We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tent Cabins are Fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived at Rockwater as our last stop on the Sunshine Coast. We checked into one of the historic cabins and we were very disappointed. They are tiny which is fine but they BADLY need renovating and we really did not want to stay there. We walked out the boardwalk to look at the tent cabins and found ourselves in another world and seemingly another resort. We immediately went the front desk to ask about changing to a tent. The staff were very nice and accommodating. Our new room was spectacular. We love everything about these tent rooms from the walk out, beautiful view, comfortable bed, awesome whirlpool tub, heated floors & fireplace, and more. What a fun adventure!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PhotoTraveller-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
876reservations, Guest Services at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you had the chance to stay in one of our Tenthouses. They are very unique and allow for a relaxing getaway.

We hope to have you come back soon so that we can continue to better your experience! We will ensure to communicate your lovely comment to our staff.

- The Rockwater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

The views are spectacular. The tents are very unique. The service is poor. Front desk doesn't speak English, they also don't seem to have any concept of 5 star quality. The food in the restaurant is over priced and not good. The spa was unique but again grossly overpriced. Go here for the room and get everything else outside.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 985trevort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
876reservations, Guest Services at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the amazing view and your time spent in the Tenthouses!

We are taking your comments seriously, and will discuss the issues with our management team and front desk staff.

We appreciate you coming forth with your concerns. We hope to see you again so that we can improve and better your stay.

- The Rockwater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Wasn't sure what to expect but all in all was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in one of the tents (#52). It was nice but would have liked more options in terms of selecting exactly which tent we were assigned (website could be improved here) since we would have gladly paid a premium and/or changed our travel dates to get closer to/on the water. The best tents are those farthest along the boardwalk. The restaurant was the biggest surprise. The staff were all amazing and the food was well beyond what I was expecting at every meal. Indeed, this is one of the best things about the resort. We had tried to book at Painted Boats but couldn't get in so we booked at Rockwater. We drove over and walked through Painted Boats during our visit. While the resort itself is beautiful, the setting is nothing close to what you get at Rockwater and we were glad we ended up there in the end. The resort could use more staff to make room cleaning faster and more efficient. All in all, it was a great trip and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CanadianSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
876reservations, Guest Services at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Rockwater!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you got the opportunity to stay in one of our Tenthouses!

In regards to selecting a Tenthouse, we are taking your comment seriously and will communicate this with our team.

We are looking forward to having you stay with us again soon!

- The Rockwater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had an amazing stay at Rockwater Secret Cove. We stayed in tent #58 which was on a cliff right over the ocean with a fantastic view of sunset. The tent was definitely luxury....heated floors, huge jacuzzi tub, rainwater shower. It was hard to leave! We would do a hike or two during the day and then come back to the tent to enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony and ordered room service almost every night for dinner. The food at the restaurant is great and well-priced. Room service came quickly, too. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to disconnect on a romantic vacation and enjoy nature.

We had one small issue when it rained heavily and our tent did leak a bit but the staff brought us towels right away.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
876reservations, Guest Services at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, Allison! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time in one of the Tenthouses and were able to explore the beautiful Sunshine Coast. We will ensure to communicate your kind comments to our Chef. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future! - Rockwater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed in ten 58 and it was spectacular. Such a unique experience being in a luxury tent right over the water immersed in nature. The floors were heated and the bath tub and rain shower were fabulous. We had room service for dinner almost every night after having a glass of wine on our balcony watching the sunset. Hotel restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. Great location to nearby hiking trails.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
876reservations, Guest Services at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time spent in the Tenthouses. We will be sure to communicate your compliments to our chef. We looking forward to having you stay with us again soon! - Rockwater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
9.4 km away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
408 reviews
9.6 km away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
36.2 km away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
2.2 km away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
9 reviews
24.3 km away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range: $209 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing