We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good resort with basic facilities but a bit far from the main area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This resort in an overall sense is good, relaxed and very peaceful. But is a little away from the main street. But its easily accessible in a Horse cart or a rented bicycle. The rooms are good but Air Conditioning can be an issue from time to time. The service is prompt and the food is above average.
At night the resort gets very dark and it gets extremely difficult to navigate within the are due to lit up boards or lights.
The pool and the bar is decent.
The breakfast spread is not that great.
Staff is very polite and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abhieshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in! We stayed here for 2 nights and moved onto another hotel for our last night as we couldn't bear it any longer.

Before leaving we spoke to the hotel manager about our stay and he agreed that we did not have the best experience so he offered us a full refund to our bank account and emailed us an invoice confirming he would send the refund. It has now been 2 months and we've not received a single penny. It has been impossible to get hold of anyone by phone or by email. Once we got hold of someone on the phone only to be put on hold then hung up on! Tried phoning back right away and again no one would answer.

- First day we arrived we decided to relax by the pool only to be told there were no pool towels available for use. It wasn't busy and there looked to be about 5 pool towels in use when there are about 20 beds that people can use. What do they do when the pool is busy?? We had to go back to our room and use our bath towels by the pool instead.

- The air con did not work in our room. We called for someone to fix it 4 times as someone would come, just look at it and leave without telling us anything. We phoned reception each time this happened and finally they said it couldn't be fixed so they offered us a new room. This was nice of them however the room they had put us in was newly built and not ready for hotel guests yet so it came with a few problems. Also, we had paid for a pool room and this was far from the pool next to some construction going on.

- The new room was crawling with bugs! Our first night they came and sprayed the room and outdoor bathroom as they said bugs from the field next door come by. Even with all the doors closed we woke up both mornings with centipede like creatures all over our bedroom floor and in the bathroom. It was horrible having to tiptoe around these in the evening as you would get rid of one and suddenly two more would appear. It was never ending!

- The new room was clearly not finished as we had no bedside lamps and just the big light on the ceiling. We called reception to fix this problem, it took an hour and many different people coming to our room to understand what we wanted they finally found us some lamps. We then found out that none of the plug sockets in the room worked apart from one on the opposite end of the room where the tv was plugged in. So we had only one plug in our whole room to use a lamp, watch tv, charge our phones, laptop, camera. Obviously all this cannot be done at the same time so it was very frustrating.

- No welcome drink as stated when we booked.

- No towels and no room service menu in the room.

- The water from the shower was salty, something we didn't experience in our new hotel.

- Managed to order room service, it came with no cutlery.

- The air con machine was positioned above our bed so leaked ice and cold water onto us.

- The morning of our second day my wife was sitting in bed, the curtains were open but we had the 'do not disturb' sign showing on our door. Still a (what we assume to be) hotel worker walked onto our porch and looked through the glass doors around our room until he noticed my wife in bed then he immediately left. She was very startled by this, we looked outside and he was gone. He was not wearing smart clothes nor the uniform we saw the room cleaners wearing. We complained about this but nothing seemed to be done.

- We left our room that morning with the sign on the door to clean our room while we were gone. We came back at 6.30pm to find that nothing had been cleaned or tidied. We phoned reception and they came and did this whilst we had to sit outside the room. When booking the hotel it claimed to replenish bottles of water everyday, we did not receive any new water and instead of taking our room service plates away from our kitchen area they just left the dirty things on our outside porch to attract more bugs.

- The hairdryer did not work and there was not another in the hotel to offer us.

- Our first night we phoned for an iron which they brought us however they had no ironing boards to give us. The second night we phoned for an iron again only to be told that there are only 2 irons in the whole hotel and they were both broken.

- The hotel offer bikes to rent and outside you can see there are plenty but unfortunately we were unable to hire any for both days as didn't have any bike locks so wouldn't allow us to use them. We asked them to double check if the had any locks which they did and said they found one but it was broken so we couldn't use it or borrow a bike.

- We paid for breakfast for the whole of our stay but only decided to have it on the second morning. For this being a 4* hotel it was the worst selection I have seen. I have no problem trying new things for breakfast but all of the hot dishes were empty with no signs of being replenished. My wife just wanted to have some toast and as she approached the bread station she noticed none of it was covered with flies sitting on and flying around the bread. We decided not to eat anything and leave.

This has to be the worst stay we've ever had at a hotel. It claims to be 4* and charges these prices, I think it needs reviewed and would be lucky to even be awarded 1*. The attitude in which we have now been treated by the manager is appalling after he promised a full refund and now we can't even get hold of him! I would recommend no one to ever stay at this hotel! It was 2 days of stress and let downs, thank God we found a perfect hotel the other side of the island for our last night, if only we knew sooner so we could have avoided this disaster!











Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sarakq23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede H, General Manager at Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi Shwan,

It took sometimes until I got the details from our bank to clarify your refund process. Refers to our bank it has been completed by Aug 31, 2017.
Our bank suggest the cardholder to directly contact the issuer bank. We sent you the proof by email.

I remember you very clear and the first and last serious thing you have to clarify is to change the title "MANAGER ROBBED OUR MONEY" otherwise I will pursue you for the cyber crime. I am serious for this as I have learned with business relatives in Interpol.
Your ONLY IDR 2,256,190 or equal to USD 175 is nothing.
I am purely Indonesian, but I earn more than USD 8,000 per month from various business. Why should I rob your little money?
Please clarify to Trip Advisor for the same.

I may advise you to be more wise to play with online review.

Thank you.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

I have travelled most of Asia in the last few years both while on holiday and as a backpacker. I would never stay here again whether It be I was back packing or looking for a luxury stay.
The rooms were a big disappointment ,not very clean and the air con didn't work great , while we were aware that the bathroom was outside we didn't realise that there would be no mirror inside the room so anytime getting ready we had to be outside. The lighting is too dim in the rooms and flies and mosquitos easily get into the room because of having to use the bathroom outside.
The staff never replaced our dirty towels or empty shampoo bottles when cleaning the room so we had to go to reception and ask for these simple but expected amenities. The staff did give them no problem when asked but we shouldn't have had to ask in the first place.
The two stars goes toward the gorgeous pool and friendly staff. I can't comment on food as I never ordered it, simply because the coconut water I got on my first day I could not drink due to the "hairy"bits from the shell being in the juice.
The hotel itself and surroundings for us was just too quiet and too far out from the centre. We were aware when booking that we would be far from the hustle and bustle of the east side but we wouldn't have minded this if the resort lived up to its expectations as a four star resort. The beach is busy for sunset but that's it.
The 20minute bike ride to the centre is a dark and bumpy road. At night there is minimal lighting on the route to the centre and unfortunately the horse and carriages won't collect you at the hotel past 930pm. The wait time can range from a half hour to two hours for a horse and carriage according to the staff! I would have expected more for what we paid.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lauraforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede H, Manajer Umum at Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Laura,

Thank you for whatever you wrote here. I do not want to excuse for our room conditions. Open bathroom with outside mirror is there all the time and most of our guest enjoy it. Meanwhile, I do apologize for your amenities problem and for sure I will give a big attention to the related department as this hotel is in the new management transition for more improvement. Other conditions are mostly depending to local authority for the infrastructure as I think is not really fair to complaining for bumpy and dark road to our hotel, even we have given special notes regarding horse cart to all of our guest. Simple suggestion for you as super traveler: please be more curious to get more info about your destination, especially a unique island likes Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely wait staff, they were amazing and very welcoming especially Abi! A very personal and nice touch. Fantastic Indonesian food truly local. Highly recommend. Also had the whole restaurant to ourself, really hope this place does better

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 41tashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede H, General Manager at Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hello Tasha,

We do appreciate your compliment to our hotel restaurant "Suharti". Abi always bring his nature to give you a truly Indonesian culinary experience. We look forward to welcome you back for more Indonesian culinary adventure and some improvement, of course.
Thank you:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We spent 5 nights at Pandawa Beach and loved it. After reading mixed reviews on the place we were pleasantly surprised by the service received and the beauty of the place. We stayed in a Deluxe Room towards the back of the resort and it was very relaxing and quiet. The room is well supplied and large in size, the outside bathroom incredible and the large day bed on the balcony was amazing. We spent most of our days on the east side of the island on a diving course so it was a relief to come back to the quieter west side of the island. We did not eat the food and preferred to eat out at other establishments, which we advise you do. Great stay though, thank you!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede H, General Manager at Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Caroline,
Thank you for your helpful review. We really appreciate it, especially when we are doing some improvement for management transition. I wish you may have more culinary experience in our resort as we have several restaurants in the resort.
Meanwhile, I am sure you will enjoy more nice surprises on your next visit:)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,194 reviews
1.0 km away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
602 reviews
0.8 km away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
#9 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
371 reviews
0.2 km away
Aston Sunset Beach Resort
Aston Sunset Beach Resort
#6 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,543 reviews
1.9 km away
The Trawangan Resort
The Trawangan Resort
#15 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort

Address: Pantai Street | Desa Gili Indah, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia (Formerly Pandawa Conflict - The Heritage Resort)
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $79 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a coast resort of hidden paradise, Pandawa Conflict - The Heritage Resort in Gili Trawangan is located. Enjoying a sensuous tropical setting, let our hospitality pamper your desire. Pandawa Conflict - The Heritage resort is a perfect combination of art and hospitality, another value of our soul. Explore Gili Trawangan, its rich of epic art and heritage of Indonesia's traditional hotel compund. Experience the excitement of Pandawa athmosphere in our numerous of Beach bar, the magnificent view of garden and decorated pool. Come as you arT and ensure you a trully felt like royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing