We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - An All-Inclusive Resort
Nearby Hotels
Cabana Elke(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Iguana(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Flamencos Aparthotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bayahibe Guesthouse(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Baya Aparta-Hotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$203
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$280
US$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,873)
Filter reviews
3,873 results
Traveller rating
1,370
1,557
529
224
193
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,370
1,557
529
224
193
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach sidebeach resortla yucaviva wyndhamocean frontsister resortsanto domingospoke englishpalm treesanimation staffpurified waterbeautiful beachrestaurant reservationsfrench friesspecialty restaurantsvip bara la cartes
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 3,873 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We had two rooms during our stay for our family of 5. TV in one room did not work properly, AC unit in the other leaked from the ceiling in the bathroom & the drapes were falling off the curtain rod. Spoke to desk several times, nothing fixed. We had an issue with checking in. We were delayed a day in our arrival due to mechanical issues with our flight. When we arrived we were told our room wasn't ready. When we questioned how that could be, we were told we couldn't check in until after 3 pm, it was 2:50 pm and we were supposed to be there the day before. We were supposed to have adjoining rooms, we did not & were told they were close to each other. They were, but when you are expecting adjoining, this is not acceptable. Some guests mentioned getting champagne or a shot of mamajuana (Dominican drink of choice) at check-in. We were not offered anything. Our room was on the first floor & bordered the public access route to the public beach, so it was not a quiet room. The pen where they keep the resident geese was also just outside our patio. So we were awoken each morning by 7:30 am by the release of the geese. They are angry geese & quite loud! Wifi is spotty & can only be accessed by the main pool or main lobby. We ate at the Italian, Mexican and Oriental restaurants. We left the Mexican restaurant after it taking two hours to get our main course. The Italian restaurant food was mediocre & some dishes were not as described. The bright spot of the food experience cam on our last night when we ate at the oriental restaurant, Bamboo. The food & service here at Bamboo was wonderful! The food on the buffet was okay. Some evenings were better than others, but basically the same food every day no matter what meal it was. The description of the resort mentions a teen club for 13-16-year-olds & game room. The game room must be the one foosball table located upstairs in the lobby & there is no teen club. Just a "kids" club for 4-12-year-olds (daycare). When we inquired about both the teen club & game room, we were told there wasn't one. Most of the drinks were horrible. If you wanted vodka, you were given gin. You needed to tell the bartenders exactly how to make the drinks. If you wanted alcohol in a pina colada, you had to say with alcohol otherwise it was served without. The bartenders were attentive. We had a group of 11 adults & they would deliver drinks over to our table so we weren't constantly going up to the bar to get more "little" drinks. Our housekeeper changed during our stay, as the cleaning of our room improved later in our trip. We were told our room's fridge would be stocked each day with pop and beer. It was only stocked the first day with assorted flavors of pop & each day we were left 3-4 bottles of water. The beds & pillows were very hard, like sleeping with your head on a brick while laying on a piece of plywood. There were some in our group that were University of Michigan fans so when they were playing the NCAA playoffs, the little bar & cigar shop set up chairs & put the game on both nights for the Michigan fans. The walkways are dimly lit, so you need to be careful when walking around the resort at night. The highlight of our trip was our excursions. The town of Dominicus is a quaint & cute town. We felt very safe walking around the town, dining in the local restaurants & shopping the local stores. I'm not sure we will go back to the Dominican Republic, but if we do, it will not be to this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JBajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments and the time you invested in writing us. We sincerely value your comments and we can assure you that our Management has been informed about your unpleasant experience and observations.

As for the maintenance issues, I will discuss with my staff why no one was sent to your room when you went to the front desk for report the problems.

It is our priority to satisfy all of our clients and we can assure you that we work every day with great efforts to optimize our services.

We remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Thanks for alle, all is perfect and Raul Especial is the best Barkeeper over the world! Respect
The hotel is very nice, all is clean, the kitchen makes a very good job in the Palace and the excursions with Vanessa was perfect!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank brauundrauchshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, Director General at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on your family vacation at Viva Wyndham Dominicus. It is very important to us to receive feedbacks and to know that you had a pleasant vacation.

Please remember that we will be glad to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Dominicus.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

I would love to be able to say good things about our trip to the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace-however there were only specks of hope. There were a handful of staff members shined bright in what was an otherwise disappointing trip.

Other guests mentioned the champagne they received when they arrived. We were surprised that it was never offered to us. We also had an issue checking in. They asked for the reservation confirmation that was supplied by the resort (that we could not access without internet). Why couldn’t they access this on their computer?

After check in, a bellhop took our bags to our 3rd floor room which had inadequate hand rails and no elevator for anyone with limited mobility or a disability. He was however cheerful and nice. The only elevator on site was at the main lobby/buffet restaurant. Wifi was spotty at best and only available on the 3rd floor of the main building. Even then, it was crappy wifi service.

Two of the four restaurants we made reservations for, were beyond our expectations. The Italian restaurant had the best calamari fritti! The Asian restaurant, where not only was the staff wonderful but the meal too! The other 2 restaurants were sadly underwhelming. My sister sent one of her meals back and did not dare to send the second one back and choked it down. The waiter was very kind and accommodating. There was no consistency with the bars. Most drinks were horrible unless you specifically told them how to make it. We were told the location of where the best bar was and we agreed. The bartenders there were attentive, and the drinks were consistently good. Kudos to them. At the buffet, there was one older gentleman who was more than happy to get us anything we wanted. He often got us drinks as we got food. Breakfast, lunch or dinner, he always had a smile on his face. While I was not feeling well one day, he asked my sister where I was and helped her to get tea and some pastries to take back for me to have something to eat. There did not appear to be any room service. The phone in the room appeared to have been through the war. Our housekeeper was wonderful. We spoke with her before we left and showed her our appreciation.

You need to be careful at night, the walkways are very dimly lit. We were told they had security combing the beach for undesirables for the guests protection. Scenically the resort and beaches were beautiful. Despite it being hurricane season, we only had one day where the rain was torrential and caused flooding.

Customer service when we asked about calling for our transportation back to the airport was initially helpful. However we were advised to check back the next day to make that reservation another representative was hostile and argumentative. She instructed us to go back to our room to make the call about transportation- despite the language barrier between us and the transportation company. We ended up using our own cell phone to make the call as she proceeded to try to interrupt during the call. I am not sure what the purpose of her job was but customer service is certainly not her forte. She did hold up the front desk well as she chatted with the front desk clerk on duty.

The highlights of our Dominican trip were the excursions we took. If it was not for that I would never recommend going there. Perhaps another resort would be better. Should we consider another trip to the Dominican we would definitely choose a different resort.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank jfigment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, Director General at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear customer,

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay in our property. We sincerely value your comments and we can assure you that our Management has been informed about your unpleasant experience and observations.

Concerning the room in the third floor we would like to inform you that we have a guest service desk that is always available to help our guest with a room change request. We regret that you did not inform us about your room location preferences.


We apologize for not having fully your expectations and we respect your perception regarding our services and facilities.

We remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We had an excellent 7 day stay at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace. All of the staff that we encountered did an excellent job from Kelvin at the front desk to Maria in housekeeping. The food and drinks were good (not 5 star, but good enough) and the location, beach and pools were great!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rweisbarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, Director General at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review!

It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our property. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time to inform us about their experience at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus and we are thrilled to see that yours exceeded your expectations.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your gracious review.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

My third time at Wyndham Dominicus
No regrets, good memories, great friendly service.
A special thanks to Kelvin at the front desk for making it the best stay so far !
You do need to speak some Spanish at this resort , but if you have any issues there are great people like Kelvin who speak English Italian French and Spanish.

I was pleased to see that the restaurants have upped their game by changing the menu options.
Lots of improvement of the property, some ongoing when we where there.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sigurdur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, Director General at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing again the Viva Wyndham Dominicus for your vacation. We are very happy to know that our efforts to improve our facilities have been to your liking.

We will be delighted to continue offering you pleasant stays at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus.

Best Regards

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Domincius Beach & Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews