We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,580)
Filter reviews
2,580 results
Traveller rating
1,031
816
379
220
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,031
816
379
220
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olympic pool greek restaurant entertainment team kids club palmy pool pirate ship family bbq kos town family holiday main restaurant wedding coordinator air con great holiday mini disco ice cream pool bar water slides
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 2,580 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We travelled to the Kipriotis Village Resort in August, approximately a month after the major earthquake. We were concerned about going, but apart from small aftershocks we occasionally felt we wouldn’t have realised an earthquake had happened. It certainly didn’t spoil our holiday in any way and nothing appear damaged on the Resort.
The Resort was really comfortable, clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our family trip (parents and two children aged 10 and 13) was spent mostly by the Olympic pool as it was next to our room. The first week was really busy by the pools, as you’d expect in the school holidays, quieter our last week as we flew back 3rd Sept, most school children had already left. The Palmy area seemed busy with the larger water slides, so we only visited that once. However great area if you are that side of the resort and could get a sunbed and let the kids play.
The main restaurants (even to our fussy eaters) had numerous choices and we were pleased with the food, especially after reading bad reviews. We enjoyed the themed nights, which included Chinese and Mexican during our stay. We also booked (have to book 24 hrs before) the Italian and Greek restaurants and were pleased with both. (Didn’t try Family BBQ as it was cook it yourself).
Snack/Pool side eating was handy if you didn’t want to leave the pool. Olympic pool had a variety of dishes every day and ice cream. Or you could always get a hot dog or burger or kebab from one of the other snack bars. Or coffee/cake in the hotel.
Must admit we didn’t do many of the Sports activities, which the Animation team were always approaching us about. Mum did do the Water Aerobics and Step classes and 10 year old had a free scuba diving lesson, but that was it.
Evening entertainment didn’t really appeal, if anything this was the poorest area of the resort. Probably aimed more at families with small children. Ours just weren’t interest.
We did hire a Buggy and tour the island. That was great fun, but watch out for idiots on the road.
We also went on a sunset horse beach ride at Erika’s farm which was wonderful. They pick you up from your hotel included in the price 35 euros pp (about half an hour each way, no riding any nearer). They cater for all abilities, splitting the group up depending on what you were capable of. The horses (and all the other animals on the farm) seemed well cared for, would definitely recommend.
The only other trip we went on was a day trip to the Volcano island of Nisyros. Watch out for all the extras that get added on. Like the bus to the volcano and entrance fee to walk around the volcano. Check when booking what is included, it’s probably only coach to harbour and boat ride. Apparently many people go to visit the town with narrow streets and monastery and don’t go up to the volcano. It’s also a very early start we were picked up at our hotel at 7:30. Having said all that still worth doing and a lovely boat trip and amazing memories.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Cheryl H,

It was a pleasure hosting you for your vacations in Kipriotis Village Resort.

We thank you for posting your generous feedback, giving us the opportunity to be aware of your great feelings and memories. There is nothing more rewarding than knowing that our guests have spent an enjoyable break.

The entire team will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Guest Service Team
Kipriotis Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

What can I say the hotel and staff are excellent we were there during the recent earthquake. If was frightening and the hotel had very minimal cosmetic damage our room and those of people we spoke to were absolutely fine and suffered no damage. The place is lovely base for a holiday to Kos there are 5 pools and it's own beech front which is lovely. There are plenty of bars and food is in a plentiful supply there are several different restaurants and our favourite was the Italian but you have to book early

Date of stay: August 2017
2  Thank Y7449ZUtimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel for October half term for some sunshine and family time.

The hotel was vast, we upgraded our room on arrival so we could have more space. I'm not so sure it was worth the extra 150euros, but it was a lovely room. The dining room table seemed surplice to requirements considering we were all inclusive! Would have been a much better use of space to make another double bedroom rather than as unused dining area.

TV only had news channels in English language which was disappointing for the children.

Foot was plentiful and fresh, although as we were staying right at the end of the season towards the end of the week they started to close parts of the hotel down. The reason we booked this hotel was due to there always being more than one option to dine as couldn't face breakfast lunch and dinner in the same restaurant everyday, but as the days went on - that's what ended up happening. No major issue as the food was good.

We didn't really drink much of the alcoholic offerings, I enjoyed a Hendricks and tonic on the plane home! But the children always had access to drinks and snacks which was fine.

We couldn't really make use of the Thomas Cook kids club as the reps didn't have English as their first language, so couldn't have English kids under 7 (which both of mine were) this was disappointing as the kids club is the main motivator for this type of hotel holiday over an apartment...this should have been explained when we booked. The mini disco was a big hit every night though.

The pools, pool side areas and grounds were all great, the hotel was only 1/3 full so we could get up whenever we liked and have our pick of where to go! I couldn't cope with high season and having to get up at 6am to reserve sun loungers! Great playground for the kids, slides and splash pools were perfect.

Nightly entertainment was fun and energetic so I think they did a great job for the audience.

The weather was sunny - about 24degrees all week but there was a cold wind which did make you shiver from time to time. Warmer than the UK though and we definitely got a top up of vitamin D!

Finally we took a taxi into Kos Town several times to avoid cabin fever, and that was lovely - very pretty and still lots going on for so late in the season.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank Ledwar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Ledwar75,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.


Kind regards,

Guest Service Team
Kipriotis Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay but evening entertainment was awful and let it down. No professional shows and all finished for about 10.30pm
Food was average on the whole and I'm not a fussy eater at all. Pool area around the slides was most enjoyable for us and easy to get chops for the kids at lunch time.
Don't try the hot dogs they're cold and the burgers cooked too far in advance and we're semi warm.
Sadly won't be returning as this in my opinion was an expensive holiday for was was on offer.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank donnabradandmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear donnabradandmollie,

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your stay at Kipriotis Village Resort.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely regret that the entertainment program did not meet with your expectations. We would like to mention that in case you would like to extend your night life you could visit Red Sky Bar or Zona Club, both in Kipriotis Complex. Furthermore, Kos town is 4km from our hotels.

We hope for another opportunity to deliver our true and warm Kipriotis Hotels hospitality to you should you stay with us again in the future.


Kind regards,

Guest Service Team
Kipriotis Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

We shouldn’t have been coming to Kos. We should have been going to Croatia flying with Monarch. I really hoped that Monarch’s demise was not how this holiday was going to go.

So with two daughters with disabilities, we had a week’s holiday booked and partially paid for by a Carers charity so I was understandably devastated when news of Monarch broke. My old school friend is a Hays travel agent and she was on it as soon as we knew our holiday would have to change. She offered various options but nothing suitable within such a short time frame. Then they offered Kos. I liked the look of the hotel but still wasn’t sure it was right for us. In the end we accepted.

What a great decision that was!

Then I read Trip Advisor. Rude staff, rats etc. I make a point of trying to learn at least some basics of the language but this was Greece and we’d never been before! I was starting to wonder if we’d made the right decision. Number 1 rule - don’t necessarily read Trip Advisor!

FOOD
A vast array of food is on offer from various countries - Greek, Italian etc. It’s the end of the season now so not all food places are open but there’s plenty of options. The breakfasts are amazing.

ROOM
Our room is EXACTLY what we asked for. Quiet area and a shaded balcony. It looks out onto a lovely garden area. Even though it’s quiet (ish), it’s still right near the pool and near the main building. However, the bed mattresses are really hard which has been a downside for me. I’m in pain with my back because of the mattress and a pre-existing condition. We asked for an additional pillow each. Received them the same day but I did have to go back once more to ask (thanks Antonis).

STAFF
The reception staff are lovely and really helpful. Lilia at the bar? Not so much. The shop staff and some of the other staff are great too - helping us with our Greek. Trying to learn Greek makes a real difference to the local people (except Lilia!)

HOTEL
The hotel in general is spotless. I have no idea how many hours are spent cleaning but it’s a lot. There were a few ants in our room which is no surprise given all the garden area. There’s many of the wild cat population here. CATS not RATS! They’re friendly, quite enjoy a tickle behind the ear and are to be found wherever you go. There are more wild cats in Kos than there are humans. If cats aren’t your thing, Kos won’t be. The cats wandered about the restaurant areas but never jumped up to the serving dishes.

All in all, I’m really happy and we’re having a great week (still a few days left to go). This is the perfect time of year for us - quiet and not too warm.

Downsides:

Hard mattress

Psalidi Beach isn’t a sandy beach - wouldn’t be my first choice for relaxing on.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank OldhamSwimMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear OldhamSwimMum,

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your stay at Kipriotis Village Resort.

We are delighted to read that you had a positive experience during your stay with us. It was also very kind of you to mention the professionalism and courtesy of our front desk team. Feel very proud of them.
Please rest assured that your inputs regarding beds have been noted for further consideration.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the magical island of Kos on a future visit.


Kind regards,

Guest Service Team
Kipriotis Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews