We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Flamencos Aparthotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Whala!Bayahibe(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Baya Aparta-Hotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Iguana(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayahibe Guesthouse(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (6,875)
Filter reviews
6,875 results
Traveller rating
3,014
2,658
769
263
171
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,014
2,658
769
263
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel tainoprivileged sectionmain baranimation teamcentral barrodeo steak housela romanaconcierge officebeautiful beachyucaitalian restaurantdominican republicenglish speakerssanto domingobeach barother resortshoneymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 6,875 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2010

This is my third time in D.R. and have yet to be dissapointed.

I initially stayed in Punta Cana(da), Puerto Plata, and now La Romana.

I loved the beautiful beach of La Romana, and it's clear blue-green water, and it was nice to stay in a more quiet resort area. 15 mins to the airport, free shuttles with nolitours booked via Flight centre, but the cabin space with Air Transat was tight.
We booked with taxes included $767 pp.

On arrival at 9pm, the check in was pretty slow, with alot of travellers and about 5 people working. Nonetheless, we received our room keys, but the room was NOT cleaned up from the previous people.
Easily we went back to the front desk and they changed our room immediately.

The grounds are clean and staff are all very pleasant, as I find most all-inclusives are.
We enjoyed the basketball courts and tennis courts, clean, maintained, and staffed.

Food is in line with a 4* resort. Never had food poisoning. Everything is very fresh, you may wait a bit longer at the snack bar for a hamburger, but I would rather wait and have it fresh, than have ground beef marinating in the heat all day...

The demographic at the resort were very nice, respectful, but definetely alot of italians either from Italy or woodbridge/maple ;). Plus a staff told us the past owners of the resort were Italian... (ohh, so that explains it).

We did not have a problem with smoking! And I am a non-smoker.
Most if not all of the restaurants are non-smoking, and maybe our week just happened to have more non-smokers... who knows...

I extremely enjoyed the excursions, Richard our instructor with Scuba Fun, booked via Nolitours, was very patient and thorough with teaching us beginners how to to scuba dive. We bought the video and pics for $20 US. Excursion cost $74 US pp. We did the excursion with 2 other divers so it was very comfortable and we didnt feel rushed to finish the skills or risk our safety because of time.

Second excursion was the speed boating and visit the natural pool. Also very safe and fun, drove our own 2 person speed boat with a guide for $65 US.
When we visited the natural pool and saw the starfish, it was so nice to be the only ones there. Approximately, 15 mins after, about half a dozen boats arrived filled with young people, all looking for the starfish that we just had our own time with.

Obviously if you want the big groups and meeting alot of new people do the big excursions. I enjoyed the more intimate, relaxed setting.

I wait in line enough in Toronto, why wait for a starfish in the carribean?

I had a full body 50 minute massage for $40 US at the spa on the resort. You could request one on the beach depending on your preference. This was there sale price, as it is normally advertised at $75. Massages are crazy expensive in toronto, and don't worry this one did NOT have a happy ending ;).

Lastly, Saturday at the resort is a ton of fun, as more local families come stay at the Catalonia, and the animation crew really take it up a notch. With more games and activites in the afternoon leading up to dinner.

Check out tip. Check out is 12 noon, but our shuttle to the airport was not until 7pm. We had the option of using a convenience room for showers only, as they only have one room for everyone to share. OR late check out is $40 US extra to stay until 6pm. We opted for this instead. Our travelmates split the cost with us, to keep the cost down, but at least we still had use of a safe to keep our valuables in for the rest of the day.

If you upgrade your room, I believe the hotel offers late check out but I don't know if it is complimentary.

Overall I went in with not much expectation, good attitude, eager for some sun and surf, and thats what I got.

Cheers/Salud!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ursy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I travelled to this resort with my partner for a week of sun and sand. We got that and so much more.
There was only one small issue with this resort...
The rooms could use a little refreshing but it wasn't really a big issue as we didn't spend alot of time there anyway.

Food - Really good. We were able to enjoy a la carte dinners at the Steakhouse and the Italian restaurant, not disappointed at all. The pizza is as good as everyone has been saying. The evening buffet varied its theme every night and provided a great variety.

The main bar - always a friendly face to get you any number of drinks or cervesa. And considering the number of visitors at the resort, they did an amazing job at getting these out in a timely manner

Entertainment - This ranged from accessible volleyball, basketball, soccer and bocce ball courts to water aerobics, dance lessons on the beach as well as dancing before the evening shows. Ah, the evening shows......always entertaining. Dancing and broadway style shows that were very well done. You can tell they work hard at it. The Michael Jackson tribute is amazing. When the entertainment troupe wasn't performing, they were mingling among the guests and always smiling.

Excursions - We did 2 excursions this time, the Crazy Wheels and the Pro Soana Catalanita tour. The Crazy Wheels lives up to its name, touring through the countryside on Dune Buggies and Quads. Bring a bandana and driving goggles...very dusty but extremely fun. The Soana tour....touring the Mangroves, scuba diving to see the most amazing colours of fish and plants, a wonderful lunch and more. A great day and a great tour guide...Thanks Jessika.

The grounds are amazing and well maintained. The staff were always ready with a smile and "Hola".

I could go on but I hope you get the idea. To summarize, this resort is a wonderful place to relax with entertainment on and off the grounds.

We definitely will be going back

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burlgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Ok, so 4 us stayed in this resort for 1 week. Not expecting the best of the best resort but later realized and witnessed how awesome this resort is.
Now to explain our experience with the resort.

LOTS OF PROS:
1.) Beautiful resort! Lots of trees and greenery throughout the resort. Very clean grounds and gardeners are always up early trimming the coconut trees and keeping the grass green and clean.

2.) Beach is AMAZING! White sand and Crystal Clear blue water! We kept saying that the beach in La Romana is much better than the beach in Cuba. The Sand is very fine. There were lots of beach chairs throughout the area and lots of palapas (huts) and tree shades for those who dont wanna fry under the sun. About 50-75 feet off the short there is a man made reefs that people love to go snorkelling around. If your not into snorkelling much like we were, the reefs are decent enough to see fishes. Bring a piece of bread if you really wanna see the fishes come out more. There was always some sort of activity happening at the beach with the animation team. lots of beach sports to do.

3.) Food is amazing! Breakfast buffet with an omelette table! Lunch buffet with amazing fried chicken! Better than any fried chicken place here in toronto. Different theme every night for the dinner buffet. Mexican, italian, asian, american, etc. There are 3 a la carte's - mexican(mariachi), rodeo steak house which was open every night! and the italian with all the pasta and whatnot. There were fresh fruits at every buffet area. Snack bar is open til 5 pm and they have burgers, hotdogs, roasted chicken, fries, fried fish and fresh fruits and a beer tap! Theres also a pizza/pasta snack bar near the italian a la carte restaurant. Pizzeria had fresh pizza coming out of the Wood oven up every 5 minutes until 2 am! Best pizza especially when ur drunk and hungry! hahah!!

4.) Service - You have to take care of your favourite server to have a much much better service and more enjoyable service. In other words, TIP your server and they will remember you and always be happy to see you! We had 3 amazing servers:

Jenny - Bar Merengeura waitress, Ola Jenny! Always happy to serve us our drinks!!
Felipe - Rodeo Steak house waiter very friendly and happy to serve!
Marino - Made us personalized special order pizza everyday! Even ingredients he dont usually put in his pizza, if he knows you, he'll go out of his way to get your requested ingredient!

Dominican Night was by far the most extravagant night the resort had, they decorated the buffet restaurant and the main bar by the pool with everything dominican and you get yourself a fresh coconut too!

Evelyn the Nolitours rep - very very friendly and knowledgable of the excursions and the perks of the resort and the cameleon club

5.) Cameleon? - Ok, so im sure people have questions as to what is the Cameleon Club with nolitours. Lemme tell ya'll that its a great thing to be part of the Cameleon club. Why? Because you get a free bottle of rum in your room when you check in, if you dont, ask Evelyn The nolitours rep and she'll get it for you!

Also, make sure you attend the orientation with Evelyn because she has one very important information to tell Cameleon Club members. As being a member of the cameleon club, Catalonia Grand Dominicus throws a Beach Side Buffet Dinner for ya'll. Basically you have dinner just inches from the water under the beautiful skies with the stars!

6.) Animation team was always full of energy and lots of activities they organize for all ages!

7.) Excursions - We did 2 separate excursions. 1 was Scuba Diving with Scubafun for $75. We did the beginners dive and for $75 we had our gear rental with our orientation and the beginners lesson at 3 feet water away from the shore not in the pool. And then a 10m dive where you see beautiful underwater scenery and do a little acrobat games while sitting on the ocean floor. Thanx Richard and Cedric! the 2nd excursion we did was the Speed Boating experience to the Natural pool to see star fish! $65 you get your own speed boat to drive for about 30 mins one way to the natural pool where your about in the middle of the ocean with just the background of an island full of coconut trees and no civilization except 2 cowboys and a dog. The speedboat experience was amazing!
There are lots of excursions, we booked our excursion with Evelyn and she described the excursions very well and in depth so your not just dishin out your money just like that. Thanx Evelyn!

8.) Nightlife - theres a discotec in the resort but they played alot of salsa, mereunge and cha cha and on sunday they had a beach party and had much better music with hiphop and reggae. for those people really into nightlife head to BUBARABA at the CASINO where you'll feel the real clubbing vibe. Saturday night is industry night so we saw our bartenders and waiters in the club partying with us and dancing and drinkin.

Theres a casino rep in the resort his name is Sandi he's very friendly and hes the person to talk to in regards of the happenings in the casino. even a poker tournament.

9.) Shops - there are shops within the resort that have a reasonable price for products. There are also shops to the left and right of the resort along the beach where you can bargain but do know the price comparison between resort shops and the local shops so your not getting ripped off ie. Bottle of mamajuana in resort - $6.50 - $13. Beach shops - $30 but negotiable. Theres also a souvernir shop across the street from the resort and they have alot of products.

Lastly - They have free wifi in every room for those who wants to connect to the net

The small amount of cons that did not bother us at all.
1.) The place had a majority Italian/ Euro population but as the week went on, we met more canadians and americans who spoke english
2.) Some workers speak little english but still service with a smile!
3.) The regular Villa rooms are not the greatest, but it did allow for amazing natural light to come in especially in the morning. The rooms do show areas that could use some improvements, but we didnt care at all since we spent most of the day outside the room anyways.

Overall, we had an amazing week and Everyday we stayed there we always said "WOW THIS PLACE JUST KEEPS AMAZING US MORE AND MORE"

Definitely would go back there in a heart beat! ENJOY!!!!































Book your trip to this resort already!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScarbNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Beautiful and clean resort. Nice size not too big and you can walk everywhere.

The beach is spectacular, plenty of chairs and definitely lots of room – not lined up like sardines! The beach is beautiful, no rocks only sand here. The pool is quite nice also, but lots of kids in the morning for some reason.

As for our room – very clean and great service (of course we left tip everyday). Some of the rooms really need to be renovated like the one we had, however we had wireless internet in our room which is a plus for us.

Restaurants all pretty good and the a la carte were very good (Mexican and Italian) the steakhouse was never opened – wonder why?

We went by taxi to La Romana – beware of the taxi drivers using their cells while they’re driving you there. They’re calling a buddy to pretend to be an official guide and take you to all the wrong places of which they get commission.

We will go back but definitely upgrade to a remodelled room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvsToTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

beach and ocean perfect
food -Terrible
room-Terrible
a lots of smokig europeans everywhere
the worst 4* hotel in caribean
I'll rate in from 2.5* to 3.0* not more

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IgorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews