We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and nice rooms but...”
Review of A Hotel Mykonos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Hotel Mykonos
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2009

For Mykonos, Arhontiko has great rooms at a great price. The pool area is nice and the pension is clean. With that said, there were some draw backs.
We had booked 3 rooms for 3 nights for a group of 6 adults. While we loved the place, we found the transportation issue a real draw back. Arhontoko advertises free transportation into town. While this is true it is also limited. On several occassions we found ourselves stuck in Mykonos waiting up to 120 minutes for a cab. There are few cabs so the wait can be very long. Even when we called Arhontiko for a pick up during their limited time frame we found ourselves waiting in the hot sun for over an hour ( the pension is about 7 minutes away.)
All the members of our group have traveled extensively throughout Europe so we have fair and appreciative expectations of service. We felt as if we were an imposition when we did request the transportation services. An earlier post mentioned walking back to the pension. The roads are narrow, there is no pedestrian walk way, the incline is very steep and the drivers are fast. While walking is our usually our method of transportation, we in no way felt safe doing so here. I would recommend this pension only if you have a rental car.
Lastly, do not leave your windows open at night. The mosquitos are thirsty! We all woke up covered in bites.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheri&Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2009

We spent 3 very nice quiet nights here. The owners could not do enough to ensure our stay was easy and relaxed as possible. Very nice breakfast is included in the price and they picked us up and dropped us off at the port (will also do the same for the airport).

The hotel is situated 2/3 kms uphill from the port, a good walk if you need to walk off dinner.

Very nice pool area with great views of the island interior.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diray3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

I was hesitant about staying at Arhontiko Pension since it was away from Hora itself, but it was more affordable, so we took a chance. I was SO happy with the decision.

First, we let the hotel know we were coming and a man named Takis came to pick us up. I was blown away when we got to the pension. It ended up being one of the nicest places we stayed at in Greece! I went with 3 other girls and it was very roomy. We each had our own beds. The only downside to the room was that there was no shower curtain in the bathroom so the bathroom would get pretty wet (but throughout my travels in Europe, this seemed to be common). Because it was outside the city, any time we needed a ride into the city, we just asked them a few hours ahead and they accommodated us every time (within reasonable hours I'm sure). We did end up renting a car one day (through the front desk) to explore all the beaches on Mykonos. Breakfast was included in our room and a nice extra. This is a family-owned place and it adds to the character. Everyone was so friendly. The pool was gorgeous and the perfect temperature and they have lounge chairs and daybeds and umbrellas. There's a bar there and you can also order food. I would definitely stay there again. I even got their business card in case I ever end up on Mykonos (paradise!) again (see below for into).

PROS:
- Great value
- Beautiful grounds
- Spacious rooms (had TV, refrigerator, safety deposit box) (ours even had a little patio w/ chairs, but we only used it to dry our swim suits)
- Breakfast included (juice, coffee, milk, cereal, bread, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, deli meats, fresh fruit, and more)
- Friendly people in a family-owned resort
- Pool (salt water)
- Bar
- Kitchen
- Airport transfers

CONS:
- Not within town
- No shower curtain

In conclusion, the good outweight the bad and I would definitely return here.

(Here's their info from the business card: [-] or email them at [-])

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutstarr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Arhontiko was the first stop of our 4 week holiday on the Greek Islands and WOW what a fantastic experience ,especially for our two teenage children aged 19 and 17 , as this was their first overseas experience. We knew from the moment when Taki picked us up from the airport that we had made the right choice. It was all laughs and excitement from the beginning. We had the most wonderful 6 nights and were sorry to be leaving. The friendliness, cleanliness, service and great accommodation was exemplary. Nothing was too much trouble, everything was with a smile ,from Leonora in the kitchen to Sophia on Reception to Vasso and of course Kosta. The rooms were spotless, made up each day with the freshest of sheets, All in all an excellent hotel and we would not hesitate in recommending it and we will most definitely be returning in the future. Thank you Taki, Sophia, Vasso and Kyrio Kosta for making us so welcome we loved staying at your hotel and you proved to be professionaL hosts. Evangelos, Vassoula Chrissie and Philip Mavros

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank emavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

After two years I returned again to Arhontiko at Mykonos just for a few days of vacations. The good news is that Arhontiko retains its high quality and remains an excellent price-for-value choice!
The place is nice, clean and luxurious, the pool excellent and the pool bar prices quite normal for all the variety of choices that it offers (the club sandwich is an excellent choice :-) ).
The couple Sofia and Takis still have the management of the hotel, making you feel like at home! During my book, it was also arranged Takis to pick me and my girlfriend from the airport with the hotel's mini-van, which is very comfortable and air-conditioned.
The room, was nice and clean, with traditional Greek bath and it had pool view, which was magnificent during the night.
We had a lovely time at Arhontiko again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank e_haris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
1.1 km away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#9 of 82 in Mykonos Town
837 reviews
1.9 km away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,308 reviews
5.0 km away
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
#49 of 82 in Mykonos Town
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ostraco Suites
Ostraco Suites
#33 of 82 in Mykonos Town
300 reviews
2.1 km away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#7 of 82 in Mykonos Town
964 reviews
1.9 km away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#1 of 6 in Tourlos
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Hotel Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Hotel Mykonos

Address: Drakouri | Drakouri, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece (Formerly A Hotel by Mykonos Arhontiko)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $177 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Hotel Mykonos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A Hotel by Mykonos Arhontiko is a cozy hotel with an excellent value for money, located just 2 Km from Mykonos Town. The All welcome mentality of the owners and staff embraces all audiences, transforming the A Hotel into an ideal choice for your vacation in Mykonos. The A Hotel combines cozy, traditional rooms and luxurious suites with a relaxing outdoor pool and amazing home made tastes of local and natural ingredients.The A Hotel welcomes all diversity, respecting the privacy of its visitors. Even though pets are allowed, the policy of the hotel ensures the satisfaction of all guests, concentrating on the provision of the highest level of services.Visit our hotel and experience a stylish yet relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Hotel Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhontiko Pension Hotel Mykonos
A Hotel Mykonos Mykonos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing