We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "tent" camping ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Reviewed 9 November 2011

An excellent experience I've already recommended to my family and friends who love the pictures we took. The room was everything I hoped it would be and the dining was second to none. Thank you for such a wonderful time, we hope to come again some day!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of their tent cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanandStepha... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Thank you very much for a wonderful review and also for recommending our Resort to friends and family. We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 692 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

We visited for two nights in late October. This was off-season so the resort had low occupancy. The weather was excellent with sunny days, although windy. It got very cold at night, but fortunately the gas fireplace kept the tent cozy. We had our own private cove and were only feet above the pounding waves/rocks. Yup, it is indeed a tent although not like any tent you have stayed in before. Lots of windows and it didn't seem like a tent from the inside. Quite a unique experience and worth your time getting to the resort from Vancouver. The dining room food was excellent; tasty, good presentation and fresh/quality food ingredients. Given the low occupancy we had to wait a few times for a host, otherwise, service was good. The spa was enjoyable and relaxing. This is a great getaway destination if you want to be close to the ocean and the beautiful outdoors.

Room Tip: The tent cabins should be your only choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirSchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We visited last summer, a Tenthouse, just for one night. I'm a great day camper- and this "tent" seemed like one we might both enjoy....Okay, it's not camping. Not even close! The building is made of canvas and that's where any similarity ends! Each tent is accessed from a long deck type walkway and steps up or down to your private oasis (you do have to drag your bag). The tent is large, canvas with a great deck and wonderful views! Basically, we could open the "windows' to see a 180 degree view of the water-- and no one else! Inside was just as fabulous! Heated slate floors, a great bed, stand up shower and a large jacuzzi tub (for 2) positioned to take advantage of the views! Quiet, wonderful and romantic! There was a wedding there at the same time and the dining room was rather full ( but fun to watch!)
Dinner was a 3 course fixed price meal. It was fresh and really delicious- it exceeded our expectations! Worth a visit if you're planning to be in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the low side (closer to the water!) No chance of seeing any neighbors ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TumbleweedSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We recently visited the Rockwater Secret Cove Resort for a Friday/Saturday weekend stay. We stayed in one of the cabins on the fall special that included breakfast. When we booked, we were told that we'd booked the last cabin (#7) which was luckily ocean front, but apparently while we were in transit to the hotel, they said they had called and left a message that we had "received an upgrade" to another cabin, #10. I'm not sure how this cabin, which was a couple hundred meters further up a hill, behind a bunch of trees and away from the ocean was an upgrade - especially when we were told that we had booked the "last cabin" upon reserving. My suspicion is that another couple arrived before us, were shown to their cabin and asked to be moved. I don't think we would have even minded the switch, except that someone deliberately made a point to call and tell us that we had been upgraded as if to cover up that we had been bumped out of the better ocean front cabin. The cabin swap aside...the cabins are ok if you like that "rustic" cottage feel. Our entire cabin slanted to the right, the bathroom was very very small and the mirror was in an awkward location, which meant you had to stand almost in the shower, at the end of the vanity to be able to dry your hair or anything. And please Rockwater...replace the rickety, creaking, squeaking, trampoline bed in cabin #10.

The restaurant is a bit dated and could benefit from some minor renovations/updating. The menu offers a decent selection of items, with entrees ranging from about $28-35. The service we had was not on point with what I was expecting before I arrived, nor what I would expect when paying the higher prices they are charging. Our server was very absent, and seemed to be uncomfortable in general as she was struggling with answering my question about recommendations from the the menu, and not being able to explain the special of the day. We ordered the crab ravioli, which were very plain but alright. And I ordered the special which was a NY strip with a chanterelle mushroom cream sauce, a potato cabbage succotash and some steamed vegetables. My boyfriend had the lamb duo with potato pave and steamed vegetables. My potatoes were a really bland version of chopped up boiled potatoes with the odd string of cabbage, and the steak was swimming in the mushroom cream sauce. My boyfriend didn't enjoy the lamb at all, and I ended up giving him 1/2 my steak. The server didn't seem to notice or make mention that his plate was still 1/2 full when she finally reappeared to take them away. We probably would have mentioned it earlier if we were able to find her, but at that point we just wanted to go.

Both mornings, the breakfast food and service was significantly better than the dinner experience we had the first night. The morning front desk manager was really friendly and upbeat and he genuinely wanted to make sure that guests were enjoying their stay. The second night, I tried to order a piece of cake through room service which initially got met with a "no - sorry the restaurant just closed" (even though they offer a very limited overnight menu of room service). But after pushing a little, the woman who answered agreed to go see if someone could get a piece of cake onto a plate for us, and she offered to bring it down to our cabin.

We each had massages at the resort as well. While I think the price was on the high side compared to other resorts and similar properties, the quality was great and the experience we had was quite enjoyable and met our expectations.

Overall...I think we would return to the resort, but we would be sure to book at a time when we could stay in a tent suite and we would skip the dinner at the restaurant and head into Sechelt, but would stay for breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank -A-m-a-3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

For those looking for an outdoor/nature experience with 5 star accommodations, this is it. We stayed in the sensational Kittyhawk tent suite right on the cliffs of Secret Cove with a fabulous ocean view. Resident wildlife right at your doorstep. This is the most romantic and relaxing adventure we have ever done. Between the jetted tub, the ultimate king bed, the amazing view from the extended deck and the rain shower we thought we were in heaven. The restaurant has excellent food along with the same amazing view. The service is bar none 5 star, the staff are extremely friendly and go the extra mile to make your stay top notch. We stayed for 2 nights and found that a 3rd would have been even better. If you choose to go to Rockwater we recommend that you book the tent suites as this gives you the full experience that they offer. This is our new favorite place to go and probably will remain so for a very long time.

Room Tip: The Kittyhawk tent suite is a very special experience and would be a place to go for a special occas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
9.4 km away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
412 reviews
9.6 km away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
24.2 km away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
154 reviews
2.2 km away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
9 reviews
24.3 km away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range: $208 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing