We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudness personified”
Review of Skentos Hotel

Skentos Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Skentos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Kriopigi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from the 4th to 16th August 2016. On arrival we were allocated a room on the first floor, accessed by stone steps on the outside, despite the fact that we had two infants with us who were both in buggies. When we challenged the owner he stated that he was fully booked, we booked in March so he would have known we were travelling with infants. We finally managed to carry our babies in their buggies up the stairs only to find our luggage just dumped in the carpark with the owner no where to be seen. No offer of help what so ever! The room was ok but cramped with a kitchen area of sorts but totally useless as there was no crockery or cutlery and the hotplate and mini oven was absolutely filthy. The bathroom was not cleaned once in the entire eleven days of our stay. I went to ask for a kettle and some glasses the next morning and found myself having to almost feel my way through the bar area due to the thick acrid cigarette smoke that was being generated by the chain smoking owners... it was vile. Every time we asked for something we were met with one of them smoking with absolutely no regard for other people or hygiene... we made a decision at that point to buy nothing from the bar. We have travelled all over the world and I can honestly say we have never met with the downright rudness that we experienced at this establishment. On one of the days my two year old son picked up an empty coke can and took it to my wife who was feeding my other son in the shade by the bar and was met by a tirade of abuse from one of the chain smoking owners suggesting that they sold drinks and not to bring our own to the pool and that she must put it in the bin "do it now!" she barked, we were flabbergasted by this... the can wasn't even ours! Throughout our time at the Skentos Hotel no such treatment was metered out to famillies from other parts of Europe who were enjoying full blown picnics by the pool. Book this hotel with caution, if you don't mind rude, unhelpful staff and a constant stench of cigarette smoke outside and in public areas, go ahead... If like us, you value your health and more importantly your childrens' health give it a miss...

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2016

A basic room sleeping in the kitchen, no storage space or draws to put your clothes in so dresses and shirts hung but the rest laid out on the 3rd bed for the week.
Balcony decent size slept out the one night due to room being so hot, but you have to pay for the air con in the room which is a rip off.
We planned to eat out every night anyway but would not have cooked there! I wouldn't have prepared my dogs dinner there the oven/hob/microwave thing they provide is vile. Don't know how they get past health and safety for it its filthy didn't take a picture but should have..
Wifi there wasn't amazing but doable, was there for a dip in pool in morning to cool down we went to the beach for the day and driving back was so hot pool again to cool.

The pool however I wouldn't take my child in there, it's literally a cheap way of doing a pool, dug a big hole, concrete and chucked a load of stones on top this it not tiled. The steps bevel out and stone sticking out I slipped down the step and took a chunk out my heel.

Said we got fresh towels every three days we did after three days then there for a week they refused to change them again, what's another two towels for two days. Also requested a late check out by travel agent and only gave us till 12 when we flew at 10pm, could have done a bit more.


Not a 10 min walk to beach all down hill there and is 30 min walk in that heat.

Wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: All are sea view apart from ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

First of all we want to thank the whole family for their warm welcome and hospitality! Lemonia,Stellios and Ms Nita are the most genuine, warm people ever! Our room had a lovely sea view(top floor) and everything that we requested was provided. The room was cleaned every day and we had a small kitchenette where we could make coffee and toast. The food is so lovely in Kriopigi and well priced that you don't need to actually cook. For people missing their bacon and eggs please stay home! The beach is 15 minutes down the road from the hotel and we recommend taking either the train or little bus shuttle on your way back if your out of shape(some very steep hills) The hotel has a lovely pool which is well maintained and you have sun loungers around it to make the most. Breakfast was lovely, continental, ham, cheese, toast, jam, coffee and fresh orange juice. From here you are close to all the bars and restaurants in the village. There is a moped shop down the road whose owner, Kostas was very friendly and recommended us places to visit around the peninsula. We also booked most of our trips and activities (Mount Athos and scuba diving) through SIM travel agents which have been fantastic and really well organised.
Out of the restaurants and bars in Kriopigi we recommend Cassablanca, Nikos, Bistrot, Galanos, Ostria and the best one was the one in the village close to the church (that is where all the locals go!).

Thank you once again to our amazing hosts which bent over backwards to make our stay fantastic! We already miss you and promise to return and visit! And also I can't praise enough the hospitality and warm welcome of the Greek people! What a fantastic country! Please go and visit!

All our love,

Ramona and James

Room Tip: Top floor,over looking pool & sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

My friends and I, we're trying to watch a game of football on the laptop, because the staff did not agree with that they cut our wireless Internet,for no apparent reason.They were rude with us.I AM NEVER EVER COMING HERE AGAIN!!!!!! I rather pay more for accommodation than spend my whole vacation here.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Radu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Very basic rooms but this is what we paid for, the rooms were cleaned and beds made with fresh towels and sheets every 3 days.
If we needed anything like extra crockery it was never any trouble.
The communal areas are very clean as is the pool.
Drinks in the bar are cheap and the feeling relaxed.
Breakfast is a typical Greek one that filled the gap and got us started for the day and it was never any trouble for the owners to get up earlier for us so we could go on booked excursions.
The owners are very friendly and go out of the way to be helpful.
Ask the owners to sort excursions for you they know who to speak too.
The position for the Hotel is good and just down a quiet road away from the main bars etc.
Taxis are cheap and we used them a lot.
This holiday offers peace and quiet

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Markandjulieayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kriopigi hotels
2.2 km away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.1 km away
Kriopigi Hotel
Kriopigi Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kriopigi
300 reviews
0.6 km away
Alkion Hotel
Alkion Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kriopigi
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Theo Bungalows
Theo Bungalows
#5 of 13 in Kriopigi
64 reviews
1.7 km away
Kassandra Palace Hotel
Kassandra Palace Hotel
#10 of 13 in Kriopigi
285 reviews
2.5 km away
Palladium Hotel
Palladium Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kriopigi
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skentos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skentos Hotel

Address: Kriopigi 63077, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kriopigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kriopigi
Price Range: $95 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skentos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skentos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skentos Hotel Kriopigi, Kassandra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing