We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
206
115
48
30
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
115
48
30
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rotisserie chicken family room evening meal lovely meal main building play area the pub north wales bank holiday following morning enjoyable stay a lovely stay lovely room cooked breakfast one night stay yogurt kat
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

We're just leaving after staying at the Talardy over xmas eve until 27th Dec. Despite becoming ill over our stay (nothing to do with the hotel) the stay was made as comfortable as possible by the hotel & staff. Firstly the staff were informative that breakfasts over xmas day/Boxing Day were packed breakfasts to our door which was more than adequate. The cleaning staff were jolly and gave us more than enough essentials when we told them we were bed ridden. We had to book an extra night as couldn't make our journey still being unwell, our room was allocated to other customer but the staff rearranged the booking so we could be left undisturbed. On our final morning when we were well enough to check out (today 27/12) the breakfast staff were amazing when we had forgotten to add breakfast on and couldn't eat a big breakfast so asked for a little brekkie. They already had a busy room full of moany customers (who had come down late for breakfast anyway!) and were smiley, accommodating, polite and being as quick as they could. (well done guys!)

As stays go the room was clean, huge tv, lovely warm shower, hair dryer, clean towels, water and tea etc. Lovely amazing staff and great service. Would definitely recommend. Thanks so much Talardy, especially to your amazing staff that worked over xmas when they would have preferred to have been with their families (instead of dealing with customers!)xxxx

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GezTunstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a fabulous review especially as when your stay with us was tainted with illness. In spite of this I am so pleased that you found your rooms to be comfortable and that you felt well looked after by our dedicated team. We always endaevour to give our guests and customers the best possible experience, whatever the circumstances and it is extremely rewarding to receive such praiseful feedback as yours. I hope that you are now fighting fit and that you will come and jin us again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a overnight visit to family in Rhyl. The hotel has been recently refurbished as the rooms are very clean and fresh.
The room itself was very spacious and the dark wood made it feel more luxury although it is s basic room. I like cleanliness and a comfortable feel - both of which this room was.
We had breakfast included which was lovely - very busy but the waitress coped very well and was pleasant and welcoming.
This hotel is excellent value for money and is approx 10/15 mins car journey to Rhyl beach.
Will be booking here again to stay in summer 2018.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank tlorenz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us and I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience - our customer experience is extremely important to us and it means such a lot when we receive such positive feedback as yours. I shall pass on your wonderful comments to the rest of the team and we shall look forward to your return visit in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Talardy. I was very pleased with the first stay, but things seem to have gone downhill, which is sad. First of all my key card didn't work. Neither did that of the chap before me. The receptionist said it had been happening all day. So fix it! My evening meal was delicious. Breakfast was a different matter. Breakfast has to be paid for separately now (to keep prices down apparently?). So, fewer people were eating it. When I went to the restaurant I waited ages to check in and be seated before giving up and going to reception. I ordered scrambled eggs on toast. That was very weird. The bread was not buttered but the eggs were on top of the slices. So the eggs hasd to be pushed from side to side in order for me to butter the bread. The "scrambled eggs" were truly awful. They were not scrambled. What I had was an omelette that had been shredded. Dreadful. I was so disappointed this time. Next time I am in the area I will be trying other accommodation.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank 34Duffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I am thrilled that you found your evening meal to be delicious. I am disappointed however, that the enjoyment of your stay was tainted by a couple of things, especially after a pleasant stay prior to this. First of all, apologies that your key card didn't work straight away, I can only assume that there was some temporary techological blip as we never normally have a problem with our key cards and I believe that this was rectified for you straight away. Secondly, sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience as we generally own receive positive comments regarding this and the number of people who have breakfast with us has not by any means decreased. Apologies if your scrambled egg was not cooked to your liking, we would have been more than happy to replace this for you or offer you something else, if you had brought it to the attention of your waiter/waitress at the time. At this point, all I can do is offer you my apologies and invite you to give me a call on 01745 799314 if you would like to dicuss your experience further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel has been around for years, in a few different guises, some experiences have been better than others, but nothing awful...
Since being taken over by Marstons however, the standard has been consistently pleasant, the food excellent, and the service courteous and attentive.
The ‘Family friendly’ element is discreet, so no little tykes running about unbound to ruin the dining experience, and the decor is comfortable and contemporary, so all good, give it a go...

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank paulsE7583HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments - service and standards are of the utmost importance to myself and the team and it is extremly rewarding when we receive such complimentary feedback as yours. I hope you will come and join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights when a relative was unwell and staying in a nearby hospital. The kindness shown to us by Frank and the other members of the team was amazing and made such a difference to what was a really difficult time. Frank was totally flexible and let us check in early when we unexpectedly had to stay an extra night and he even offered to drive us to the hospital if we had trouble booking a taxi, nothing was too much trouble.
We ate here one night and the food and drink were exceptional value for money.
The rooms were a great size with nice high ceilings and comfy beds.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank your for taking the time to write a review especially in view of the sad situation that brought you to stay with us. I am delighted that myself and the team were able to make your time here as comfortable as possible and I hope you will come and stay with us again under better circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews