We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever. Now that's what I am talking about!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We are near the end of a 'Round the World' holiday and this hotel is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. The hotel is absolutely perfectly situated, and a free transfer service was provided from the ferry terminal. The customer service person greeted us with a smile and immediate service, as he politely interrupted a random person attempting to sell us an official tour. The hotel officer guided us to the classy SUV vehicle which took us directly to the hotel. Excellent customer service. The greatest sous chef, Ryan & restaurant staff (especially Vera & Monica) made our stay so special. All three staff members went above the call of duty. They are true assets to the hotel. We felt like royalty! Even our infant felt special with his own cot equipped with a baby mozart mobile, baby shampoo, baby bath, towels, baby bath robe and slippers. The rooms are quite baby proof with plenty of additional doors to close off areas. Great decor, great staff, great service, great food, Now that's what I am talking about!

Quite pricey but well worth it!

Room Tip: high floor baby cot quiet room non smoking great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 440 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

Brilliant hotel! It's smaller than most of the five star hotels in Macau, which is a major benefit in my view. We received personalized service and attention and were not 'lost in the numbers'. It's close to casino's (if that's what you are keen on; MGM Grand is a short walk through the attached high-end shopping mall).
The rooms are superbly designed and fitted in true luxury: NAD sound system with iPod connectivity, espresso machine, TV in bathroom and a touch screen phone. The bathrooms were really cool and the shower was awesome. The bed was also very comfortable and the airconditioner was accurate with the temp (i travel extensively and have always found that room A/C's in hotels are very erratic and difficult to adjust to the actual temp on the dial/indicator). Wireless Internet was also available.
The main restaurant was good. The service by the staff there was fantastic, especially the young lady that greeted you at the door. Very attentive to our needs.
We had a high floor with fantastic views and thoroughly enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granto2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stay for 2 days for leisure with family. After reading previous reviews and with previous experience of MO, this one also has great service. The moment we arrived at Pier, a SUV arrived to pick us up and several people greeted us at the front door. Check in was completely inside our room. Hotel feels modern and welcoming as expected for MO. Hotel staff are young and nice. Our reservation included breakfast in the morning at Vida Rica restaurant. I cannot stay that the food quality was excellent but it is good. Staff is nice and attentive, except the reception at the restaurant was on the phone talking to her friends while we were waiting to be seated. We waited and proceed past her to grab seats then she immediately hang up the phone to lead us. Can have some improvement.
I have to compliment with the lobby staff as they are very attentive and helpful in answer questions. We have also use the spa service, massages and pedicure. Service was good, however, the spa is very small. The lounge hang out area is very small, no TV, some very minor snacks, this could be improved. Overall the spa experience is good but not great. It would be nice if guest can have some time after their treatments to relax and not to be rushed to shower or change clothes.
View of the room is great, we stay at River View deluxe room. Didn't have a chance to use the pool as it was cold and pool is outdoor. Internet service is $200.3 macau dollar per day, no free internet use.

Room Tip: Any room with river view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Run_ar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Compare to the old one, this new Mandarin has does not have a classy feel, perhaps it is the decor which blends well with the rest of the gaudy casinos. There were a lot of "new-hand" and service wasn't even close to the old one, however, I must say that the staff tried hard, it is just that most of them are not experienced.
There is one front desk staff I am impressed, Rachel Lee, I believe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed there with my family for 2 nights in Dec 2011. The check-in was seamless and quick. The Receptionist was informative and helpful. We have the best view from our room which overlook the spectacular Nam Van Lake. The breakfast at Vida Rica are sumptuous. The cake shop served all kind of varieties of sweets and cakes which is irresistible. But my favourite would be the Vida Rica Bar... Sat by the window overlooking the Nam Van Lake at night is so relaxing and wonderful. It's a must do if you stayed at this hotel. The hotel are connected to the One Central up market shopping mall which also connect the MGM Grand Hotel.
I have stayed in few other hotels in Macau, but this is so far the Best!!

Room Tip: Choose room with the Nam Van Lake view it's worth the money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipanmorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.4 km away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
4.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
4.7 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#10 of 94 in Macau
1,642 reviews
4.2 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
4 km away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#4 of 94 in Macau
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Macau

Address: Avenida Dr Sun Yat Sen, Nape, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Macau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#4 Family Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $264 - $880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Macau is ideally situated in the heart of Macau's business, entertainment and high-end retail districts, offering easy access to all major tourist sites and transport hubs. Both Macau International Airport and the Macau-China border are only 10 minutes by car, while the Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal is just a short five-minute drive away. From here, Hong Kong's airport can be directly accessed by ferry in 45 minutes and Central Hong Kong in just one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing