We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 September 2017

My wife and I have always promised ourselves that we would stay in this hotel after walking by the Beach Club at the sea-side of the hotel on our many trips to this part of Tenerife. We booked the holiday through Jet2 holidays and although we were informed about the building work it was after we booked and we were not given any options of changing hotel so were were stuck. The hotel is undergoing extensive refurbishment with various parts of the hotel not accessible during the work. Were this only applicable to the rooms then it would have had little or no impact on our 11 nights there but with the spa, lounges and part of the remaining restaurant all having building work done, escaping the noise of the saws, hammer drills and compressors was nearly impossible with only the occasional respite during "siesta" and one Sunday. With part of the pool area cordoned off for the spa refurb, for those brave enough to put up with the noise, the space available around the pool meant that even getting into the pool was a chore due to the amount of sun loungers stacked so close to each other it was an obstacle course to reach the pool. Never mind, we thought, let's go to the Beach Club and escape the noise. Well we did escape the noise but there was nowhere to sit in the shade unless you were among the 30 or so who were there when the gate opened at 9:30 am to get a lounger and parasol, or indeed you were prepared to pay the 40 Euros per day to hire a Balinese bed in the area cordoned off for those prepared to pay. I did have a swim in the salt water pool here but it was FREEZING! On one occasion, after going for a long walk in this nice part of Costa Adeje, we called into the Beach Club as residents (the public can use it too) and we saw the only shade free at a table located at the side of the empty restaurant and only 3 people at another table outside with parasols. We sat down and asked for a cold drink but when we said that we were not requiring food at that time we were asked to move out of the area as it was reserved for food only. No shade available so either fry in the afternoon sun on a chair or leave the Beach Club and go to a little bar 5 mins away for a cool beer at 1.50 Euro (not 4.50 at the beach Club) - guess what we did!.

I don't want to leave a completely negative review though. This hotel is an oasis amidst a desert of concrete 70's styled hotels and I'm sure that when the refurb is complete then things will get a lot better. The staff are a credit to the hotel, polite, friendly, professional and doing their best given the difficulties of keeping the hotel running during the work. The rooms are small by modern standards but our garden room was adequate and everything worked. In keeping with many Spanish hotels though, the only English speaking TV channels were BBC World News and Sky News (though if you were German, French, Spanish or Russian a much wider choice was available). While we didn't go on holiday to lie in bed watching TV it would have been nice to have the choice of at least some basic TV if we had wanted it. Our double bed was 2 singles held together with sheet but was OK as long as nocturnal "activities" didn't include lying in the gap. The mattresses though were VERY comfortable and we both had excellent night's sleep. Our only meal was breakfast which was very good but too busy with queues for things like omelettes and pancakes on every morning.
As I have stated in my review title it is a shame that our visit came at a time when extensive work is being done and according to the hotel reception yesterday, it should be completed by the end of 2017 (though I think this may be a little optimistic). If anyone reads this review and has an option to book when the work is done then I would do so otherwise you may be as disappointed as we were. Would we return - well possibly, but only when the work is completed and there are 5 star hotels quite close by at around the same price so we would need convincing!

Room Tip: Any floor 5 either garden or pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shirehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJardinTropical, Quality Manager at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Shirehog,
Thank you so much for charing your revieuw through Tripadvisor with us. We regret that we did not comply with your expectations and that you were affected with the works.
We took note of your comment about english tv and of the fact that we need more beds and parasols at the Beach Club Las Rocas. We will analyze your experience at the terrace with our service team so we can prevent any similar situation to be a cause of dissatisfaction for our guests in the future. We will be pleased to welcome you again once the works are done. We will do our utmost for you to have a lovely holiday with us.
Kind regards, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 87 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Nice reception but our stay at the hotel did not live up to the standards of the intro. We stayed in a ground floor room however the bismal upkeep of the back led to an abundance of insects in the room. Lots of drilling throughout the working week (this included sat). Loud music was played all day to counteract drilling and the building work by the pool! Difficult hotel to navigate. Maybe close to 5 mins from room to reception. Staff were good and breakfast was decent but half the time I ended up lifting dirty plates. Great location and restaurants adjoining are excellent so if you can get it cheap maybe risk it but if not.. Don't. Sold to us as spa hotel but Jet2 failed to mention the spa was closed for the duration. Perhaps once renovation completed the hotel will live up to its 4 star rating.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJardinTropical, Quality Manager at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Michael C,
Thank you for writing your experience with us trough Tripadvisor. We truly regret that the works have affected your stay with us. What the dirty plates concerned, we will inform the Food & Beverage Manager so they can take into consideration your feedback to keep improving in that aspect. We invite you to take a look on our website, to see how the hotel will look like after de works. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Jardin Tropical in a next occasion. Kind regards, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I stayed in this hotel September 2017, on the surface it looks like a really nice hotel, the receptionists are very friendly although one of the porters kicked my back telling me to move it while i was waiting to check in, The rooms are ok nothing special, and there was an aroma in our room that was not good, the beds were an absolute joke two single beds pushed together not what you expect in a 5 star. The single beds were held together with a double fitted sheet, both me and my husband nearly fell through the centre onto the floor, the bed was slippery as the sheets slid on the mattress, impossible nights sleep.
The hotel is so spread out not a place for those in a wheel chair or those who have children in pushchairs.
Breakfast was mediocre,
This hotel is to expensive for what they offer, You would get better conditions in a hostel

Room Tip: if you want a good room stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJardinTropical, Quality Manager at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Good afternoon Catherine C,

We want to apologize for all the inconveniences we may have caused during you stay and that we were not able to meet your expectations with the room and with the breakfast.

We are glad to know that you were happy with our reception staff and we would really hope to welcome you once again in the future to show you our new rooms and also the improved common areas.

We apologize one again and we send you kind regards,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We visited this hotel as part of a wedding anniversary holiday. Although the hotel is still nice, it is in need of a refurb. Although we were informed some work was being carried out we did not realise how much constant noise there would be around the pool and how much of the hotel would be inaccessible and some facilities unavailable. We were also shocked to find that a premium Gin and tonic was almost 17 euros unacceptable when the same whole gin bottles were for sale opposite the hotel for the same price. Would still like to revisit when refurb complete

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mikparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJardinTropical, Quality Manager at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear mikparker,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Tripadvisor. We regret to read that we did not fully meet your expectations. We are aware of the need of refurbishment, and that is why we are working on it. Your can take a look on our website to see the how it will be after total renovation. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Jardin Tropical. Kind regards, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Very disappointed with my trip earlier this week. The refurbishment works going on are very extensive, dirty and noisy. Sunbathing/trying to sleep next to constant hammering and drilling is an unpleasant experience. When I mentioned this to staff they were unsympathetic. Wouldn't recommend at all.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cmd791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJardinTropical, Quality Manager at Hotel Jardin Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Cmd791,

We are sorry that you didn’t have a nice experience during your stay in our hotel.

We are in a phase of improvements in the hotel and of course we give our best to disturb as less as possible our guests. By the end of this year we should have finished all the amazing improvements and we would be pleased if you give us another chance to show you that we can do it better than you experienced.

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 km away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,930 reviews
2.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.5 km away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,331 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
2 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Tropical

Address: Calle Gran Bretana, s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $196 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardin Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jardin Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Tropical Hotel
Jardin Tropical Adeje
Hotel Jardin Tropical Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing