We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Nearby Hotels
Royal Garden Villas(Costa Adeje)
US$403
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$278
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Iberostar Anthelia(Costa Adeje)
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Torviscas Apartments and Suites(Costa Adeje)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,281)
Filter reviews
2,281 results
Traveller rating
1,144
750
252
80
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,144
750
252
80
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas rocassea viewmoorish stylesea water poolon arrivalpool arealovely hotelsunset barbali bedsbed and breakfaststandard roompool staffhalf boardhotel groundsmain poolsun loungersbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
1,086 - 1,091 of 2,281 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Dear Tripadvisor,
Stayed at the Jardin Tropical For 7 nights for a golfing break in early April.. Book another hotel.!!!!
The hotel needs modernising , the reception is tied and dated looks like an old bank , They have modernised the bedrooms but somehow missed the bathrooms which are very very old , the carpets in the corridors are threadbare and ripped although the corridors are so dark it is hard to notice !! Very clever Jardin Tropical !!!
The pool area is very tatty , cigarette ends in flower beds , tiles missing around the pool area , we normally played golf in the mornings so we would arrive back to the hotel around 2pm ! Hoping to chill out and sunbathe ! We had no chance of getting a sunbed around the heated pool , You will find people reserve the beds around 8am with towels , books etc , just not enough sunbeds around the heated pool area.
As for the service ....Reception...Very Ignorant 1/10 unless you are french or spanish !!....Restaurant Buffet 5/10 ....Pool Restaurant 0/10 ....I can remember the dark haired pool bar manager who took all the food orders , he was great if you were not English !!
I do not mind paying to stay in relaxing luxary hotels where you receive a high level of service and luxurious surrounding , i am sorry to say the Jardin Tropical markets itself as a tranquil oasis of relaxation and calm , the reality is it is more like Faulty Towers!!! Avoid this one tripadvisors!!
.

Room Tip: Book another hotel...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GOLFINGNUTCASE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arturcat, Subdirector at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write your feedback about our hotel. Having knowledgde of your comments, we regret very much not having covered your expectations. We strive to maintain the reputation for good service which we have achieved over the course of almost 25 years. We will take into consideration your comments and would like to discuss them with you personally.
My email is williamgonzalez@jardin-tropical.com and my direct phone number is +34-922.746004.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here - we got a nice refurbished room which was clean and spacious, found some great sun lounger spots to laze about on during the day (we liked the elevated balcony bit that looked out to sea and over the 'beach club' and was away from the hussle and bustle of the pool area). Staff really friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet good quality and decent variety, the beach club food was excellent. Cocktails and drinks a bit pricey, but nothing you would not expect. Local supermarkets you could walk to to stock up on water and snacks. Personally I found the location a bit 'central' and would have been even better if it had been along the coast to a quieter Adeje location, but to be honest a minor point that really had no impact on the enjoyment of our stay. 7 nights just right to totally relax and unwind!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emthelyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had 2 interconnecting rooms on the road side, so no balcony, which were very large, very quiet and great value for money. We booked half-board so ate up well at the enormous buffet breakfast, snacked in the afternoon, and then again enjoyed the various options on offer in the even more enormous selection on offer in the evening buffet. There were so many food options in the buffet even for the kids and the restaurant next to the bar had a lovely buffet salad lunch that we would thoroughly recommend. We got to the poolside very early in the morning, about 7.30am, to have a chance to get our poolside lounger and only left the hotel complex to enjoy the delights of the nearby beaches. The rooms were always cleaned promptly, the staff very attentive and the games room was an unexpected bonus with 2 snooker tables, 2 table-tennis table and a variety of arcade games. We didn't use the kids club as this is clearly aimed at very little ones who are easily occupied with a bit of colouring but our kids didn't need it. There is free Wi-Fi access in a room located adjacent to the hotel bar and very popular. Overall, we booked this hotel as it was the only one that could fit 5 of us in at short notice, 3 days, so our expectations were very low but even so we had a great holiday and our kids are already asking when can we go back.

Room Tip: Get to the pool early to get a sun-lounger.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenLouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Arrived 9 30 in the evening , reception was very dated and tied 80s decor , sat down to be checked in at a table covered with empty champagne glasses young lady checked me and my family in no offer of a welcome drink , no porter at the door to help with the bags.. heres your key your room is 603 and the lifts are over there !!! HOPELESS ...
Finally find the room down a dark long corridor , room very small for 2 adults and 1 teenager 16yrs , double bed and a camp bed that was no more than a foot off the floor ,bathroom again straight out of 80s decor , bedroom had been modernised, view was very nice .
Asked the reception to change the bed , 18 hrs later and four visits to reception i get the bed changed for a full size single !!!
Remember to set your alarm for 7am if you want a sun bed by the pool , all the beds are taken by 8am and if you are lucky enough to reserve one you then have to join the 9am queue for towels and sunbed matress which can have well over ten people waiting in it.
Service in the pool restaurant was very poor they struggled to understand basic english , we asked the bar man to make my wife a fruit smoothy even pointing to the fruit and the blender to explain how to make one he just shrugged his shoulders !! i gave up in the end and went for the more simple Coke Lite ..Food in the this restaurant was very basic and expensive ..
All around the hotel paint is peeling off , light bulds not changed , weeds in all the flower beds ...The only nice part of the hotel and by far the quitest is the beach club which is very nice , you still have to grab you sunbed though !!
Normally when i have checked out of hotels in the past and i have traveled extensively around the world they ask you have you enjoyed you stay , they were so rude they could not even ask me this simple polite question or even say goodbye !!
Finally i would like to advise people thinking of staying at the Jardin Tropical the hotel is overpriced and very dated , the location outside the hotel is horrible , my advice stay at the Mere Nostrum Resort or Villa Cortez service is much better and outside the hotel the area is much more up market

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DAVIDSPICYRUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arturcat, Subdirector at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write your feedback about our hotel. Having knowledgde of your comments, we regret very much not having covered your expectations. We strive to maintain the reputation for good service which we have achieved over the course of almost 25 years. We will take into consideration your comments and would like to discuss them with you personally.
My email is williamgonzalez@jardin-tropical.com and my direct phone number is +34-922.746004.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

What can I say really disappointed with this hotel - expected so much. Quite happy with the room but service can make or break a hotel and in this case it certainly ruined the holiday for us.

We had many instances of rudeness during the staff - almost exclusively from the dining staff.

First example was at Los Cucuruchos poolside bar. We ate here most lunchtimes and the service was slow and they really did not seem to care about their customers. On one occasion we were clearly waiting for a table and indicated this to the head waiter (Tall man with greying hair and ironically the only one without a name badge) - however two minutes later he openly allowed another newly arrived family sit at a available table. When I pointed out we had been waiting longer he gave me an aggressive rebuff in Spanish - not the type of service I would expect.

The other problem relates to the La Mimosa buffet restaurant. The food is pleasant enough but all the staff - apart from the odd one or two - do not understand the concept of service. We found in particular the understanding of English to be particularly poor amongst staff in the restaurant - very often we received different drinks to what we ordered. We pointed this out politely several times and received icy service after this point.

A similar situation at La Rocas - the hotel's seafood restaurant overlooking the ocean.

We had booked here on several occassions and found the service to be cold - we think this may have been down to us dining half board and not taking the A La Carte option.

I think it is unfair to blame the English as the sterotypical yobs abroad - as some other reviewers have - our experience of guests was generally good.

Contrary to what some others have said there IS a rugby scrum first thing in a morning for sun loungers - particularly at the top pool. If you fail to secure loungers by 9.15am forget it. By 8.30 there are strategically placed books and magazines on 75% of the loungers and then by 8.45 all hell breaks loose when the towel station opens and everyone waits in line for their fresh towels. Once again why just have one person handling out towels/cushions/parasols at the busiest time of the day - causing long queues of people. Once again attention to detail is missing.

Generally room cleaning was Ok - but almost every day we had to inform reception that the coffee cups and wine glasses had not been cleaned/changed.

I travel extensively on business and mainly in premium hotels - however this hotel really needs to get it's act together from a service point of view.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quattrorings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arturcat, Subdirector at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write your feedback about our hotel. Having knowledgde of your comments, we regret very much not having covered your expectations. We strive to maintain the reputation for good service which we have achieved over the course of almost 25 years. We will take into consideration your comments and would like to discuss them with you personally.
My email is williamgonzalez@jardin-tropical.com and my direct phone number is +34-922.746004.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews