We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort(Gili Trawangan)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Trawangan Resort(Gili Trawangan)
US$111
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Samba Villas(Gili Trawangan)
US$121
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Manta Dive Gili Trawangan Resort(Gili Trawangan)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$139
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Scallywags Resort(Gili Trawangan)
US$102
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Beach House Resort(Gili Trawangan)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pondok Santi Estate(Gili Trawangan)
US$285
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vila Ombak(Gili Trawangan)
US$291
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Kelapa Luxury Villas(Gili Trawangan)
US$268
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,682)
Filter reviews
1,682 results
Traveller rating
591
643
259
96
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
643
259
96
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgili tpool barhorse cartfree bikeswest sidequiet sidemain areamain partnice resortbike rideexplore the islandour honeymoonbeach frontsmall islandprivate beachcidomoswing
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 1,682 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Lovely hotel on the quieter side of the island.

Got a free upgrade to the Deluxe Room which is further towards the back of the resort- much quieter, away from the pool area. Room was a very high standard. Very clean. Good amenities- slippers, safe, shower gel, cotton buds etc. The only issue with the room was that the only mirror was above the sink in the bathroom- as I am only 5ft2 I found it very hard to lean across the big sink to do my make up. No full length mirror unfortunately so had to stand on toilet to look at my outfit in the mirror above the sink!

Staff were all sooooo friendly and lovely, and really made our stay very special. Always had time for us and would always say 'Hello/Good afternoon' when we walked past.

Beach was lovely and very pretty however this is certainly the more windy side of the island. It was so windy the sand would actually hurt as it blew in to your skin- not ideal for sunbathing. Lovely swing and hammock for sunset photos. We would take the free hire bikes every day over to the harbour side of the island where it was a lot calmer. Sunbeds over there were only around 70,000-100,000 (£4-6 GBP) for the day.

Free hire bikes were great- limited numbers though so you have to be quick in the morning. Definitely take the large wheeled bikes if available- much much comfier and easier to cycle through sandy tracks.

Free water and biscuits available in reception. Water was really handy after a hot sweaty bike ride. We also received a free non-alcoholic cocktail as a welcome drink on arrival that was really tasty.

Breakfast was ok- toast, omelettes, porridge, chicken sausages, beans, cereal etc.

Loads of lovely restaurants on the island. Scallywags had a lovely beach BBQ. Irish bar (Tir Na Nog) was great for my boyfriend as it allowed us to watch 3 Premier League football matches in a row *eye roll*. Food at Tir Na Nog was VERY yummy and whilst the boyfriend was watching the football I could watch the live music which was very good.

Make sure you snorkel at Turtle Point (harbour side of island)- swim about 50 meters out to where the water goes deeper/darker and there are turtles! You can hire a Go Pro from one of the shops for an hour for 200,000 rupiah (£10GBP) and you get to keep the memory card.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are away from the pool and much quieter and peaceful
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jessyh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Jessy,

Sorry for the mirror and thank you for your very positive comment that you had shared with us on your experience of stay in our resort. We wish you will have 100% of all your needs on your next visit here.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

During our trip around Asia, we spend 3 nights at Aston Sunset Beach Resort.

The hotel is very nice, clean and offers a lot of stuff for the customers.
You also have the opportunity to book a trip at the hotel e.g. snorkeling trip or anything. We did not do that, but i guess it will be nice too.

We spend the nights in a double bed room with pool view. The room was clean and you find everything in it what you need. The bathroom is quiet nice too.

The hotel is very nice located directly at the beach and have a pool area as well.
At the beach are many beach loungers, so you will be able to find one at any time.
However it will get busy during sundown because everybody wants to see the beautiful sundown with Mount Agung, Bali in the background.

The hotel is not in the centre of Gilli T, but you have the opportunity to get a bycicle from the hotel for free. That's a good way to explore the island.
At our stay we always get the bikes from a guy, i guess his name was "Nando". He was very polite and answer us all questions. He gives us some tipps too which were very helpful to explore the island.
This also applies to all other employees.

Just to sum up, we can say that we enjoyed our stay at Aston and if we have the opportunity we will definetely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patpat811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing all your great experience of stay in our resort with us, we are happy to find you had a very enjoyable holiday and our services met your needs. We wish to see you again here for your next holiday.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel was ok, probably needs a little maintenance work. Breakfast was mediocre, front desk staff were relatively friendly and helpful. I stayed here for 2n and absolutely did not enjoy any of the meals in this hotel. The pool was decent, however with insufficient deck chairs for all the guests even in a Low peak season.

The only big advantage this hotel has over the others is it’s absolutely stunning view of the sunset!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank siaoyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Siaoyue,

Thank you for sharing your comment with us, we appreciate very much for letting us know on the issues of meals and maintenance, we had looked into this for improvement and action to get the products and services meet guest's needs . I am sorry for the inconvenience experience and hopefully you will be back here for better experience of holiday

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We were here for 4 nights and stayed in a deluxe ground floor pool facing room. The air con was great, really cold. We were not so happy with some aspects of the room though it was very clean and tidy. The rooms are very dark and abit old fashioned in decor. Net curtains and maroon bed linen with very dark furniture. Paper leaflets were left in our room in October advertising a dress in white night for new year. All felt abit cheap. The bathroom was large and very clean but the shower flooded the whole bathroom every time we used it and it always smelt of stale urine, maybe coming up from the bathroom grate. The breakfast was nice and staff exceptionally friendly. The free water and bikes were good. It's about 15 minutes cycle ride to town and on the lovely and quiet sunset side of the island which is good. Overall the pictures of the outside and facilities seem accurate. The photos of the bedrooms, not so accurate in our view. It was a reasonable place for the price and of course there is limited choice on a small island.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1hwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear 1hwalsh,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us, we appreciate you for bringing the certain issues of room/bathroom which is good for us to know anything that need urgent follow up. However, the deluxe room should be the ones at the back with garden views and the lower category that are all have the pool view. We wish to see you again.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

It's was a good hotel, but approximately 15 minutes away from the busy streets... Overall, was good hospitality and very friendly staff... recommended for someone is traveling with family.You can always access the prime location with horse cart

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bhawin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Bhawin,

We are glad to find you had an enjoyable holiday in Gili Trawangan with us. Thank you for choosing us as your holiday's destination and having the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to seeing you again here.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews