We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to stay at Gili, pick your room carefully! ”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Came back to gili n decided to give the 2016 hotel of the year a chance! As a group of four people (two rooms) two of us managed to book their partner hotel (Vila Ombok sunset, same owner) spoke to the management who said they were not able to transfer our second booking to Vila Ombak which was a drawback of a first impression for us.

We choose one of their deluxe rooms which is a fair walk all the way back and in the end of the resort. The room 6213 was a nice, clean and spacious enough for us with a newer bathroom (quite huge n plenty of space) and a disent terrace with place for two person to sit. Aircon was a bit moody at start but they fixed it and it turned the room into a freezer very fast! Despite the long way walking back I think that building has the newest rooms n indoor bathrooms (for those who prefer that)

We decided to extent for a day and we were offered an upgrade for a smaller amount which we agreed to. On the plus side we moved very close to the pool which saves you a lot of walking. However this rooms which are more spacious are older n bathroom outdoor for the ones who find that fine it's not an issue.
One thing which could be nice to share is
That the toilet is build on a surface too short for putting down your feets, so you end up with half your feet hanging in the air. I d say the original price for theese rooms behind the pool area are harder to justify in my wiew.

The vilas are of higher price and as we didn't check them out it's hard to say what they are like.

Pool no one is close to the street, and with its imidiate wiew of the sea I d argue it's one of the best ones there are on this side of the island, and also popular amongst the guests!

Breakfast lounge is spacious, variety at the breakfast holds a good level with everything from fresh fruits to two chefs taking orders for your personalised omelette.
We loved our morning breakfast with the pool and seawiew!

The second manager (Rully) treated us good and much better than our first impression situation with the booking.
The rest of the staff at the premises also deserves credit, they acted fast n professionally throughout the stay.

It's a great hotel and probably one of the best on this side of the island and I d recommend those who want to stay close to the active side of the island to consider this place. I would stay in the newer building in the back rather than the rooms closer to reception as they are of a newer date.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank cruser123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mada M, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi cruser123456,

It's great to read your comment about our hotel, the facilities, services etc. We are happy to know that we keep us the best in the island, however, we are sorry for any inconvenience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We generally had a good stay. Our villa was nice except the air conditioning was very weak making it difficult to sleep at night. The key situation was annoying. However the biggest issue came at the end when we went to check out. We had paid an initial 50% deposit when we booked online and then the other 50% when we checked in.

When I checked out they tried to tell me I hadn't paid the other 50% even though clearly I would not have been allowed to check in, per hotel policy, without paying my balance in full. We fought for 20 minutes while I dropped sweat, using my cellular data to bring up my credit card statement online. They condescendingly told me a lot of tourists forget to pay their balances thinking the deposit covers everything even though they don't let people check in without paying in full. Even after I showed them the charge on my phone, they didn't apologize and instead starting taking screenshots of my phone and insisting on getting an imprint of my credit card "just in case," which I refused. Really unpleasant, especially since they would have happily let me pay twice. I don't know whether it was a scam or just incompetent bookkeeping, but honestly either is unacceptable especially given how fancy the hotel is.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Allison Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mada M, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Allison Z,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we do apologize for the inconvenience due to miscommunication regarding the deposit. We will work to ensure the same thing will ot happen to other customers.
However, we are looking forward to welcoming you back for a better stay, please contact us directly for a special offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

The location of the Villa is very strategic. The room is very big with complete with park and two of swimming pool. We can reach easier to the beach...the villa is infront of the beach. We can easier went to the bar, minimarket, restaurant, etc. The foods are good enough with many selection of menus. Best for honeymoon, family and also with friends..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Novi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mada M, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Novi N,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are happy to know that you were enjoyed our facilities and services. We are looking forward to another memorable stay in our lovely Hotel Vila Ombak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Great location, right at the end of the busy strip of bars and shops but far enough away so it's not too noisy.
The grounds are beautiful and really well kept. Loved the fact there are plenty of outdoor chess boards and table tennis tables dotted around, really nice touch. We stayed at the hidden pool most days as it was a lot quieter than the main pool.
We stayed in one of the Lumburg huts, which was nice but slightly claustrophobic. The novelty soon wore off about the bathroom being outside and downstairs, especially if you needed the loo in the middle of the night!
The food was ok but we had a lot better on the island.
The service was very good, it was my partners birthday the day we arrived and they bought him a birthday cake to our room as a surprise, which was lovely!
Definitely would recommend hiring a bike from the hotel for the day and cycling around the island. Also the movie nights on the beach are fab!
Would stay here again but maybe in a different room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mada M, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear SR21,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are happy to know that you were enjoyed time staying in our hotel, enjoyed the services and facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a lumbung hut for 3 nights that was an experience in itself !!! The hut was cosy and had tv and fridge which was perfect but the bathroom was outside even the toilet which took a bit to get used to, there were 2 pools at the hotel and they offered afternoon tea every day which was nice and there was a bike hire in site and money exchange place. The hotel was very different to anything I had ever stayed in before but I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mada M, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Jody M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are happy to know that you were happy and enjoyed our facilities and services very much. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
1,221 reviews
0.1 km away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#6 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
656 reviews
2.2 km away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#9 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
687 reviews
2.2 km away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
573 reviews
2.2 km away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $90 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing