We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$56
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sea Turtle House Moalboal(Moalboal)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$83
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
367
117
36
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
117
36
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managershoneymoon suitewhite beachthe ownerkawasan fallssardinessteve and michellefishwhale sharksthe kitchen staffother guestslow tidescuba divingoverlooking the oceanrooms are largecoral reefmarine sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the Blue Orchid Resort at the end of our vacation, but it was definitely the best part. It's a beautiful resort, our room was practically ON the beach, the sunset is amazing.
The food in the restaurant is very good, there is a lot of choice as well.
The staff is so helpfull if you have any questions or want to book an activity (the activities were well organised).
We did the diving experience (our first dive ever), Steve is a wonderfull and patient instructor, we felt safe and at ease at all time under the water. It was a wonderfull experience, the house reef is magnificent!
On top of this all, there is a 'chill' vibe in the resort, all friendly faces and ready for a nice chat, but never intruding.
A big thank you to everyone in the resort, we had the best week!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Beautifull hidden dive resort with professional and lovely caring staff that provide excellent service specialized in scuba diving in the amazing coral reef that is in pristine condition right in front.

Rooms are nice and comfy, airconditioned and a good quality supportive matras

The food is really good for phillipino standards and the sunset is amazing. Me and my girlfriend had the best time of our whole holidays in the phillipines here.

The owner michael and the staff are awesome! Thank you guys!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bokriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Learnt about Blue Orchid at their booth in ADEX 2018, Emily (who was manning the booth) was friendly and welcoming from the start, telling us about the Sardine Run (for divers) and Canyoning (for non-divers). As we discussed quotes, accommodation and made bookings, Emily continued to go the extra mile in providing quotes converted to our currency, and very helpful suggestions on activities for our non-diver.

At the resort, we arrived in the wee hours, but had no problems getting to the resort by airport transfer (also arranged by Emily!), and there was a staff ready to help us with our bags and show us to the rooms.

On the accommodation, we were pleasantly surprised by the powerful air-con, clean rooms+toilets (but of course there will be a few critters) and rather soundproof rooms. There's nothing more discomforting for the tired diver than being woken prematurely by noise while sleeping. lol. When we woke the next day, the sea view from our balconies/porches (2 of us stayed at a double deluxe room on the 2nd floor, while 1 of us stayed at a single twin room on the ground floor at separate blocks) was also pretty breathtaking.

The food was excellent, and kitchen staff were always prompt and friendly to us. There was also a free flow of drinking water (emptied from bottles) for all guests. Really recommend the English Breakfast, Grilled Squid, Mango Banana Shake and Calamansi Juice! The bar was also open 24 hours, with discounts on some drinks at certain hours. We didn't really exercise this option, but noticed many happy travellers doing so (:

Initially we kept sitting at the benches in front of the kitchen/bar, as the fans were located there. Then we realised that it had the weakest wifi of all the common areas. So, if you are visiting, head to the covered dining area to enjoy the sea breeze and strong wifi! The dive centre had strong wifi too, so some guests did shuffle over after their meals to use their handphones there.

There is a small but well maintained pool in the middle of the resort - the water was comfortable and warm all the time, with no overpowering chlorine smell and we had many good soaks in it (before and after dives).

Saving the best for last... the diving was SUPERB! We went for the sardine run dive on our first diving day and it was AMAZING. Millions of sardines just swimming all around us, forming themselves into strange shapes, weaving, merging, separating then coming together again. It is a truly unforgettable experience (: Besides sardine run, we saw turtles, baby shark, nudis, frogfish (juvenile and adult), stonefish, shrimps, squid, shrimpfish, electric fireclam, garden eels, flying fish, pipefish, lobsters, lots of schooling fish of many varieties and super healthy coral. The fan corals, table corals and soft coral were really thriving in Moalboal waters - times like these we wished we were more well versed in fish and coral identification (:

Some things to highlight about diving in Moalboal, the average water temperature is very comfortable (at least at the end of May when we visited); about 29-31 degree celsius - you will never end your dive shivering! Also, the currents are mild and manageable, compared to a few other places we have been to. Almost all of our dives were wall dives and drift dives, probably because of the unique reef layout - the beaches stretch out flat for about 80-100m, then there's a sudden drop off. You might be able to notice the change in colour of the seawater in the beach/sea photos indicating the depth difference. However, visibility was not excellent, maybe about 5-10 metres. But it definitely wasn't the sand, just particle-rich waters.

Most importantly, we would like to thank the dive resort managers (who are also all instructors) for their professionalism and friendly service, which kept us feeling safe throughout our dives and welcome throughout our stay. Matthew, our freediving instructor (yes! u can sign up for freediving courses here. rem to book early as you can't freedive after scuba-ing), Emily, our ever present helpful go-to person (from whom we also learnt the difference between venomous and poisonous), Michele, our cute and responsible dive guide (who told us the interesting story of the airplane wreck), Steve, our super friendly and helpful dive guide+handyman (both our dive computer straps broke at some point in the trip), and Norman, our adventurous and experienced dive guide (: (: Their familiarity with the dive sites and the currents made every dive enjoyable and comfortable!

Our only regret is that we did not get to do any night dives. The current was too strong during the period we were there. We think it might have been amazing however, as low tide unveiled lotsa little critters - school of baby catfish, green seastar, blue seastar, chocolate chip seastar, lotsa cute crabs. Definitely a reason to return again someday (:

Oh yes, there were several fun activities for non-divers too, we tried our hand at archery on the last day, and observed the resident hornbill Esmerelda, and resident rabbit. There was a cute and friendly visiting dog on our first 2 days there, but the owner took her back subsequently. Other popular activities are canyoning and trekking through the falls - we didn't do this, but heard good things about them from fellow visitors during our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t123y456j789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We booked a family room. The bed was enormous however, the single bed in the room was very uncomfortable. The room was basic and expensive for what it was.
WiFi was poor at hotel.
Although I enjoyed the food both my husband and daughter got food poisoning at the hotel. Breakfast is not included in the rate, therefore disappointing that this was not included.
The staff in the resort are an asset as they (especially the diving staff) were very helpful. They offer boat trips from the hotel, however the snorkeling in the area was poor. Probably better for diving.
You pay your bill at the end and included in the bill is a suggested tip of 10%. However this was 10% of everything including accommodation which I feel is very inappropriate. I did not realise at the time as did not expect the bill to include the suggested tip.
The hotel is pricey for what you get and not worth the rate offered.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank elvezGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

One word for this resort, perfection!

My fiancé and I recently stayed 6 nights in this magnificent resort. It was our first ever diving resort that either of us have ever stayed in during our travels and it most definitely exceeded all our expectations.

The diving and dive shop is 5* PADI accredited and all our dives with blue orchid were our best till date. All dive staff
are very professional and all equipment was to a very high standard. Special mention to Matt (Dive Instructor) for providing us a whole new under water experience and also allowing us to obtain our deep dive accreditation.

The food everyday was delicious and kitchen staff would always greet you with a happy smile.

The upstairs double deluxe room we had was fantastic with a uninterrupted view of the ocean overlooking Negros island.

Lastly, what makes this resort excel above all others we have stayed at within the Philippines is its management staff. Steve, Michèle, Matt and Emily are not only extremely helpful and professional operators, but they will also interact with all their travellers that are staying at the resort as if you were one of the team. This made our trip at the blue orchid very memorable and brought the best out of our experience at Moalboal.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Frahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue O, Manager at The Blue Orchid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Ryan,

Thanks for such a kind review, we really appreciate it. It was wonderful to host you both at the Blue Orchid and show you how impressive the underwater world is here! Congratulations again on the PADI deep dive certification :)

We agree that the view is excellent from all of our sea view rooms, and the kitchen always do a great job with the food and creating a friendly atmosphere. Our management team also work hard to get to know all of our guests personally - we're so pleased to know that you go on so well with everyone. You're both missed and really hope you get the chance to return!

All the best & congratulations again on the engagement!
The Blue Orchid Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews