We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cordial Mogan Valle(Puerto de Mogan)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Eva(Puerto de Mogan)
US$37
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Cordial Muelle Viejo(Puerto de Mogan)
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Venecia de Canarias(Puerto de Mogan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
HD Mogan Beach Apartments(Puerto de Mogan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pension Playa(Puerto de Mogan)
Priceline
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Apartments Casa Lila(Puerto de Mogan)
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (4,551)
Filter reviews
4,551 results
Traveller rating
3,390
938
176
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,390
938
176
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boarda la carte restaurantevening meallos guayresmogan playahotel tourcactus gardenla fulaexcellent hoteljunior suiteblue buildinghotel groundsbowling alleylarge hotelbotanical gardensmain restaurantcordial mogan
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 4,551 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

First time we'd been to Gran Canaria, or indeed any of the Canary Islands. Morgan was going to be a mystery trip.
When we first arrived, it seemed a bit surreal, but once we'd settled in, and explored the grounds of the hotel, and walked down into Mogan itself, it all fell into place.
We can see why many nationalities - the Germans especially seem to like the place - go there. The breakfasts, served in a vast downstairs restaurant, were amongst the best of the self-serve variety we have ever come across - so much fresh food it was amazing.
Morgan itself is a very interesting and picturesque little fishing village, well worth going into and finding plenty of small, reasonably priced eateries.
Well worth going to Cordial Mogan Playa - we'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Firstly for UK bookings if you intend to book direct with Becordial and get the best deal. Make sure you get their web site and not cordialresorts.com which goes under the name of Instant holidays. Despite claiming to be the UK agents for Becordial i am told by Becordial they are no more so than Thomsons, Jet2 etc. This has a knock on effect as Instant cannot offer deals on HB plus or rooms for kids, the official site does. Now some bits not covered by others. There is a dress code for the resort dinner restaurants that has been relaxed for the school holidays. Long trousers will be enforced from September according to management- be warned. The dress code is buried in some tour operators jargon! It did though amaze me that smart three quarter shorts were frowned upon but jeans and a t shirt depicting beer or other logo is ok. If there going to have a dress code lets have shirts with collars. Girls seem to be able to wear pretty much what they liked even if the butt cheeks were for all to see.
The food was pretty good for a buffet and apart from a decent steak, i cant see what else they could have done. Sure there are some strange dishes like cauliflower for breakfast, but with so much choice on offer just ignore this and get something else. The one problem i do have is the HB plus house wine. If you want to get drunk, sure it will achieve that. But the quality is shocking. The same wine is on sale on wine searcher for 1.30 euros. It just isn't good enough to drink. Although a wine drinker myself i stuck to the beer & soft drinks. The HB plus package price worked out just about worthwhile. Not a huge saving and then unless you are on beer or soft drinks the quality isn't there.
The pool nearest the reception is a quiet pool hence staff stopped large inflatables, diving, balls being thrown etc and redirected them to the other pool at the South end of the complex.
The room (1232) was adequate, an odd scuff mark or bit of condensation mould visible. The best bit of the resort was the staff who worked their socks off, Morning to night! The maitre D was clearly experienced and offered a reduction in the cost of the other wines on offer and was sympathetic in regards the dress code. From the conversation with him, the hotel has had some bad experiences with dress & behaviour. I think at the moment that the Hotel is trying to address that, but sometimes can come across as over fussy. Not easy to get that right.
The dino supermarket across the road has pretty much all you would like, so unless you are going for the world eating records don't even think about full board as i was full even on half board. ps Cava is 5.50 in the supermarket, beer from 56 for a small can. Pepsi 46 cents. Don't need to blow money in the hotel when the supermarket is that close and you're on a budget. Decent hotel in a fairly quiet location if you get a decent price. Be cordial does offer a big reduction but you have to book 350 days or more ahead and pay in full at the time of booking. Big gripe for me here though, is the safe cost of 23 euros for 10 days. This isn't a budget hotel and as such i feel the cost should be swallowed by the company.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ropley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel was great, good service and quite large with two swimming pools. Food was decent, lots of choice, restaurant quite busy though. The town doesn't have lots to offer but was perfect for us with a young baby of 4 months. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Just returned from our second stay at this hotel and can’t recommend it enough.

My wife, daughter and I had a fantastic time here two years ago, so we really wanted to return again this summer. I guess there’s always a slight risk that it might not be as good as the first time, but I have to say we weren’t disappointed.

Everything was spot on, from the welcome upon arrival, to the comfort and cleanliness of our room and the fact that nothing was too much trouble for the staff - everyone is genuinely friendly and only too pleased to help.

We we were given a quiet room as requested (3rd floor in block 3: “Cardon”), staying "half board plus", which meant breakfast and evening meals were included, but they were happy to swap our evening dinner for lunch on a couple of occasions (so we could wander down to the beautiful harbour) and we also swapped our early dinner sitting to a late one on one occasion.

I can’t believe how they manage to cater for so many people and keep the quality of the food consistently high and offer such a wide variety of options - one of the reasons we came back after having a really poor selection (and the same selection - every day) offered elsewhere a few years back.

Of Mogan itself, the location is still relatively unspoilt, but am sure as the years pass by, the developers will keep building newer hotels / apartments further into the ‘valley’, but for now the harbour is a short stroll away from the hotel and is a lovely place to visit whether during the day or at night.

We’ll be back.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms appear to be nearer to main reception, we stayed in block 3 both times...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bainesy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We arrived late on Saturday evening for our first stay at this hotel which we had noticed whilst having a day trip to Puerto Mogan last year. We were really looking forward to our holiday this year after a bit of a disaster in Gran Canaria last year and we were by no means disappointed!
The hotel is set with in lovely tropical gardens containing numerous different species of palms, bananas and other tropical delights. The gardens surround the pool areas so also provide shade at different times of the day. There are two pools to choose from the ‘active’ pool for the use of inflatables and activities from the animation team, and the relaxation pool (closer to reception) that we favoured. During our first week inflatables, balls etc were allowed in this pool and we did find this busy at times, during the second week a ban appeared to have come into place and the lifeguards were very good at asking people to remove these from the pool so keeping this a lovely place to relax peacefully. There is a 90 min limit on reserving sunbeds in the morning and beds were regularly issued with tickets stating the maximum time the sunbed could be reserved until. This initially seemed like a good system however we only once saw items being removed when guests did not return before the end of this limit. Having said all that we found sunbeds everyday and if you’re not fussy where you sit you’ll always find somewhere. You can change your pool towels, for free, daily if you wish at the pool side between 9 & 12 which is handy as you don’t have to wait for them to be changed in your room.
Our room was on ground floor, of a good size and very clean. We had a nice terrace and small grassed area looking out over the pedestrianised walkway into the town centre. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a flat screen TV with attached DVD player, we took an HDMI cable and adaptor which also allowed us to connect our tablet to the TV to watch a film. Before leaving we were concerned about the building works that we’d been made aware of. Our room was quite near to one of these but there was very little noise and it didn’t bother us at all, from the relaxation pool near reception you cannot hear anything.
We were half board plus for this holiday so we had drinks included with meals, we found this option great as we didn’t have to worry about spending too much extra on drinks in an evening. We had a bottle of wine and water each evening with dinner and for house wine it wasn’t bad at all. Another reviewer mentioned that they had been given the wrong wine which they then had to pay for, my tip is if you sign for something it will be charged to your room, if you don’t sign it’s included. The food on offer was varied both at breakfast and dinner and for buffet style dining was excellent quality. We have stayed in several all inclusive hotels where we had been disappointed by the quality of food and drink, this certainly wasn’t the case at the Cordial Mogan Playa. The fish grill was a particular favourite at dinner serving a selection of freshly cooked fish and seafood each evening. You could always find something you fancied to eat. On three occasions we swapped dinner for lunch, just go to reception the day before and get a voucher. The quality of lunch items on offer was of equally good quality to breakfast and dinner.
The evening entertainment is varied, some acts were quite entertaining others were poor but provided us with a good laugh. After the evening entertainment everyone pretty much leaves and goes back to their rooms so this isn’t the place for you if you want busy late nights out. Drinks are fairly pricey but measures are generous and spirits are branded so actually prices are probably comparable to a city centre bar in the UK.
One minor quibble, the courtesy room isn’t really a courtesy room as you’d expect. It’s an area of the hotel that multiple guests can access at any time they choose, there are men and women’s toilets and showers and 4 ‘bedrooms’. Being the height of the summer this facility was extremely busy and we had to wait approximately 20 mins for a shower as there are only 2 cubicles. The ‘bedrooms’ have no windows or air con so after getting dressed you felt like you needed another shower. If you need use this on the day you check out make sure to give yourself plenty of time so you don’t miss your transfer. We allowed 90 mins and this about right for getting us ready in time for our pick up without having to rush.
The staff at this hotel are great, really friendly and very helpful. In short this was a wonderfully relaxing holiday at a high quality hotel, we didn’t want to leave and will definitely be back for a return visit as some point.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank Caramont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews