms at the El Mirador are a little tired in decor but very comfortable. I hope if they refurbish them they don't do what they have done at the Salome. We haven't stayed there but the photos look very minimalistic and basic. I like the Moorish style of the El Mirador so I hope they keep it classic and traditional rather than go for high tech. I do think they should upgrade the beds through, they are not uncomfortable but I've slept in better quality beds in other hotels.
I love the large walk in wardrobe with plenty of hangers. The first room we had was on floor 1 and was long and thin. It was a little dark but you are directly onto the Balconada terrace. On our second stay we were on floor 2 and this room was wider and brighter. The bathrooms were different in both rooms but equally well equipped with lovely toiletries and big fluffy towels.
The rooms were serviced to a very high standard. On several days our maid left us little gifts, a fan, travel kits, boxes of chocolates which were a lovely touch.
We did look at the large suite on the Balconada level. If you are looking for privacy this room would not be suitable because its terrace leads directly into the swimming pool and you are on show to all the other guests. I do believe there are other suites on the sixth floor which give you access to La Balconada so if you want privacy speak to the hotel and book one of these, but you will have to get the lift down to the Balconada instead of having direct access to it.

Breakfast
The buffet breakfast is excellent. You can either eat on the terrace or in the restaurant. If you are disabled there is easy access to all the restaurants around the hotel. As Balconada guests we had breakfast on the terrace of the A La Carte restaurant which is beside the main buffet restaurant. Therefore you can order off an extensive A la Carte breakfast menu or help yourself to the buffet. Service was very good and coffee plentiful. I ordered an egg white omelette with tomatoes each day and it was cooked perfectly.

Dinner
The main buffet restaurant is very good. You can help yourself to your first course and then order from six dishes for your main course or continue to take from the buffet. Puddings are plentiful and there is also a cheese board.
We ate in the El Cenador Gourmet Restaurant, the first time we had a much better meal than the second time. It is good but it could be better. I ordered lobster on one occasion and it was luke warm and a tiny portion. Another guest commented that hers was the same so perhaps this was a bad night but it should not happen in a hotel of this calibre. We also had dinner in the lovely restaurant by the pool, La Pergola. They should make the risotto starter a main course because it is the best thing on the menu. We shared a chateaubriand one night, it was very good. We also had lunch on one day at La Pergola with a fabulous couple from Texas who were in the next door room to us and that was excellent.

The Bar
Lovely bar with unobtrusive entertainment, very pretty surrounded by the water features and good service.

The spa
The spa is lovely, I had some good massages and the treatments are extensive.

The grounds
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and maintained to a very high standard. Everything is very clean and tidy. There is never a shortage of sunbeds or parasols and towels are plentiful. The pool is huge, more like a lagoon and I loved swimming in it each day.

The staff
The staff are lovely. The guest relations girls are delightful. They are often in breakfast welcoming the guests and making sure everyone is happy with their stay.
Our butler Yhosvany served us on both stays and is an absolutely charming man. Another member of staff told me most of the staff at the El Mirador are only employed on temporary contracts so I hope that when we return Yhosvany will still be our butler.

The area
The immediate area is lovely with a small upmarket arcade of shops and some pretty restaurants. Walk further into Adeje and round the coastline you come into Fanabe where the sister hotel the Iberostar Salome is. Personally I did not like this area very much. It's much busier, noisier and lacks the tranquility that the El Mirador offers its guests. We met a couple who had stayed at both hotels and they said they much preferred the El Mirador. Several other guests who we spoke to on the Balconada level had stayed at the neighbouring Bahia de Duque and said it was not anywhere near as good as the El Mirador. We walked past in on several occasions and the grounds looked very crowded with sunbeds very close together.

Overall
This is a lovely tranquil hotel with spectacular views in the best location. The staff are lovely and the hotel is very well managed. If you are looking for a relaxing and romantic holiday then this is the hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: La Balconada is lovely but the views are better higher up the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear guest,

We are grateful to you for choosing Iberostar for your latest holiday and for returning to visit us once more. Your enthusiastic comments about the prime pillars we set in place to ensure amazing holidays for our guests are great to receive. Beautiful locations, helpful and friendly staff, and high standards of gastronomy are some of the most important elements of our company and reading that you found them all to your liking is brilliant news.

Once again, we thank you for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality. We hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful, well run hotel in a lovely location. We were worried about what to expect having never been to Tenerife before. We took the advice of friends and booked El Mirador for a week in the sun with my daughter and her boyfriend. This is a lovely hotel with great rooms, beautiful pools and outdoor dining and relaxation areas. The VIP Balconada area was a particularly welcome bonus - with its own pool, jacuzzis and free food and champagne through the day. The restaurants in the hotel and locally are very nice and for those that want the livelier experience that Tenerife offers it is only a 20 minute walk away! Oh ... and how wonderful that there are no children at this hotel! Having had the good fortune to stay at some of the best hotels around the world - this is certainly in the same ranks.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank andrewbY4846IF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Andrew,

First of all, we want you to know that we are really happy that you had such an excellent holiday with us and thank you for sharing your experience. As we aim on a daily basis to exceed the needs and goals of our valued guests and provide them with a place of joy and total comfort, we are obviously humbled by your kind words.

We would like to express our gratitude once again for your wonderful feedback and hope to have the honour of serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This hotel is a great holiday destination. All areas are clean and the staff are very friendly. We stayed for 10 days in May. The weather was disappointing but not the location. We walked for miles along the coast and when we relaxed by the pool the suns beds were plentiful and comfortable. The pool is one of the prettiest I’ve seen. More like a private lagoon.

We didn’t eat in but walked along the beach to several different restaurants overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor to get the best sea views.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TantasticSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to express our appreciation for your kind words and positive rating of our hotel. It was a pleasure to read your description of our establishment and it motivates us to maintain our standards. Of course, we will relay your compliments to our team, they will be delighted to know that they enhanced your holiday experience. It would be an honour to serve you again in the future at our hotel, until then we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Been back home for a week and still thinking about the holiday. This was our third visit to Tenerife and the third adults only hotel we've been to and this was by far the best (chosen primarily because of adults only and size).

The El Mirador is by far the most "grown up" and the nicest in my opinion. Its at the quieter end of Adeje; to get to the more touristy bars and restuarant is a good 10-15 mins walk and not located in the most disabled friendly area (ie hills all the way so a degree of fitness is needed).

Although the hotel itself and the food were great ie lovely surroundings, kept clean and well maintained, all the bells and whistles (toiletries, slippers, towels, hot water, good water pressure etc) were a great standard, it was the staff that made the visit. They were with few exceptions, brilliant. Their friendliness, willingness to help and general "can-do" behaviour made it, along with the little things like remembering that you take coffee at breakfast or that you take milk with the coffee.

As a wheelchair user all additional help is always appreciated - like an accessable table in the stepped dining room and access to a parking space beside reception.

On a more general level, lovely food, if someone can't find anything they like then they must extremely picky. We were told on our first evening that if we wanted anything that wasnt provided then to ask. Only critisism would be that the hot buffet wasnt quite hot enough.

There are loads of sunbeds which the sunbed attendant will move into the spot that you want (I was even given 2 mattresses to make it easier to get on and off the lounger!) and generally the pool and bed area are peaceful and relaxing.

I could go on but others have covered most other things. Best way to put it is that yes I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are seaviews - avoid the 01 rooms which aren't
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fiby101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear guest,

We are very happy to learn that you had such a great time with us and want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. The staff at our hotel and the entire team behind the scenes guarantee that we always aim to improve and meet the needs and goals of our valued guests. We welcome and value the ideas of our guests because with them we can achieve our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. We will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will relay it to the appropriate management for serious consideration.

Again we thank you for this constructive review of our hotel and hope to be seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews