We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only transferred here because of problems at the Lindo...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Was transferred to the Maya because of problems (i.e dirty rooms, cockroaches etc.) at the Lindo.

Service- The service was better than the Lindo. The people seem to care a little bit more. However, I know spanish, and the employees did not know this, and they were saying some pretty nasty things in spanish while they were around the resort and in our room because they did not think we understood.

Value- We were upgraded from the Lindo, so we did not pay the price for the Maya. However, looking at the price for the Maya vs. the Lindo, I don't think its worth actually paying for it. There is little difference.

Sleep Quality- Very good. We could not get a King bed, so we had two beds pushed together. Still very comfortable. No problem sleeping.

Cleanliness- When we arrived in our first room there was a COCKROACH on the floor. we were transferred from the Lindo because of cockroaches in our room. So upon arriving at the Maya, I was not impressed that there was a dead cockroach on our floor. Also, while walking through the hallways I spotted several cockroaches running between rooms!

Location- very good location. The beach is beautiful. Make sure you research the weather before you book. When we booked it said "partly cloudy" every day. That usually means FULL clouds all day. We got little sun.

The only thing that is different from the Lindo is the rooms. Otherwise, the food, bars etc are exactly the same... not really worse the extra money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zak H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,901 - 2,905 of 5,198 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Travelling as a family of 4 with two teenagers/ young adults (17 and 19), this resort was the perfect size and had the right amount of activities. This was our third time going to the Cancun area, having previously stayed at Dreams and Grand Palladium.
The pool area was populated with a friendly entertainment staff and fun music, while you could enjoy the beach front undisturbed by the noise. Lots of people sometimes meant lines to participate in activities like beach volleyball. It is a very large resort, so navigating was difficult for the first couple days.
The best advice I can give to anyone planning to visit this resort is get to know the person in charge of towels! You are supposed to be charged $10 for a missing towel card. The friendly guys mind giving us an extra towel or two.
The greatest drawback for the buffets was the lack of labels. My daughter has a food allergy so this proved a problem at times. Even when asked in Spanish, the servers didn't know what was in some of the dishes.
The resort claimed to be environmentally friendly but we found certain practices, such as releasing 3000 balloons for the new year, to be wasteful.
The architecture was also very extravagant, leaning more towards unnecessary and wasteful.

Room Tip: Maya, building 62- close enough to the beach, not too close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank toronto-mexico_09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This was our 8th time back to the Iberostar property, and we usually stay at the Lindo or Maya. The Iberostar property is quite large, around a 2 mile walk just around the circumference of the resort. If you are looking for an intimate, small resort, this one is not it. The beach has very fine sand, and you can't beat the Carribean Sea turquoise blue!! They keep the beach very well maintained daily. Federico, one of the beach bartenders, has been there for years, and takes care of guests very well. The rooms are quite large, with separate tub/shower and we had a jacuzzi tub in our room. It may be standard? The snake bar (lobby bar at the Maya) is large, has the best alcohols from which to order, and Jose has taken care of us for many years. It is a pleasure to return back and see familiar faces who remember us as well. The grounds are very clean, beautiful and well kept. We always encourage people to walk over to the grounds of the Beach/Del Mar side to see the lush gardens, peacocks, flamingos and anything else that's around. The location is convenient from the airport, roughly 20 minutes away, and you're soon on the beach! It is also about 30 min north of Playa Del Carmen, so if you want quick access to the city, we'd suggest looking toward the Playacar region for that. If you need a private taxi to the Iberostar Maya, it's about $25USD, one way from PDC. You can ask the hotel if they still have discounted taxis running at various times in the day, about $5USD pp/per way. As far as the food, we never eat at the buffets for dinner. The breakfast at the seafood restaurant on the Maya side is the best for breakfast, and only guests of the Maya can dine there. The buffets closer to the lobbies are larger and include more food, but the poolside ones are just fine for us. We always dine at the a la carte restaurants for dinner. If you are a true foody, remember you are staying at an all-inclusive. The food is good, but not what you'd get paying for it at a restaurant in town! Same with the wine selections, good and you can purchase better wines as well. Ask at the restaurants if they have any other wines included in your stay. We had a couple of options at a few restaurants. We always enjoy hibachi, and the seafood restaurant this time was better than we'd had in the past. Remember guys, long pants are required for any of the a la carte restaurants. It is a very family friendly resort. The entertainment staff is always recruiting folks for volleyball, pool activities, soccer, and other various activities for people of all ages to participate. They can keep you busy enough that you won't have to leave the resort! For the cost, it's hard to beat!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SandVBFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

First of the property was extremely nice. A+. We stayed the week of Oct. 16th. We had a great trip at the beach every day. The pool was great. The people were friendly. The food was so so in my opinion. Maybe it was because we are American and their food choices were geared to other nationalities. I ate well but didn't eat the majority of offerings. Most I was not even sure of what they were. One was some kind of bird prepared with the feathers still on it??? Just not my idea of good food but maybe it is for others. We had a pipe leak in our bathroom one day while we were at the beach. It flooded most of the room. It was cleaned up but took two tries to fix the problem. In the process our bedspread was totally soaked so they took it. Fine. It took three days to get it back. We talked to the front desk, the conceirge, etc, etc. It seemed like there was a language problem with it. They all seemed to really care but no results. Maybe they call it something other than a bedspread in Spanish because they brought us more sheets and pillow cases ???? The Italian restaurant and steakhouse were good but the Mexican Restaurant was terrible. We left without eating. All in all a good trip but wished the food was better for our taste.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was our 2nd trip to the Iberostar. We had stayed at the Iberostar Beach in Dec 2010 and decided to upgrade to the Maya this year. Our hope was that by upgrading to the Maya we could take advantage of better buffets and more a la carte restuarant options.

We have been to Mexico previously and have stayed at the Palladium three times, Barcelo once and Gran Bahia once. We have also ventured to Punta Cana twice - staying at the Barcelo and Palladium and have visitied Cuba once.

The location of the Iberostar is great as it is approx 20 mins from the airport. The resort is really nice. We arrived at the resort in the evening. There was beautiful Christmas lights everywhere which made the place look so nice.

We didn't spend much time by the pool area. The pool area does look nice as it has a lazy river and a wave pool for the kids. We did use one of the Maya private pools for an hour or so in the afternoon one day - its a great area to just relax and enjoy some quiet time.

We did go to the beach every day. The beach area is great. Lots of room to take an afternoon walk. We love the waves at the beach - riding the waves is so much fun.

There is a market area on the resort with shops for souvenirs, a crepe place, taco stand, and a spa among others. We used the spa a couple of times. The hot baths, steam room and sauna were great.

Overall, for the most part this resort was great. The room was really nice, the lobby area is beautiful, the resort is well maintained, the location is perfect, the beach area is great and we are almost wiling to make this our annual Dec resort - expect for one area of concern - the food.

Let me explain. The buffet food is not bad. The quality is good but if you have been to other resorts in the Mayan area you will probably realize that the selection at the Iberostar buffets is not as great as at other resorts. Yes, I did manage to eat every day but I did find that I was pretty much eating the same thing for lunch every day. The evening buffets were pretty much the same as well. The lunch and evening buffets are at the Lindo as the MAYA does not have a lunch or dinner buffet. There is a MAYA snack area by the pool but the variety is limited as well. A little more variety in this area would definitely go a long way to making it more enjoyable. The one area that was good was the breakfast selection in the MAYA restaurant - that was the one area where we actually felt that we got something good in the food area by upgrading to the Maya.

The a la cartes were decent. We enjoyed the Mexican, the steak house, the gourmet and the Japanese a la cartes.

As stated previously, this was our 2nd trip to the Iberostar. We upgraded to the Maya for the 2nd trip in hopes of having a better food experience. The a la cartes were better, but the variety in the buffets, based on our stays at other resorts, was a little disappointing. If this area was addressed, we would definitely make this our resort of choice in Mexico.

As such we will continue to explore other resorts in Mexico and perhaps venture to Jamaica for our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank He_shoots_and_scores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
10.3 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
0.1 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,338 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,418 reviews
0.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,933 reviews
1.9 km away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $341 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing