We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$214
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$156
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Los Flamencos Aparthotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Baya Aparta-Hotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whala!Bayahibe(Bayahibe)
US$59
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Iguana(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayahibe Guesthouse(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,936)
Filter reviews
6,936 results
Traveller rating
3,043
2,681
778
263
171
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,043
2,681
778
263
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roommain baranimation teamprivileged sectioncentral barprivileged guestsrodeo steak housela romanabeautiful beachconcierge officedominican republicyucaitalian restaurantenglish speakerssanto domingolanguage barrierother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 6,936 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I had a very good experience. employes are very attentive and always smiling. food is great to average. site is beautiful. Beach is average (beware of sea urchins on the right side of the beach,facing the ocean)
don't buy cigars from the local vendors at the hotel, all cigars are an imitation, but they sell them at high prices. The exception his the cigar and rhum bar from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray22388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Worst hotel ever stayed in all my travels, we have been at much better CAMPSITES. Showers are awful! No water pressure, need to turn water on ten minutes before it gets hot, shower head loose. Rooms are not cleaned and beds not made until 4:30-5:30. Nightly shows are not good at all. Beach too small.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fortfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I read some of the recent reviews of the Catalonia and they sound like they were at a totally different resort. I just returned (Feb.20/12) and my husband and I and the couple we were with, thought that this resort was amazing. We too arrived in the rain and had no trouble bringing our luggage inside while we registered. We had upgraded to the Privileged section. I suggest that you do this. You get a nicer room closer to the main area. There is also a Privilege station where you get the "better" booze and free use of the internet. You also get three 350 ml. of liquor, rum, vodka, and gin. (which you pick up at the Privilege Center.) The lady who works in the center is friendly and very accommodating. Her husband works at the scuba diving station.

Our room was certainly acceptable. The large walk in shower was a treat - but the ceiling showed some water damage. The only negative comment that I can say about the room is that the lighting was terrible. We had to draw the curtains in order to see what was inside our suitcases. There are in room safes and an iron and ironing board. There are also small bottles of shampoo etc. The fridge was stocked daily.

Food - The Italian restaurant is very good. Make this one a must. The attached Italian buffet/pizza restaurant is a great place to grab lunch if you have been on the beach. Look for Omar. He is a wonderful man with a great sense of humour.
- The Steak Restaurant was our least favourite.
- The Mexican Restaurant was also a very enjoyable place to dine.
- The main buffet area has something to please everyone. Diet before you come here
because the desserts are delicious. Each night there is a different theme night so the
menu is varied.
- There is also the availability of a dinner on the beach for Privilege patrons. Again,
don't pass this up.
- Another delicious spot to grab a snack was on the beach. Here you could order
crepes. Yum!

The beach did have a drop to it once you got closer to the water. We always parked ourselves to the far left. (down the beach and to the left of the massage hut) The beach was much flatter here and the ocean was soft sand - no rocks whatsoever. One can walk out quite a distance before the water even hit your waist. It was perfect.

The pool is huge. There shouldn't be a problem finding lounge chairs - here or on the beach. One end of the pool is great for little ones.

The nightly entertainment was enjoyable. It usually starts at 10pm.

Our only setback during our whole stay was our tour to Santo Domingo. We booked with our Nolitour rep. (Diane) She strongly suggested that we book only with her to ensure that our bus tour guide spoke to us in English. Wrong! There were only six English speaking people on the bus. Not only did we not get a running commentary about what we were passing along the highway, but we almost got left behind in Santo Domingo because he changed the meeting time and did not tell us.

Shopping - There are some shops on the resort and the prices are decent. A 15 min. walk takes you into Dominicus. If you are looking for larimar, shop around. There is one huge store with a fairly good jewellery selection and the prices are good. Of course you can barter.

Overall, I would certainly return to this resort. No high rise building with elevators - instead palm trees and lots and lots of flowers. It had a very calm, relaxing atmosphere.

Note: To get to this resort from Ottawa, Canada, we had to land in Puerta Plata and stay for an hour or so in the airport. Then we flew to La Romana. The airport is about 30 min. from the resort.

Bottom line, this resort is paradise. You won't regret your stay.

Room Tip: Choose the Privilege package. It gets you a nicer, newer room, closer to the main area and pool.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nunnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hi , we stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks, we had upgraded prior to getting there, based on review on Trip Advior, it was worth it. The service was great, the room , especially the bathrooms was great. Any request were dealt with promptly. There is a concierge for privilege, it was a bonus. you can go to the concierge and use free internet, desert, special drinks and coffee etc, not that we needed it. there was lots of everything there.

The food is amazingly good for a resort, the wood oven pizza is so good, with so much variety that it made it hard to go somewhere else for lunch. They cook you a crepe bretonne on the beach, what else could you ask for. Was everything perfect, no but there was 4 of us and we always found something we liked. I

The hotel has a very European feel about it, Here are in order, the people that goes there. Italians, French ( France), German and Canadians. There are 3 Bocce court, 2 italian and one French. volleyball, pool table , soccer etc .
Went to eat to a la carte restaurant, Mexican was good, so was the Italian, the Roadhouse ( steak house ) is what surprised me, one person we met told us to order the Rodeo steak. it was a great steck, never had one in the Caribean before. Lots of fish, if you like it, lots of calamari, even crab one night at the buffet ! I do not eat fish ( allergies) but still found lots of things to eat. their vegetables were always plenty and very good.

The negative, the section where you can swim is not that big but big enough. The whole Romana has been hit hard a couple of years ago by a Hurricane, you see rocks on the beach in many areas that were not there before. there is a small hill that you have to down to go swimming, not great for some people but the area on top is very nice, not crowded with lots of shade if you want some. One of the thing we would have appreciated is washroom at the beach, you have to walk a bit to use the washroom but all in all I would recommend this hotel . La Romana is not what it used to be, it has become very touristic, so i guess it<s time for me to find a different place.

Room Tip: need to upgrade to privilege.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank OttawaMlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When we got off the bus in front of the hotel it was raining so i wanted to pull our luggage under the hotel canopy the guy that was at the reception told me i had to leave the luggage outside in the rain while my wife was checking in ,so i insisted and then he hit his hand with his fist to intimidate me so i had no choice but to leave the luggage there until we had our bracelet bad bad bad to me you dont leave luggage in the rain,beside that food was ok room is good house lady do a good joband the garden are really beautiful

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jfbouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews