We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
US$119
View deal
Expedia.comUS$148
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
61
131
63
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
131
63
15
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2019

nice hotel with greta spa for reasonable price. rooms are ok and well equipped. spa has couple saunas and pools, even whirlpool outdoor and biotop pool. great to enjoy. breakfast was great and delicious. hotel resto is also fine

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveb964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sorell Hotel Sonnental, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Dear daveb964

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experience during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Sonnental. We are very pleased to hear that you found the breakfast commendable.

Best regards,
Michael Schibler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

I changed my room with no problem. Very helpful staff. The room was small as usual for Europe. There is a safe and refrigerator. No shampoo or body lotion. Hotel location is convenient to train station to downtown Zurich. Parking is available. Very good breakfast. Delicious bread.

Room tip: Any room is probably good.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 622eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sorell Hotel Sonnental, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Dear 622eagle

Thank you so much for taking the time sharing your experience wiht us. Indeed we appreciate your objective feedback.

Best regards,
Michael Schibler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

We have booked business double room to attend event at Samsung Hall. Our room was not resembling what was advertised on the hotel website. It was very basic, student like accommodation. It was located in the annexe building which was above restaurant therefore you could hear all deliveries arriving in the morning. In the room there was only one chair at the desk for two people to share and nothing other than beds to sit on. Room was very small and extremely hot. The hotel does not have air conditioning and we received a fan which was covered in dust which gave me very bad sinusitis from circulating all that in the air.

Positive part of our stay was location to the venue and very good buffet breakfast.

We do not recommend this hotel during hot summer months and do not advocate rooms in the annexe building.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mariasc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_schibler, Manager at Sorell Hotel Sonnental, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Dear mariasc0tland

We are very sorry to hear that you have been overall disappointed with your recent stay with us. It is your opinion that our standard rooms do look like Student accomodation. May I suggest you book a higher category next time in the main building should you consider the Sonnental with more space for your comfort, direct access to our Spa, Grab n' Go coffee/tea station and elevator.

This summer with two heatwaves End of June and July respectively were unbearable for all of us, including our employees.

Kindly note that you should have refused the fan which was dusty and also the for you inappropriate room that was given to your party.
Our receptionists are here for all guest inquiries between 6am until 11pm to ensure guest satisfaction at all times.

Again, please accept my apologizes.

Wishing you all the Best, with warm regards.

Michael Schibler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019

We stayed here whilst attending the Starmus festival at the Samsung Hall and found it very convenient. Booking was simple, reception excellent and the room was adequate. No air conditioning could have been a problem in the particularly hot weather, but it did not prove so. Leaving the window open was not a problem since the hotel is situated back from the road and was quient. we had no trouble sleeping. There is a bus stop directly outside, tram stop 5 mins up the road and the train station about 10 mins walk has frequent trains to Zurich main station taking about 10 mins. The manager visited the restaurant a breakfast each day, which was a nice touch. All in all, a very convenient and plesant stay. Many thanks ot the staff

Room tip: Our room was on the ground floor, facing the Spa and was very quiet
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HKP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_schibler, Manager at Sorell Hotel Sonnental, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear HKP001

Thank you so much for taking the time writting to us. Everything has been said and we do appreciate to hear you were having a good time with the Sorell Hotel Sonnental whilst attending Starmus.

Best regards
Michael Schibler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2019

The hotel was picked based on its location - I was attending a conference at Samsung Hall. It is simple, but very clean and also very close to city center. The breakfast was good and the restaurant offers a variety of dishes. The staff is really nice, very helpful indeed.

Room tip: The rooms at the Annex building are closer to the street, the ones in the Main building are quieter.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pathfinder80042
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_schibler, Manager at Sorell Hotel Sonnental, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2019

Dear Pathfinder 80042

Thank you for your encouraging review and taking the time to share your positive experience with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Sonnental and do hope welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Schibler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews