We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When you get to the island you need to take a “horse taxi” because it’s on the other side of the island . The taxi is 150 000 IDR about 10 euro . When your there its very quiet and relaxed and if you want to go around the island the hotel provides bikes for free. Which is great !!!
If you feel like walking you can walk around the island in about 2 hours .
The pool area is beautiful which is surrounded by gardens , the breakfast is very good as well , the hotel provides you with free cold water 24hrs from the lobby area , very friendly staff and a very clean hotel .

I would return without a doubt.

Would like to add that the hotel paid for our taxi back to the harbour which is very nice of them .

Our only negative was that as it’s an open hotel there are quite a lot of lizards (big) roaming about , but it’s normal as the hotel is surrounded by gardens. With that said we never saw anything in our room ..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisLfc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely staff and great hotel. Nice pool and modern room.

Cons: Hotel so far away from everything, took two bites of a burger and realised it was mouldy (they did refund the meal without hesitation). Our mirror had a few chips in it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jenna,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and I am sorry for the issue that you had brought into our attention. We had fixed that and hopefully you will be here again for better experience of stay here.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel on the quieter side of the island.

Got a free upgrade to the Deluxe Room which is further towards the back of the resort- much quieter, away from the pool area. Room was a very high standard. Very clean. Good amenities- slippers, safe, shower gel, cotton buds etc. The only issue with the room was that the only mirror was above the sink in the bathroom- as I am only 5ft2 I found it very hard to lean across the big sink to do my make up. No full length mirror unfortunately so had to stand on toilet to look at my outfit in the mirror above the sink!

Staff were all sooooo friendly and lovely, and really made our stay very special. Always had time for us and would always say 'Hello/Good afternoon' when we walked past.

Beach was lovely and very pretty however this is certainly the more windy side of the island. It was so windy the sand would actually hurt as it blew in to your skin- not ideal for sunbathing. Lovely swing and hammock for sunset photos. We would take the free hire bikes every day over to the harbour side of the island where it was a lot calmer. Sunbeds over there were only around 70,000-100,000 (£4-6 GBP) for the day.

Free hire bikes were great- limited numbers though so you have to be quick in the morning. Definitely take the large wheeled bikes if available- much much comfier and easier to cycle through sandy tracks.

Free water and biscuits available in reception. Water was really handy after a hot sweaty bike ride. We also received a free non-alcoholic cocktail as a welcome drink on arrival that was really tasty.

Breakfast was ok- toast, omelettes, porridge, chicken sausages, beans, cereal etc.

Loads of lovely restaurants on the island. Scallywags had a lovely beach BBQ. Irish bar (Tir Na Nog) was great for my boyfriend as it allowed us to watch 3 Premier League football matches in a row *eye roll*. Food at Tir Na Nog was VERY yummy and whilst the boyfriend was watching the football I could watch the live music which was very good.

Make sure you snorkel at Turtle Point (harbour side of island)- swim about 50 meters out to where the water goes deeper/darker and there are turtles! You can hire a Go Pro from one of the shops for an hour for 200,000 rupiah (£10GBP) and you get to keep the memory card.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are away from the pool and much quieter and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jessyh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jessy,

Sorry for the mirror and thank you for your very positive comment that you had shared with us on your experience of stay in our resort. We wish you will have 100% of all your needs on your next visit here.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

During our trip around Asia, we spend 3 nights at Aston Sunset Beach Resort.

The hotel is very nice, clean and offers a lot of stuff for the customers.
You also have the opportunity to book a trip at the hotel e.g. snorkeling trip or anything. We did not do that, but i guess it will be nice too.

We spend the nights in a double bed room with pool view. The room was clean and you find everything in it what you need. The bathroom is quiet nice too.

The hotel is very nice located directly at the beach and have a pool area as well.
At the beach are many beach loungers, so you will be able to find one at any time.
However it will get busy during sundown because everybody wants to see the beautiful sundown with Mount Agung, Bali in the background.

The hotel is not in the centre of Gilli T, but you have the opportunity to get a bycicle from the hotel for free. That's a good way to explore the island.
At our stay we always get the bikes from a guy, i guess his name was "Nando". He was very polite and answer us all questions. He gives us some tipps too which were very helpful to explore the island.
This also applies to all other employees.

Just to sum up, we can say that we enjoyed our stay at Aston and if we have the opportunity we will definetely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patpat811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing all your great experience of stay in our resort with us, we are happy to find you had a very enjoyable holiday and our services met your needs. We wish to see you again here for your next holiday.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was ok, probably needs a little maintenance work. Breakfast was mediocre, front desk staff were relatively friendly and helpful. I stayed here for 2n and absolutely did not enjoy any of the meals in this hotel. The pool was decent, however with insufficient deck chairs for all the guests even in a Low peak season.

The only big advantage this hotel has over the others is it’s absolutely stunning view of the sunset!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank siaoyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Siaoyue,

Thank you for sharing your comment with us, we appreciate very much for letting us know on the issues of meals and maintenance, we had looked into this for improvement and action to get the products and services meet guest's needs . I am sorry for the inconvenience experience and hopefully you will be back here for better experience of holiday

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,868 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,194 reviews
0.8 km away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
457 reviews
1.2 km away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
602 reviews
1.9 km away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Gili Indah-Pamenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $70 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aston Sunset Beach Resort - Gili Trawangan is a retreat for leisure travelers with a taste for style and substance offering comfort, intuitive service, and relaxation interweaved with respect and admiration for local traditions. With it's unmatched facilities and excellent services, this resort is perfect for a short break or an extended family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sunset Beach Resort Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing