We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get well informed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantabon Cave

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Istanbul
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Get well informed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

I'm not a seasoned caver. So we asked the guides from the village how it is. They said it is 800 meters and it is ok to go with sandals. So we did. Although they offered to lock our bags in the village center, they didn't mention that in the cave it is really wet. Sometimes you have to go waist deep in running water but most of the time it keeps "raining". And although we saw all the big headlamps charging in the center, we took only 2 of them and a small one, between the 4 of us. I had to use my personal mini torch which ran out of battery. Make sure you have a personal fully charged flashlight before you go in (ask from the guides and they will give you). The thing is, these very kind and friendly guides do not know what the visitors are like or what they know and don't know. They jump from rock to rock in the cave and seem to expect the same from the visitors. The cave itself was quite nice, many stalactites, stalagmite, cotton candy stuff, pools, rivers, mud, few bats, some claustrophobia, light NDEs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank icouldiwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Wow! That's all that I can really say. Pure nature untouched and undisturbed. The "swimming pool" is to die for. Never mind the difficult 800-m trek, the experience inside the caves is one-of-a-kind!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank pat_lim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mysterious Cave in a mystery land!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We've been there last holy week in Siquijor exploring its beautiful spots all over the island. We're so amazed the beauty inside the Cantabon Cave as its full of stalactites, rock formations with flowing stream. Only, you should condition yourself on plenty of bendings because most parts inside are small passages and mostly overhead stones are sharp. But you'll be amazed of the different rock formations almost all over the area. You will trek for about 800 meters one way, and you will got back to your trail because there is no exit of that cave. Needs to be wet since there are parts of the path that you have to immersed on the water, breast deep. There are parts which are muddy and slippery due to bats waste. But the stream is so fresh, we even drink at the drops from one of the rock formation, "bell rock". There's no problem with the safety gadgets and head lambs as these were provided by the guides sponsored by tourism.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very adventurous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

this is the most adventurous cave I have ever seen! At first my boyfriend wanted to discover it by ourself, but as soon as our guides (kids!!! haha guess because they have no problem to get in through this little hole called entrance!) showed us how to get in, we knew why you need someone who guides you!!
I have never before been in a cave with an underwater river. It was fantastic!!!!!
Even though we got wet all over, I wish we would have such a great place in Austria!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Carina_Drottning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must See & Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Cantabon cave is one of the must see places in Siquijor. Don't go without a guide because you will get lost in the caves. Some parts you need to bend, crawl and lift yourself up, but it something even non gym goers can do.

Don't bring any electronics with you as you will be waist deep in water for some parts. Hard hats and torches will be provided with the guide fee. Its a bit more expensive, but truly worth it. Bring a waterproof camera or ask the guide to help you carry your expensive cameras - they're very used to going through the cave without getting too wet.

Be prepared to be drenched in water. It will be muddy so if you're particularly OC about cleanliness, bring an extra set of dry clothes to change AFTER going through the cave. For others, there's a hose waiting outside for your to clean up.

Water inside the cave is really refreshing so enjoy the experience and get yourselves drenched!

From start to finish, 1-2 hours depending on how fast the group moves.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank LiziWizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantabon Cave also viewed

Siquijor Island, Visayas
San Juan, Siquijor Island
 
Siquijor Island, Visayas
 

Been to Cantabon Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing