We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
22 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$293
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Hotels.com
US$298
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
FindHotel
US$288
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
PricelineUS$309
eDreamsUS$293
Orbitz.comUS$298
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,214)
Filter reviews
5,214 results
Traveller rating
3,894
1,045
215
39
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,894
1,045
215
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board a la carte junior suite mogan playa evening meal lovely hotel blue building bowling alley botanical gardens cordial mogan main restaurant buffet style plenty of sunbeds plenty of choice big hotel reception area port area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 5,214 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2021

We stayed in the Mogan Playa in November 2021 and had a lovely time. The hotel is perfectly located next to the pedestrian walkway that runs into the village, just about 10 minutes walk to the promenade.

We had a standard double room on the second floor which was a good size, well equipped and comfortable. In the main bedroom there was a mini fridge, room safe (chargeable), tea and coffee making facilities, a 32 inch TV, two comfy chairs, a table and desk. The wardrobe was a good size and the bed very comfortable.

The bathroom was a good size had a shower over the bath and a hairdryer.

The food in the hotel is exceptional and even though we were there 2 weeks I never felt we were running out of choice. Choice is excellent at both dinner and breakfast. Due to Covid they are running a 2 sitting system for dinner where you need to choose either earlier or later sitting and stick to that for the full length of your stay.

Communication in the dining room left something to be desired as twice during our stay they changed the rules and didn’t tell us about them. They firstly changed to a fixed seating system during dinner where you are allocated a seat number and need to sit at that table for the duration of your stay. I was marched off a table after four days of this system as I wasn’t aware of the change and then some days later they changed the times of the sittings without telling us and I nearly missed dinner.

The hotel is kept spotless both in rooms and the public areas. Staff are friendly and efficient. The grounds are superb with lots of exotic plants, trees and cactus managed by a team of very busy gardeners.

There is a typical 4 star hotel entertainment package with evening “professional entertainment” in the concert room but this only lasts just over half an hour. If you wish to forego the “pool entertainment” there is a separate quiet pool area.

Room tip: Best rooms point towards the village (Gets more sun) Avoid rooms near main building and overlooking walkway (Noisy)
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Worslesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylke Gnefkow, Other at Cordial Mogan Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Cordial Mogán Playa for your deserved and desireble holiday and for sharing your experiences with other users on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you had a lovely time during your stay and that you found our rooms and food "exceptional". We know food experience is very important for our guests, so we strive to offer the best quality and a vast choice. We will share this comment with our kitchen staff, for sure they will be happy!

On the other hand, we would like to sincerely apologize for the miscommunication during your stay, we tried our best to applied the COVID-19 rules and communicating them to all our guests, but it seems like we could not achived this with you. Thus, we would like to offer our sincere apology to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Departamento de Operaciones beCordial Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2021

I have seen a couple of negative reviews from people who would have been in the hotel at the same time as us. I have say that my wife and I received excellent service and enjoyed a truly wonderful holiday. ~The only negative for me was that breakfast was a bit of a bunfight and, occasionally, certain things we liked had run out but what do people expect in a hotel of this size? Our twin room faced south and looked on to the Spa and was ideal. The pools are superb and we never had a problem with pool side service. The location of the hotel is well nigh perfect being a short walk from the beach and the port. Puerto de Mogan is sublime and our four days of driving round convinced us that it is the nicest resort on the island. It also has some excellent restaurants. Within the hotel and elsewhere there is excellent adherence to Covid discipline rules. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and the resort.

Room tip: Ensure, if possible, that your room faces south
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 858neilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylke Gnefkow, Other at Cordial Mogan Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Cordial Mogán Playa for your well-deserved holiday and for sharing your experiences with travellers on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely pleased to read that you had a wonderful holiday and received excellent service. Our staff is the one reponsible for creating memorable experiences to our guests and I'm sure that your review will cheer them up!

On the other hand, we know that breakfast time can be bussier than normal sometimes, but we do our best to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant breakfast experiences on our buffet.

We hope to welcome you again in our little Paradise!

Kind regards,

Departamento de Operaciones beCordial Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2021

We were delighted to get back to this hotel. Their approach to hygiene was excellent and their C-19 protocol was good - everyone had to wear masks in the restaurants, and all indoor areas. Clearly this approach did not please everyone - personally I was very happy. Our junior suite was perfectly cleaned daily, food was excellent and the staff were as friendly and helpful as ever. The gardens were up to their usual standard, the spa treatment was excellent (back massage).

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanS2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylke Gnefkow, Other at Cordial Mogan Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Alan,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Cordial Mogán Playa for your well-deserved holiday and for taking a time to share a review on TripAdvisor.

It's pleasant for us to read that you remarked here the importance of C-19 protocol in our Hotel. Our first priority has always been the safety and comfort of our guests and employees, thus we take this very serious. Our housekeeping department as well as all our staff work hard to ensure that our protocols are inforce and executed. We know that has been difficult times for everybody, but we do our outmost to deliver a memorable experience despite it. Comments like yours cheer us up to continue working hard and deliver and exceptional service.

Furthermore, we are glad that you found your suite perfectly cleaned daily, food was excellent, gardens were up to our usual standard and that you enjoyed your back massage in our Spa Inagua!

You will always be welcome in our little Paradise! Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Departamento de Operaciones beCordial Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2021 via mobile

Room OK.
Service lacking. Chasing staff to replenish food items eg cheese etc T dinner.
Some food items cold.
Areas to sunbathe limited due to over hanging trees. Ended up paying for beach beds.
Food generally boring.
Waiting 20 minutes to get an aperitif before dinner and walking outside the hotel to get cheaper service.
Billing suspect. Had 3 occasions where 2 gin and tonics varied between €14.75 and €20.
Tables not cleared for 2nd sitting dinner or later breakfast.
Doesn't deserve 4 stars.
Areas of outside spa taped off.
Best days were spent outside of the complex.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Explore743011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2021 via mobile

Three of us on a 10 day break . Having an 87 year old with us we needed to consider quite a few things before booking .
Overall a lovely place , the gardens and pools sell the place as they are beautiful and plenty to see and walk around offering sun and shade .
The hotel is spread out in blocks and we were in the yellow block near the lower pool.
We found it a halfway point between the reception and restaurant and the lower gates to walk into town.
The walk into the town and seafront would take approx 5 minutes then a further couple of minutes into the port and all the restaurants . Although plenty of restaurants before the port .
The lifts at the hotel could be a little temperamental at times which with an 87 year old could be frustrating .
The breakfast buffet was very good with vast choice .
The attitude towards covid was good and continual throughout as always reminded people to wear masks if anyone forgot . Plenty of gel everywhere around all the hotel .
The bedrooms are huge and the beds comfortable and clean. But very very dated . If your not fussed about that then it’s fine .
Decent size balcony too with all rooms .
Entertainment we found was ok. Some nights better than others . The lounge it was held in was nice and reminded us of being on a cruise ship .
The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times . Some issue in my fathers room with coffee and creamers never being replaced .
We had the buffet one night and it was ok … but that’s all. But we are generally not buffet people and prefer to eat in town .
The biggest thing we felt that was massively missing was somewhere to have a drink outdoors in the evening . There’s nowhere other than reception area where there’s a big bar and piano .
The two pool bars were never open in the evening .
For us , we love to sit outside with a drink on holiday , so couldn’t do that in this hotel.
The restaurant was mainly indoor seating with some outside seats that were in shade mostly so felt chilly some mornings .
It’s a convenient location and the pools and gardens are amazing and plenty of sun beds in sun or shade .
Overall a pleasant experience and was the right place for the ur elderly father to navigate around as it was mostly lever and easy underfoot .

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank kathy499476
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylke Gnefkow, Other at Cordial Mogan Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kathy,

Thank you for considering our Hotel Cordial Mogán Playa for your well-derserved holiday and specially having your father with you! We appreciate the time you spent to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you had a pleasant experience and you found our Hotel the right place for your elderly father. We strive to create memorable experiences for all our guests no matter their age. You have reviewed many points which we appreciate, specially that you mention our breakfast choice, our COVID-19 protocols, staff service, entertainment and outdoor areas!

We take very serious our guests' feedback, so we will have into account every single suggestion. As this is the best way to improve and keep our quality standards high.

All our team will love to welcome you all again very soon!

Kind regards,

Departamento de Operaciones beCordial Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews