We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world, faultless amazing stay at the Talardy”
Review of Talardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talardy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Twelve gents visiting on a golf trip not everybody could possibly be pleased, usually one too many fussy moaning old golfer. Not at this excellent Hotel.

Walk through the door to book in at reception to be met by a very large but very cosy feeling bar/restaurant area which simply oozed cleanliness and atmosphere.

At the reception booking in we were greeting by the very attentive Rob, quite honestly when this guy started talking i was only think - please be quick let me book in and get to the bar ASAP. As more of us turned up and the time to book in seemed to drag on and on i started listening to Rob, who was so attentive, knowledgeable and clearly loving what he was doing. I could have listened to him talking about the virtues of the hotel and local area all night - definitely the best check in experience i have ever had.

Having partaken of a few of the guest beers on offer i made my way to my room which was in the "barn conversion" part of the accommodation - excellent security to get into the building via NFC connectivity using your room key to access the main accommodation.Room 208 - simple plain twin room - but immaculately clean with fresh new bedding, decor fixtures and fittings, whiter than white towels and an excellent powerful, not power, shower. I found the bed and mattress superb - extremely comfortable.

We ate in the main restaurant area and were spoilt for choice from both the normal menu and the specials menu, the trio of lamp chops were simply perfect.
The dinning experience in general was excellent. Amanda was the most attentive,friendly and accommodating of hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Amanda, like Rob earlier simply appeared to be loving what she was doing.
More time spent sampling the fine ales on offer was made more enjoyable again by the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff.

The stay was finished of by a simply excellent buffet style breakfast, but not your normal buffet breakfast with food being inadequately kept warm by not hot enough hot lamps. The cold part of the breakfast - croissants, pastries, cereals and the like were buffet style. plenty of choice and as fresh as you like. The "English Breakfast" part of the service was cooked on demand and was excellent.

Big thanks to all at this lovely place who made my stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: the rooms in the barn conversion were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Fantastic! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and complimentary review of your recent stay with us. We always endeavour to deliver the highest quality of service and standards and it extremely rewarding when we receive such incredible feedback as yours. I shall share all your wonderful comments with Rob, Amanda and the rest of the team and I hope you will come and stay with us again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed there on the 9th of September (Room 203) at a £100 for the night. Couldn't sleep as the noise from the cooler/generator outside the window was too loud, even though the window was closed. Reported it to the manager on the Sunday morning but his attitude was very inconsiderate. This place has deteriorated badly. Breakfast was like a 4 year olds portion. Cheap crappy teabags. Had stayed there many times before in main building and it was excellent. New part built has brought the place down to very poor. Would now rate it 1 out of 10. Would never stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elan216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback although I was naturally shocked and disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our new hotel annexe when the large majority of our guests cannot praise it enough. I am still at a loss as to the outside noise you mention as all the windows have been rigorously sound tested and no other guests staying in your room have reported any such disturbances. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast either on this occasion although this is no different to the breakfast we have always served and it is generally appreciated by large the majority of our hotel guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Myself and some of my family &friends stopped for 1 night on route to Prestatyn.What can I say just a superb experience all round the rooms in the new block were lovely, food excellent and all the Staff so helpful,you will not find a better hotel,and for value aroun this area,We will definitely be stopping here again, just first class from the moment we arrived till the moment we left.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Wow, thank you so much for such wonderful comments - myself and the team are elated to hear that you had such a fantastic time both in the hotel and restaurant and we cannot wait for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed in the new block at this hotel, which had large comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff.Breakfast was included and it was excellent, both in choice and quality, as was the evening meal we had.
However there were a number of niggles about our stay:
The bathroom fan never went off, so we were subjected to a low level moan for the whole night.
Room 202 has an industrial sized spotlight directed at its window, so even with the blackout curtains closed, the room is bathed in an orange glow
Our double room had only one chair in it, although there was plenty of room for two seats or perhaps a sofa
Having said all that the hotel was great value for money and we would stay there again

Room Tip: Avoid room 202 if you dislike a lot of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cthomp127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your much valued feedback - I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had pleasurable dining experieneces in our restaurant. I shall naturally look into the points you mentioned regarding your hotel room as this is the first time that such things have been brought to my attention and I shall endeavour to rectify any issues accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We hadn't booked but was seated quickly by Kat and given a specials menu which i had the American steak which was very good my husband had the mixed grill which he enjoyed we both had the cherry sundae which was very good the best dessert I have had for a long time well worth a try we dine here a lot and are always treated very well by all the staff but particularly Kat and Carol

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your recent review - I am overjoyed to hear that you always feel you receive good service from our front of house team and that you and your husband enjoyed your menu choices on your last visit. I shall pass on your lovely comments to Kat, Carole and the team and we hope you will come and join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
2 km away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
581 reviews
7.3 km away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
498 reviews
9.8 km away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
661 reviews
18.9 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talardy Hotel

Address: Talardy The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range: S$90 - S$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talardy is a beautifully restored Georgian hotel. We are situated adjacent to the newly ordained City of St Asaph. We have 11 stylish en suite bedrooms and a brand new 24 bedroom annexe with the option of adding a delicious continental or freshly cooked breakfast - the perfect way to end your stay. Downstairs in our family pub restaurant we serve our Chicken Rotisserie menu until 9pm every day. Outside we have a beautifully landscaped garden, family dining and children's play area. The Talardy is the perfect place for business, pleasure or any occasion. We can't wait for you to join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talardy Hotel St Asaph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing