We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood heaven”
Review of Mar Azul

Mar Azul
Ranked #11 of 105 Restaurants in Puerto de Mogan
Description: Highly rated specialist Seafood Restaurant in Puerto de Mogan.
Restaurant details
Description: Highly rated specialist Seafood Restaurant in Puerto de Mogan.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

We found this restaurant on the list of Top 10 Restaurants at Puerto de Mogan. The menu was purely seafood menu. They have a display fridge where you can see all the fish you might wish to eat. The staff is helpful, attentive and willing to help. This is not a posh place with tablecloths and washable napkins, however, the food is very good so they clearly know their stuff. We shared one of the big platters for two and we totally loved the food. When we ended the meal the plates were completely clean (!). It is definitely a good place for people who wish to experience fresh local seafood cuisine. Well done Mar Azul. Thank you for such a pleasant and tasty experience.

Thank Restaurant-FBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabernaMarazul, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mar Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

thank you very much for your words always all our products are fresh of the day so that the experience is unforgettable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018

We have visited this taberna for a first time for a lunch. Really amazing food. Red Snapper, filleted irresistible. It was a wonderful experience. Hopefully popping back next. Thank you, señores!

Mostrar menos

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reginabauer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabernaMarazul, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mar Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

thank you very much, we would be happy to have it again in our restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This restaurant was recommended by one of the hotel staff.

It looks very unprepossessing, and one could easily dismiss it when walking past it. There were several tables outside, a fairly large terrace, and also an large eating area inside.

They have a large variety of fish, including local fish, all very fresh. I ordered one of the local fish.
While I was waiting I was brought some bread with alioli, which was delicious, and even sufficiently garlicky for a garlic lover like me.

The fish was nicely cooked, and very good. It did not come with any vegetables, or anything else.
I cannot say anything about the service because I went early and was the only person in the restaurant!
There is an abundance of fish restaurants in the area, and while this one was quite good, I certainly would not bother returning there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JayL17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabernaMarazul, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mar Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for your words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We came upon this restaurant the second day of our 11 day holiday, and proceeded to eat there 3 times, including my birthday meal which was lobster, delicious and enormous.
The restaurant is slightly tucked away behind the Marina, but has a pleasant outlook over some gardens and a square.

The fish and seafood are incredibly fresh and tasty and the Oysters (which we only found here ) were delicious and some of the best we have ever tasted.
We also tried the Lobster Paella and the Fish Platter, both equally delicious and tasty.
The ailioli is home made and if you like garlic try it, it's the best we had.

The staff and the owner were really great and made my birthday really special. Thank you to you all, and for cracking our lobster claws and our complimentary drinks.
Just wish we had a seafood restaurant as good as you at home.
We will definitely be seeing you all again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frankiecash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabernaMarazul, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mar Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you very much for your visit, we are glad that you had a great birthday in our restaurant, we hope to see you again because it was a very pleasant evening for us too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Wonderful time at Mar Azul. The grilled fish and paella are excellent and everyone is really nice.
Best restaurant and great service in Puerto de Mogán.

Thank mathilde l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabernaMarazul, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mar Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you very much for your words, we are glad you enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar Azul also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Mar Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing