We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$145
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
Expedia.com
US$145
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$145
Hotels.comUS$145
eDreamsUS$145
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
65
54
25
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
54
25
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

I went to this hotel reading the reviews. Paid 230 euro for a room. Surprisingly there was no coffee or tea in the room. Restaurant was fully booked and they asked me to eat somewhere outside.
My daughter puked a little on the carpet and i asked for a cleaner but they said they dont’t have any cleaner now. The lady offered us a new room. Next day during checkout they charged us 80 euro for the same. The lady at the reception told us that if you are at home then you will clean yourself.
The location of the hotel was good. Its very near to eurotherm.
Overall a bad experience for the money which I paid.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank deepakjain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwingruber, Owner at Hotel Goldenes Schiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Dear Sir from India!
I deeply regret that your daughter didn't feel good and had to vomit. This happened in the evening and we offered to change the room which you had booked on this day for one night.
As we had to clean the carpet professionally wet we had a considerable extra effort to clean this room and we were not able to sell it on the day after as there was no good smell.
Therefore we charged you an extra fee for it which you heavily tried to avoid to pay.
And therefore you gave us a very bad review.
Once again we are sorry that somebody has personal troubles but extra services have to be charged even if we have the risk to get a bad review - as from you. Easily to recognize what your intention was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

What a great surprise to find a hotel so close to the centre of Bad Ischl and with a restaurant serving meals right on the banks of the River Traun. Handy to all the local attractions, especially the Museum, Siriuskogl and Franz Lehar Villa. Good room and bathroom facilities, very reasonable menu and helpfull staff made for a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwingruber, Owner at Hotel Goldenes Schiff, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Sir,
thank you for your excellent review! We really appreciate that you enjoyed our great location and our hotel services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We had initially booked an apartment next to this hotel, but a few weeks before we were due to travel we were informed that the apartment had been damaged and was no longer available. They had made alternative arrangements for us at the Golden Schiff. We were a little concerned as we are a couple travelling with a 17 year old and wanted separate sleeping areas, luckily we had a river view room with a full size sofa bed in the lounge and separate double bedroom.
The staff were friendly, rooms clean and the balcony over the river was lovely.
Buffet breakfast room was spacious, plenty of choice of good quality food.
We had one evening meal outside by the river, large portions and friendly staff.
The hotel is in an ideal spot for exploring Bad Ischl.
A trip to Hallstatt on the train and boat is a must.
A great start to our Austrian trip.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank sunshine384
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

I usually write reviews only if the experience is memorable
And so this one qualifies as such , unfortunately not in a good way
Our trip was booked by friends who visited with us from a different country
It was booked via booking.com
We booked it in April and got confirmation same day , hence we had it for 4 months prior to our stay
Less than 24 hours prior to our visit, our friend gets a call from the hotel informing us that our rooms are not available and that we will be staying in different ( no air conditioning in a scorching time ) rooms
Impossible to find another hotel in the same city on such short notice , we had no choice
That in itself I find unacceptable as we travel extensively and this has never happened to us
We usually get upgraded not downgraded
At any rate, when we got to the hotel , no one apologized or even acknowledged the fact that we were given no choice
Girl at reception kept saying that we did accept the change and oh well...I asked if assuming we would have not accepted ( hypothetically) were we then getting our old rooms back
She said “no” and that we were lucky we got rooms at all
Then she quoted us a lower price since the rooms were evidently cheaper
I asked to speak to the manager. She’s told me he’s not there but will be in the next day
He never showed up and we stayed there for 5 nights
When we left , another lady at receptions is telling us that we had to pay more than what we were quoted when we arrived
I am not going to get into the whole conversation
She told us that they never received our reservations from booking.com and that we are lucky we got rooms
Told me to relax as I’m on vacation (??)
And yet, magically?!, they knew we were coming hence to call the day before our arrival
Not only that,but she claimed they tried to reach us a few times. When I asked for specific dates and times she couldn’t provide any
She’s questioned everything and blaming booking.com
At the end of it all ( again, no apology for anyone whatsoever) she’s asking me :what do you want?
We paid and we left so disappointed
Bad Ischle is a beautiful city and Austria such beautiful country
The hotel is clean and breakfast is good. Everyone seemed friendly and we would have enjoyed it if it wasn’t for such a mix up with no accountability whatsoever
It all starts with management and in this case it’s a shame that they don’t seem to care for their clients

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank cristinac680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwingruber, Owner at Hotel Goldenes Schiff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.
We have to clarify many things:
1. The booking was made from some friend from you. He did not forward our several information to you.
2. You have made a booking and changed it later. We did not have the booked room category available on the other date.
We could not reach you to tell you this. When you arrived you were dissappointed what we understand. We certainly apolgized for this but one of the ladies had an extraordinary outburst of ranger that this was not possible. We can not accept how has beed talked with our girl at reception. This was really not gentlemen-like.
3. You could have changed on the next day after arrival but you did not come to reception.
We apologize that we can not talk to each guest at our hotel (about 100 guests) if he is the one who arrived yesterday and wanted to change his room.
4. Therefor we assumed that you acceoted the lower category with the lower price.
5. You never asked for the manager or owner except at check-out on the last of 5 days.

So we apologize that we could not give you the rooms you preferred on the day of arrival but we could have managed everything with a littel peace of your help and cooperation.

Thank you and please make bookings yourself in the future to avoid such problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Situated close to the river and within easy walking distance of the stations and main attractions of the town.
Nice walks of all kinds available and also not for to the Katrin cablecar station.
Our rooms were comfortable and had televisions (very limited English channels, all news) but no comfy chairs. Very good showers.
The WiFi was not very fast and apt to drop out in the bedrooms but this could be remedied if the receptionist rebooted it.
There was a lot of late night noise outside on our second night both late at night and early in the morning - we were disturbed by it even on the fourth floor
We had a very good set meal the first night and a very poor one the second.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Maxim123153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwingruber, Owner at Hotel Goldenes Schiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Maxim,
thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews