We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 October 2017

My family and I just got back from a six day vacation here for my mother in laws birthday. I cant even begin to put in words how absolutely amazing this place and all its employees are. They make it feel like a home away from from, just alot more beautiful and fun. From the all the beautiful pools to the nicest beach and ocean waters Ive ever seen I firmly give this place a all around 5 stars.. The entertainment is also bar none, Star friends make the place a even better more fun experience. I CANT WAIT TO BE BACK!!

Room Tip: 5104 right by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank zachjacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya to spend your vacation.

We are thrilled to know that you had a great vacation and that we were able to exceed your expectations. It makes us happy that you enjoyed our beautiful facilities and especially, that our staff made of your stay a memorable experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 82 of 5,159 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times. We returned in September 2017 for another week. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I am excited to see that they are building a new restaurant on the beach! The service at this resort really sets it apart for us and keeps us returning. The Star Friends were so friendly and made sure we always had fun! Thank you Tony, Mayren, Aaron, Charlie, and especially Gilmer - you all made our trip very special. The shows are SO much fun! I need to eat a strict gluten free diet and the team at Paraiso Maya are very accommodating! Chef Mario at Pagoda Buffet, Chef Octavio, Chef Kristobel, and Chef Giovanni went out of their way to ensure I had a wonderful gluten free dining experience at every restaurant. Chef Giovanni remembered me right away from past visits. One of them was always available to me to walk me through the buffets or make me something special like gluten free pancakes for breakfast. I appreciate you all very much! The food is delicious! Special thanks to Angel, captain at Pagoda for always checking in and making sure the allergy chefs were meeting with me. The beach is beautiful and the pools awesome. The beach and pool bartenders work so hard and are fantastic! Thank you Javier, Jonathon, Fredrico,and Joyce - your drinks were delicious and friendliness even better! We will continue to return!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChristineKarasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear guest,

It is a great honor to read that IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya has become your second home and we would like to thank you for your kind loyalty.

We are glad to read that once again we went beyond your expectations and provided you with a fantastic vacation time. Every detail is taken care by our outstanding staff who is always willing to go the extra mile to make you feel at home and pamper you as you deserve. Please rest assured that we will share your comments with all of them.

We will be looking forward to welcome you for the third time at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Loved our trip. 3rd Time at this resort. It is just that great. Beaches, food, accommodations are all excellent. Loved the staff, especially Artimeo (spelling). Best drinks, best care, best conversations. He is a gem. Stop by the snake bar for a visit. I know we’ll be back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya to spend your vacation.

We are delighted to read your nice comments about the great time you had with us. We will share your compliments with our colleague Artemio who will feel excited to know that through his excellent job and friendly service, made of your stay a wonderful experience.

We cannot wait to host you for the fourth time, at your second home IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Rooms clean, staff was friendly and of great help when needed especially to navigate our way around the resort. This resort is so big. The restaurants for dinner had amazingly good food. Better than any around here. The room service was great, they turned our beds down at night and even had put rose petals on bedspread for a romantic evening.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank 7dianec2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya to spend your vacation.

It is an honor to read your nice review about your recent stay with us, your comments are really valuable for us as they motivate us to keep doing an excellent job and offer the best service to our guests.

It will be great to host you once again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We recently returned from another wonderful vacation at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We were there from 26 Sep to 3 Oct and this was our 3rd time this year but our 29th full week at the Paraiso since we started going. The staff made our vacation truly memorable. Of course, we know so many and it was extremely nice to rebuild our bonds since the last visit. A very special shout out to Montiel, the day time head waiter at the Maya / Lindo pool side. He was instrumental in delivering what the General Manager assured would occur. Thank you again Montiel – we'll remember you forever and we certainly hope you enjoyed your day off as you were there every day for us.

I know the resort isn't responsible for the rain but because of the rain on Day 6 and 7, we decided to visit the Spa in the Shopping Mall for the first time. The wet areas, which include the Hot Room, Steam Room, 4 Hot tubs with different water movements, a cold tub, 3 types of cooling showers plus a large jet pumping pool with salt water, towels, locker rooms, refreshments, etc are included for Maya guests. Otherwise, the wet areas will cost $40 US per person per day. Wow was the Spa nice. Extremely clean, albeit the hot tubs are showing a little age around the edges. On our 2nd visit at the Spa wet areas, that little pain in my back was left behind in the water. We look forward to going back to the Spa, even if it's not raining.

Speaking of weather, the average temperatures on the balcony (3rd floor) at 6:30 am was 27°C/80°F. The average temp of the air at the pool at 11 am was 30.5°C/87°F. The average temp of the pool water at 11 am was 30°C/86°F. Each of the reading were highest on our first day and each day dropped a bit as winter approaches.

The Star Prestige (SP) program is still ongoing. The cost to enjoy the benefits is $40 US per person per day and the resort introduced a baby blue bracelet that is more visible over the previous white pin. The SP area on the beach has many more loungers now. Ordering non-included wine from the wine list is a much better experience now as each restaurant has a collection of wine that is delivered to the table much faster. A great improvement – thanks.

The resort has gone "No Straws" due to the link between plastic straws and deceased wildlife.

We also noticed the Maya Room Service menu is different and although we didn't order it, at first glance the list appears to have much more variety. I've posted the menu on my Google Photos so please PM (private message) if you would like the link.

In the Maya lobby, the Star Cafe was opened but the Cigar Bar next to it was closed as the Cigar Bar and Star Cafe were being swapped. After the renos, the Star Cafe will be much larger.

The Beach Bar was opened but it was moved over to the Spa hut on the beach. The spot where the Beach Bar was, was boarded up as a new Bar/Restaurant was being built. The bathrooms were closed so beachers needed to use the facilities at the pool or pool restaurants.

We noticed a larger structure made out of concrete going up to the left of the Lindo entrance and to the right of the gym. Thinking it was a parking garage, it will be the new gym. Based on the size of the structure, it's going to be big. The old gym which is still open in the interim and will become the new Kid's Club for the 4 family resorts.

While we were at the resort, the resort was around 40% of capacity (we were told) as it was low season. This time period is an excellent opportunity for the resort to catch up on areas requiring work and we seen it. Lots of maintenance was ongoing in the buildings and some rooms were being renovated.

We are planning our 30th full week at the Paraiso in Jan/Feb 2018 and we look forward to seeing what improvements the management has committed to and funded.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank gmacpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review about your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya.

First of all we would like to thank you for your kind loyalty, we feel honored to read that this was your third stay with us.

It is really satisfying to know that this stay was not the exception and you had a wonderful holiday with us. Thank you for highlighting the great service provided by our Captain Montiel who took care of your needs during your meals. We also want to thank you for your nice comments about the wet areas at the Spa, it is great to know that you truly enjoy them.

As you experienced, we are updating our facilities in order to always have the best facilities and make sure that our guests are totally comfortable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in January and hopefully you will be able to enjoy our new improvements.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
10.3 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
4,390 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,106 reviews
0.1 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,342 reviews
1.9 km away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,420 reviews
0.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $350 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing