We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$367
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$391
US$349
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$295
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$236
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$544
US$457
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$411
US$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$642
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
US$515
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kin Sol Soleil(Playa Maroma)
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$508
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,362)
Filter reviews
5,362 results
Traveller rating
3,001
1,524
524
187
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,001
1,524
524
187
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiberostar paraisowave poolseafoodla marinalazy riverla geishasuperior junior suitelindo buffetel ranchoprivate poolstar friendskids clubswim up barspecialty restaurantsfrench restaurantfamily vacationother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
1,784 - 1,789 of 5,362 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2015

This part of the hotel is very calm and nice.

Sport center is too far nevertheless, from the rooms. Huge swimming pools, a very nice area of wtaer playground for the youngest.

Lots of shops, bars, restaurants. Large choice of food, service is ok, sometimes too servile.

Beach is very large and well furnished.

Clean water.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyr_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear guest,

We would like to extend our sincere appreciations to you for choosing our resort to spend your vacation and for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, your honest opinion of your stay.

We are happy that you had the opportunity to visit us and that you were pleased with our facilities our delicious food and our attentions at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

This was our second visit to this resort in the past 2 years. We were a large group, and a few things we noticed had changed. Firstly, the food has not held up. Two years' ago, there was only one restaurant that we did not have a 'very good' meal at. This time, all but one were in this category. The one restaurant that still holds it up is the Japanese Teppanyaki. The other 'complaint' we had is the house wine quality. While there are about 5 different House Wines supposedly available on the wine menu, no one is ever offered a selection. You are only ever offered the 'choice' they have open at night in that particular restaurant. You may or may not get a different choice if you ask. This has changed. The last time we were at this resort, the house wines were quite palatable. Also, the wine was (in the past) upgraded for New Year's Eve dinner. Not so any longer. What ends up happening is having to order & pay a significant up charge for other wine choices.
On the positive side, the golf is fantastic & attached to the resort. The staff at the front desk and housekeeping are beyond accommodating. Wait staff in the restaurants is hit or miss…if you tip well & they remember you, it makes a big difference!!
Will we go again? No. Would we recommend it? Depends on your needs. It IS a very large resort. It WILL take awhile (10 mins) to get from the beach to reception. If you want to have room service periodically, don't go. It is offered, but only as a courtesy. It is not the place for this. It is more for large groups, people that have children that are a range of ages, golfers that want to party at night, etc.

Room Tip: I would suggest trying to get a room mid-way between the beach & reception area. The resort is huge, and this will minimize both times going to/from meals & beach.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Lakeshore566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear client,

On behalf of the IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya team, we would like to thank you for your sharing on this medium how your holidays went.

We work hard in order to make our guests happy, and reading that one of repetitive guests was not completely satisfied during their recent visit, concerns us.

In reference to our culinary and wine list offer, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. We can assure you that our intention is to offer the best quality and service, and we keep track of every comment or concern of our guests and this is presented to Management in order to take actions were necessary.

Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for any discomfort you may have had with the tips; our staff must do their best to accommodate our guests, and tips are definitely not mandatory and our guests should not feel obliged to make this extra effort. We will be looking into this with the Food & Beverage Manager.

We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My wife and I arrived for our first stay at the Paraiso Mayo and were blown away by the entire experience. Staff was extremely courteous and professional. The rooms were top shelf. The pools and dining exquisite. We used onsite travel for a trip Xichen and it was outstanding. The whole of the event was beautiful, romantic, and a total joy for the senses.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear client,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing us for your vacation in Mexico.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable vacation and that you were pleased with the facilities, pools, and services provided by the hotel and our staff, they will be congratulated for their great service.

We wish to have the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Stayed over the week of New Years 2014-2015. I typically travel during this time of year and have stayed at many resorts in the Caribbean so I have plenty of places to compare to.

Lets start with the good:
- Awesome pools. Best I have ever seen. Tons of them. Wave pool, sports pool, party pool, lazy river, kids areas, waterfalls, quiet areas, many swim up bars, etc.. Definitely the strongest part of the resort.
- Coffee. Just really good!
- Large rooms. Plenty of space but my favorite part was there is a door that separates the beds with the entrance and bathrooms. Very helpful for noise reduction since I have a young child.
- Spa. Nice spa with friendly staff. Not very big but gets the job done.
- Selection of Food. Plenty to eat and tons of food everywhere. Wasn't difficult to find things to eat at each meal.
- Kid Sitting. We didn't take advantage of this but they have two fenced in areas with kid pools, jungle gyms, indoor classroom, and staffed caretakers. You can drop your kids off with them and they will watch your kids for the day. Just a great benefit for parents. Although we didn't use the service we did make use of the pools and jungle gyms during the day so we interacted with the caretakers and kids.
- Casino. I mention this not because I went but because on the morning I was leaving I found out there was one there. Take note that it is in the shopping center!

And now the bad:
- Uncomfortable bed. This in some ways ruined my trip. Very difficult to really relax and enjoy your trip with an extremely uncomfortable bed. Was really bad. We but a comforter under the sheet and it still made little difference. Had a king bed with no pillow top or anything. I travel a lot for work and this was probably the most uncomfortable bed i ever stayed in.
- Slow service. A number of times we called the concierge or room service for things and it just took an incredibly long time to get them. Staff was friendly but just slow.
- Ugly beach. When i think of a resort beach i think of white sands and clear water. The sand was white but at the ocean edge there were piles of seaweed everywhere. Also the seaweed was all in the water. Just not enjoyable digging in sand and playing in the water with that going on. The beach area itself is very nice and has a lot of beach chairs and covers.
-Quality of food. A wide selection of food but quality is lacking. Two in our party of 10 got food poisoning while there. To be somewhat expected at an all-inclusive (well, not the sickness).

Room Tip: Biggest issue with the room I had was the rock hard, very uncomfortable bed. The mattress was not a pillow top. It felt more like a box spring then a mattress. I had a king bed and I noticed in a few of the queen bed rooms that the mattresses had pillow tops. Recommendation is to get queen bed rooms or have them guarantee a pillow top mattress. If you have children that nap during the day I recommend trying to get a room away from the wave pool. When the waves start a loud horn blasts and it can be heard even if doors are shut.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us the absolute privilege of being your hosts once again by choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya for your most recent vacation.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and our service. We do our best in order to provide our guests with the best holidays.

We regret to hear your discomfort with our beds Thanks to our guests' comments, our Housekeeping Department ordered new mattresses that are softer and also have a pillow top included. A good part of the rooms have these already, it is a shame you did not try one. Hopefully you will on your next visit.

We are very sad to read that we could not meet your expectations regarding the quality of our food. It is important to clarify that we have a Health & Safety Department that logs all details and takes tests several times a day. This department controls temperature, conservation, procedures and makes sure all standards are met. We also work with and external company that comes in regularly to check on each detail. Tour Operators and Government Organizations also come in to verify those. The doctor onsite reports every case of illness in each hotel so that we can immediately take corrective actions where necessary if an anomaly was detected. Please note that if we neglected this area, thousands of guests and employees would get sick.

We regret that the circumstances mentioned affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel; we hope that we will once again give the honor of serving you at our resort so we may prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Family vacation over new year's. hotel rooms and service were very good. staff friiendly. food was plentiful but after the second day, it all tasted the same. Be sure to make rez in the sit-down restaurants. Our family does not like buffets. If you're spending big bucks for a family vacation, it's nice to be served!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, try to reserve a room or rooms near the pools and beaches. We were on 2nd floor in building 61 and had a family suite and two jr. suites. We were happy with the rooms and the location. We were six adults and 4 children.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gurugrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya for your vacation in Mexico.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food, our rooms, and the excellent service of our staff.

Your review motivates us to continue improving our service. Thank you for your recognition.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews