We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
Hurb
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
396
22
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
396
22
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dunkery beacon john and jane stunning views first class fresh milk made us feel wonderful hosts bay window attention to detail a lovely stay great food lovely room wine list local produce short break old friends both nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2021 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with one dinner. This is a small and perfectly run hotel with a friendly but super efficient atmosphere. Felt really safe here, both with regard to security and Covid. Lovely ground floor room which was spotless. Every comfort well thought out, and of very high quality.
Dinner was excellent. Lovely atmospheric restaurant area with an assortment of well cared for plants and decorations. Vegetarian options limited, but sure that provision can be made if you ask in advance. Wine list varied and our Malbec was lovely.
Breakfast was gorgeous, with a continuation of the high quality locally sourced ingredients James and Jane are so proud of here.
We are as yet undecided how many of our friends we will tell about this hotel….there is a small desire to keep it to ourselves!! Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gaddspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane Bradley, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2021

Thank you very much for reviewing your first stay here and we are delighted you enjoyed your 2-night break. We know that you were apprehensive about coming to stay after a previous visit to a hotel in Devon where no covid-safe measures were in operation, so we are glad that our continuing measures here made you feel safe but without compromising our friendly, personable atmosphere. Thank you for also mentioning our food and the emphasis on local sourcing as much as possible - we are a small operation here (John - co-proprietor and sole chef) with limited covers and therefore we do run a small dinner menu, but it is tweaked each evening and John, as you mention, can always accommodate requests in advance or make modifications to suit.

We do hope to see you for a return visit in the future - and perhaps some of your friends if you allow!

Best wishes,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2021

A hidden gem. Just returned home after 3 wonderful nights stay. The food & choices were outstanding at every mealtime. Nothing was too much trouble for Jane & her staff, always polite & courteous making time for each guest. Their covid procedures were sufficient to make the most wary traveller feel safe & comfortable. Our bedroom & bathroom were presented absolutely spotlessly. We have already booked for another stay in a few weeks time. Many thanks for making my birthday extra special.

Room tip: Rooms with the best panoramic view towards the moors
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17helent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane Bradley, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2021

It was a pleasure to host you both and thank you very much for choosing Dunkery Beacon Country House to celebrate your birthday. It is always reassuring to know that John's food offering continues to be very well received by guests and that the friendly personal service delivered by our small front of house team, all of whom live locally, is much appreciated. Thank you also for mentioning our Covid procedures and noting that these would be reassuringly sufficient to all, which is important in current climes.

We very much look forward to seeing you both again next month!

Best regards,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

Would have been 5* except for no sitting area to relax in beyond the bedrooms. Everything else was very good. The bedroom was exceptionally clean and well appointed, with nice bath/shower. Fresh milk and chilled water was provided. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant was busy but provided delicious food, the wine list is extensive and varied, chosen by someone with real knowledge. Everybody was very helpful and welcoming. COVID precautions were stringent.

Room tip: Book dinner in advance
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobinM3421
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane Bradley, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2021

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your 2-night stay here earlier this month. To address your disappointment at no inside lounge, during these warmer months, and whilst Covid rates were on the increase, we repurposed the small guest lounge area in order to space dining tables and chairs at a safer distance in the restaurant and extending through and these measures were advertised on our website and on your booking confirmation email. We are a little constrained by available space in public areas due to the dimensions of the building and it is a somewhat difficult balancing act with regard to providing as safe an indoor environment as possible for everyone (including our small team of local staff) versus guests desires. We have a large percentage of guests who come here specifically because we are following precautions still and they feel very reassured. We have a covered veranda with seating and lovely views from our south facing property and outdoor tables and chairs as additional options which many guests have made use of. Now the weather is changing and the evenings are drawing in, we have recently put the small indoor lounge back in situ and are restricting dining numbers further to accommodate the lounge area being back in place.

We hope that explains why we have taken the measures we have - every business is different and varying factors can have an effect on the way establishments can best operate. Ultimately, we try our utmost to provide a comfortable and welcoming place to stay whilst still navigating our way through the constraints that Covid has brought and recognising our duty to keep both guests and our staff as safe as possible.

Thank you very much again for coming to stay.

Kind regards,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2021

We had a wonderful stay at Dunkery Beacon Country House - a gem of a find. Comfortable rooms, amazing views and great food. Jane and John are excellent hosts and all the staff are very friendly, service was excellent throughout.
The hotel is surrounded by lovely countryside and being in a dark sky area is perfect on a clear night for star gazing or astrophotography.
If we find ourselves in the area again we will be booking another stay.

Margaret & Bob R

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bobrX8837QR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane Bradley, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your glowing review - it is much appreciated - and we have passed your lovely comments on to our fabulous small team of staff too. It was fortuitous that we had some clear skies during your visit and John was able to bring our telescope out to view the amazing night sky.

Thank you again and we hope that we may see you for another "starry" visit in the future!

Kind regards,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2021

We had a lovely 3 day stay, with great weather, so we could enjoy the seating at the front porch where the views over the hills are breathtaking . There is a fantastic view of the stars on a clear night, as there is little light polution. The room was super comfortable, with tea and coffee facilities, fresh milk and chilled water in the fridge in the hallway. The Coleridge restaurant on site is a fine dining restaurant, and chef John provides a small selection of starters, mains and desserts, A few items are changed every day, so you should not be out of choice. The Dunster Castle is is nearby, and whorth a visit, both for the grounds, the castle itself, and the history of the castle and the family. We also visited the pictoresk villages of Lynmouth and Lynton

Room tip: Ground floor has a small separate sitting room
Date of stay: September 2021
Thank b f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane Bradley, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

It was great to see you again after so long and thank you for choosing here to spend your Wedding Anniversary. You were blessed with fantastic weather and, as you say, the veranda and outside seating areas provided a prime spot to soak in the wonderful views on balmy afternoons and evenings.

Thank you again for coming to stay and for your lovely review.

Best wishes,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews