We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

TripAdvisor has been made aware of recent media reports or events concerning this property which may not be reflected in reviews found on this listing. Accordingly, you may wish to perform additional research for information about this property when making your travel plans.

“FANTASTIC trip for Christmas!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We spent a completely fabulous week at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya over Christmas and loved, loved, loved it. Part of what made it so terrific was being there with 23 in our extended family, with grandparents, parents and kids ages 6-19 yrs. The resort is part of five connected Iberostar properties and, by staying at the Maya, you have access to the facilities at all of the others except for the Grand. The property is large and a little confusing on day 1 or 2, but it's not like you're going to spend the week lost. When we checked into the rooms, it was like the "booking.com" ad you see where they say, "You got it 'booking' right!" The rooms were large with a nice sitting area and a door separating the closet/bathroom area -- which is right when you walk in -- from the remainder of the room, so you can close it to reduce hall noise. Because we had multiple families there, we saw a number of different rooms and realized that some of the rooms have a larger sitting area than others because of the way the building bumps out in the middle. Ours was larger than any of my brothers' rooms and we had all asked for the same "level" of room. But even the "smaller" ones were plenty large. The Maya has wi-fi in the rooms, which was generally reliable but not always.

The staff was really amazing, particularly the entertainment staff (Star Friends). When my husband and I visit an AI-resort by ourselves, we aren't interested in the entertainment or engaging in pool games, etc. But with a big crew of 23 people all different ages, it was one of the favorite parts of the resort. They had zumba on the beach, darts, archery, horseshoes, air rifles, water aerobics, etc. David, Alejandro, Sarai, Eduardo, Juan, etc. were all so super friendly and fun. Our older kids especially had a great time doing all of those activities and playing volleyball at the beach. The younger kids spent hours and hours building sandcastles and playing in the waves. There are catamarans you can take out (if you know how to sail, there's no additional charge - or you can pay a guide to take you out), but they were only going out maybe 2 days out of the week because the surf was pretty rough a lot of the days we were there. It's not a beach you can snorkel from like we've seen in Turks & Caicos or the DR. But that was still okay. We weren't counting on snorkeling, except for in the underground rivers at Xcaret. Another neat activity you can pay extra to do was rent segways and tour all over the large grounds of the 5 adjoining resorts.

Out of the a la carte restaurants, we liked La Geisha the best, not necessarily due to the food but because it's such a fun "show" during dinner ... it's the teppanyaki style cooking, lots of fun. For the food, we liked El Tapatio (Mexican) the best. The meals are very long since they let you go to the buffet for appetizers and dessert, but you also order your entree from the menu. So we had a few kids falling asleep at the table several nights, even though we made our reservations for as early as we could most nights. One of my brothers just bailed on several of the dinners and took his son to the buffet so they could get him in bed, which was too bad. But the lesson for us was that the a la carte restaurants are not always "better" for families. We really enjoyed the buffet at the Pagoda/Laguna restaurants, which are attached to the Lindo.

We found the beach more crowded than the pools in terms of having to get out early to find a spot. But it was never so bad that we couldn't find a spot.

It was such a fun trip and we thought the hotel was so nice that we'd consider going back again even though or normal mindset is to want to try something different each time we go somewhere, even when we have a good experience. I'd rank it very highly and would strongly recommend it to others, especially for people traveling with their families or extended families.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that has a larger sitting area (the middle of the building we were in bumpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank maserk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear client,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations not only for choosing our resort to spend your vacations with us, but also for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya.

Our goal is to create memories by exceeding our guest’s expectations and we are glad our staff members continue accomplishing this goal day by day.

It is with great pleasure we read that our staff members exceeded your expectations; David, Alejandro, Sarai, Eduardo and Juan, who have been already recognized for the outstanding service.

We appreciate your comments; it is thanks to valuable feedback like yours we continue improving day after day. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home for another pampered and relaxing holiday.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,590 of 5,066 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2015

This part of the hotel is very calm and nice.

Sport center is too far nevertheless, from the rooms. Huge swimming pools, a very nice area of wtaer playground for the youngest.

Lots of shops, bars, restaurants. Large choice of food, service is ok, sometimes too servile.

Beach is very large and well furnished.

Clean water.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyr_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear guest,

We would like to extend our sincere appreciations to you for choosing our resort to spend your vacation and for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, your honest opinion of your stay.

We are happy that you had the opportunity to visit us and that you were pleased with our facilities our delicious food and our attentions at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

This was our second visit to this resort in the past 2 years. We were a large group, and a few things we noticed had changed. Firstly, the food has not held up. Two years' ago, there was only one restaurant that we did not have a 'very good' meal at. This time, all but one were in this category. The one restaurant that still holds it up is the Japanese Teppanyaki. The other 'complaint' we had is the house wine quality. While there are about 5 different House Wines supposedly available on the wine menu, no one is ever offered a selection. You are only ever offered the 'choice' they have open at night in that particular restaurant. You may or may not get a different choice if you ask. This has changed. The last time we were at this resort, the house wines were quite palatable. Also, the wine was (in the past) upgraded for New Year's Eve dinner. Not so any longer. What ends up happening is having to order & pay a significant up charge for other wine choices.
On the positive side, the golf is fantastic & attached to the resort. The staff at the front desk and housekeeping are beyond accommodating. Wait staff in the restaurants is hit or miss…if you tip well & they remember you, it makes a big difference!!
Will we go again? No. Would we recommend it? Depends on your needs. It IS a very large resort. It WILL take awhile (10 mins) to get from the beach to reception. If you want to have room service periodically, don't go. It is offered, but only as a courtesy. It is not the place for this. It is more for large groups, people that have children that are a range of ages, golfers that want to party at night, etc.

Room Tip: I would suggest trying to get a room mid-way between the beach & reception area. The resort is h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Lakeshore566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear client,

On behalf of the IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya team, we would like to thank you for your sharing on this medium how your holidays went.

We work hard in order to make our guests happy, and reading that one of repetitive guests was not completely satisfied during their recent visit, concerns us.

In reference to our culinary and wine list offer, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. We can assure you that our intention is to offer the best quality and service, and we keep track of every comment or concern of our guests and this is presented to Management in order to take actions were necessary.

Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for any discomfort you may have had with the tips; our staff must do their best to accommodate our guests, and tips are definitely not mandatory and our guests should not feel obliged to make this extra effort. We will be looking into this with the Food & Beverage Manager.

We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My wife and I arrived for our first stay at the Paraiso Mayo and were blown away by the entire experience. Staff was extremely courteous and professional. The rooms were top shelf. The pools and dining exquisite. We used onsite travel for a trip Xichen and it was outstanding. The whole of the event was beautiful, romantic, and a total joy for the senses.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear client,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing us for your vacation in Mexico.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable vacation and that you were pleased with the facilities, pools, and services provided by the hotel and our staff, they will be congratulated for their great service.

We wish to have the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Stayed over the week of New Years 2014-2015. I typically travel during this time of year and have stayed at many resorts in the Caribbean so I have plenty of places to compare to.

Lets start with the good:
- Awesome pools. Best I have ever seen. Tons of them. Wave pool, sports pool, party pool, lazy river, kids areas, waterfalls, quiet areas, many swim up bars, etc.. Definitely the strongest part of the resort.
- Coffee. Just really good!
- Large rooms. Plenty of space but my favorite part was there is a door that separates the beds with the entrance and bathrooms. Very helpful for noise reduction since I have a young child.
- Spa. Nice spa with friendly staff. Not very big but gets the job done.
- Selection of Food. Plenty to eat and tons of food everywhere. Wasn't difficult to find things to eat at each meal.
- Kid Sitting. We didn't take advantage of this but they have two fenced in areas with kid pools, jungle gyms, indoor classroom, and staffed caretakers. You can drop your kids off with them and they will watch your kids for the day. Just a great benefit for parents. Although we didn't use the service we did make use of the pools and jungle gyms during the day so we interacted with the caretakers and kids.
- Casino. I mention this not because I went but because on the morning I was leaving I found out there was one there. Take note that it is in the shopping center!

And now the bad:
- Uncomfortable bed. This in some ways ruined my trip. Very difficult to really relax and enjoy your trip with an extremely uncomfortable bed. Was really bad. We but a comforter under the sheet and it still made little difference. Had a king bed with no pillow top or anything. I travel a lot for work and this was probably the most uncomfortable bed i ever stayed in.
- Slow service. A number of times we called the concierge or room service for things and it just took an incredibly long time to get them. Staff was friendly but just slow.
- Ugly beach. When i think of a resort beach i think of white sands and clear water. The sand was white but at the ocean edge there were piles of seaweed everywhere. Also the seaweed was all in the water. Just not enjoyable digging in sand and playing in the water with that going on. The beach area itself is very nice and has a lot of beach chairs and covers.
-Quality of food. A wide selection of food but quality is lacking. Two in our party of 10 got food poisoning while there. To be somewhat expected at an all-inclusive (well, not the sickness).

Room Tip: Biggest issue with the room I had was the rock hard, very uncomfortable bed. The mattress was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us the absolute privilege of being your hosts once again by choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya for your most recent vacation.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and our service. We do our best in order to provide our guests with the best holidays.

We regret to hear your discomfort with our beds Thanks to our guests' comments, our Housekeeping Department ordered new mattresses that are softer and also have a pillow top included. A good part of the rooms have these already, it is a shame you did not try one. Hopefully you will on your next visit.

We are very sad to read that we could not meet your expectations regarding the quality of our food. It is important to clarify that we have a Health & Safety Department that logs all details and takes tests several times a day. This department controls temperature, conservation, procedures and makes sure all standards are met. We also work with and external company that comes in regularly to check on each detail. Tour Operators and Government Organizations also come in to verify those. The doctor onsite reports every case of illness in each hotel so that we can immediately take corrective actions where necessary if an anomaly was detected. Please note that if we neglected this area, thousands of guests and employees would get sick.

We regret that the circumstances mentioned affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel; we hope that we will once again give the honor of serving you at our resort so we may prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,177 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,988 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,826 reviews
1.9 km away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,181 reviews
15.5 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
7,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $354 - $952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing