We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Cong”
Review of Ryan's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ryan's River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We've stayed at Ryan's in the past. They were flooded out during the big storms and now have done a complete make over and have reopened. The rooms are execellent and the breakfast are delicious, the location is the best, right next to the Quiet Man Museum, Martha is a great hostess, she goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. We will always stay with Martha when we visit Cong and would highly recomend the B&B to anyone going to Cong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Cong River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank donegal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Ryan's River Lodge is fantastic. Their balance of small town charm and world class service is everything I hope for when staying at a bed and breakfast. From a warm first welcome, to cheery breakfast service, the personal touch is just right. The accomidations are also spot on. Their comfortable upstairs bedrooms feature newer beds and amenities, and ours had a great view of the river across the street. Their downstairs dining room and sitting area are freshly remodeled but maintain the country lodge atmosphere nicely. We also found the location to be perfect for touring the surrounding area. The lodge is right on the edge of the small town so you can walk to pubs and shops, but it's also easy to access foot trails for some seanic walks in the forest and countryside. The area is full of natural beauty and historic sites, so look ahead and plan some outings! I didn't personally go on any of their guided hunting or fishing trips, but my father-in-law had a great experience last time he stayed and landed a 36 inch pike. We've had some great stops on our tour of Ireland, but Cong and Ryan's River Lodge was definitely the highlight. We plan to return one day and I highly recommend you do the same!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aaron1Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

One of the best B & B's we have stayed in, clean,food excellent,location excellent, our room over looked the river, couldn't have asked for a better room. Martha and the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is any trouble for Martha, she is a wee star, can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 698clodaghb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Our family of 6 (we reserved 3 rooms) had a lovely two-night stay at this charming B&B. Two of our rooms even had a scenic view of the river. Recently updated, safe, clean, fresh accommodations. Martha is a delightful host and marvelous cook. We couldn't have been more pleased. Located in the heart of the Village of Cong so everything is walkable from here. We highly recommend Ryan's River Lodge and will send all our friends here! Thanks for a marvelous stay!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 411ToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewestsawake, Owner at Ryan's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you so much it was so nice to look after you all. We are working hard to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible we are family run so therefore we consider each of our guests equally family that stay in our home. We love to give people the space and comfort they need while holidaying with us. Again it's always easier look after lovely people and we look forward to your return visit next time you visit the west of Ireland.
Until then take care and thanks again
Martha☘️☘️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

4 friends on our '25 years of fishing' anniversary decided to go to Ireland and fish for trout and salmon. We got all the advise and service we needed, and enjoyed a guided fishing tour on the lake. The place is everything it says, and David and Martha are doing all they can to make your stay the best possible.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martinandfriends2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewestsawake, Owner at Ryan's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Martin & Friends
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your fishing trip. The salmon arrived a little later this year so next time you'll have to come a week later. Hope you all enjoyed the rest of your trip and see you all again in the future.
Regards from Cong
Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.1 km away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
1.2 km away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.8 km away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
115 reviews
0.2 km away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Cong
77 reviews
3.1 km away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's River Lodge

Address: Riverside Lodge Riverview | Cong Village, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range: $139 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryan's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryans Riverlodge B&B Cong Village, situated overlooking Cong River, we are a family run Bed and Breakfast. We offer comfortable, affordable B&B accommodation and a warm welcome awaits you from the Ryan Family. Situated next door to The Quiet Man museum, Cong Abbey and Ashford Castle is a short stroll through our beautiful woods. Ryans Riverlodge built as a hunting and fishing lodge to offer a holiday you will never forget. We also organise Fishing Holidays and Shooting / Hunting Holidays something to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ryan's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing