We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Home Cooking - Macanese/Portuguese Style”
Review of Espaco Lisboa

Espaco Lisboa
Ranked #100 of 756 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking - Macanese/Portuguese Style”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I've been coming here regularly for 10 years now, whenever we're in town for the Macau Grand Prix and I love the ambience as well as the food. Let's get this on the table straight away. This is not a flashy, glitzy restaurant with smooth faceless service. This is more like eating in someone's home, from the food to the rooms, which are basically the upstairs and downstairs main rooms of a very small building.

Service is friendly, and attentive, and the food is rustic, solid, flavoursome cooking. On my last visit we had the casquinha (crab stuffed with cheese and baked in its shell) for starters, and followed it up with a stunningly robust crab curry. The dish was huge and packed with flavour, and if we got messy tackling it, that was all to the good. The yellow stains from picking it apart stayed with me for a while, but it was worth it for the great taste.

This is not haute cuisine and makes no pretentions to being. What it is is good value for money for those not afraid of digging in and enjoying unsubtle but delicious food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smtfhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This restaurant is a bit hard to find but it's quite close to the Lord Stow's bakery. We enjoyed the olives and the meat appetizer. The seafood rice is a bit pricy but it was worth the splurge. Also, enjoyed Sangria with our meal. This was my first Portuguese food experience and I enjoyed our lunch.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We did not feel this was anything special and was something of a letdown. Definitely not worth a trip from mainland Macau. We could not eat the sauteed vegetables they prepared because they were so salty. Main courses were of a home cooking standard.
We got a table on the balcony and wondered why this spot was recommended. It was closed in by a plastic rain sheet and no air was circulating and no view to be seen. Not really worth the effort in our view.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This restaurant is on my "must visit" list for Macau and has been for some time. Serving no nonsense food accompanied by some excellent wines, what more could you ask for. There are very few tables in the restaurant so be sure to book well in advance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardtopleaseofhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in a great location”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

If you wish to get away from the glitz and the casinos, this is the place to be. Tucked away in a little street in Coloane, it's a wonderful restaurant for a quiet leisurely lunch before visiting the very rustic surroundings where you can still find the old Macau.

This is in fact the restaurant where the chef and boss of the now more famous (and grossly overpriced) Antonio's used to work. It therefore has almost exactly the same menu (even the names of the dishes are identical) but at much more reasonable prices. I had previously thought that the quality of the food might have suffered with the departure of Antonio but we ate at both restaurants on this visit and found the food every bit as good here. Indeed, we had had the rice with monkfish and prawns at Antonio's the night before and found the monkfish quite tasteless. Here, we had the seafood stew and it was very good indeed.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bourgogneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Espaco Lisboa also viewed

 

Been to Espaco Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing