We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With kids to Sri Lanka...? Absolutelly!”
Review of The Other Corner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Other Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2017

First of all let's clarify some questions that might pop up before visiting Sri Lanka with kids around for the first time!
Eco Lodge means that the owners of the accomodation have officially gave up the fight against keeping the nature off the doors... When choosing a place to spend your vacation be aware that Mother Nature is powerful, and will find the way to make you happy by discovering every kind of creatures from zero legs to thousands. If you don't stand this, go to another country! Island, maybe...
It's not easy to find a hotel if you travell 4+ persons, so probably one of the Eco Lodges will be your destination.
We spent 18 days with 3 kids and a grandy on Sri Lanka, and we had a great vacation there.
TOC was our first hotel of the four we lodged through our stay. It is pretty close to everything you might would like to visit in the Cultural Triangle. The hotel is good, staff extremely kind, but this you can experience basically in the whole country, particularly when your kids are around. The food is SPICY like hell, but there's a way to feed the little ones, too! For the case of emergency we had a bunch of favorite bites of my daughter (8), but in most of the cases she could eat with us.
One more thing! If you organise your vacation yourself, never trust the booking engines on the internet. Arriving to TOC we realized, that we were alone in the whole venue, despite the warning "last room available" ...
You'll find more ideas with the same title under different spots here...

Room Tip: Send a mail prior to booking, the local management will find the best fitting room for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnitayZsolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

The Other Corner (TOC) is a wonderful retreat from the larger hotel resorts that line the road from Dambulla to Habarana. Located off the main road on the 'other corner' of Habarana lake, you have to cross a wire bridge to enter the main grounds and instantly you know that you've arrived somewhere special. To call it peaceful is not entirely true as you are surrounded by an eclectic mix of bird song, squarks and other animal noises that you could spend days trying to identify. Luckily there is a naturalist on site to assist the more inquisitive. You really do feel as if you have just arrived in the middle of the jungle.

The accommodation is great, very rustic and natural but combined with comfort. However this is essentially an eco resort so do not expect large showers with endless water pressure, it is 'luxurious' within its context.

The Sri Lanka food at TOC is delicious and the chef and staff are very helpful in explaining the dishes and even the process for cooking them.

But the best thing of all is the service and the friendliness of all the staff. They all complete the experience and make it a really enjoyable stay.

Thank you team TOC!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank robinhutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

The Other Corner offers a very different experience to most places in Sri Lanka. It is a combination of being at one with nature and doing it with comfort and style. The latter does not detract from the former; it enhances it. By being comfortable you appreciate the quiet; the flora and fauna and the animals; well may be not the peacocks shrilling in the early hours but they are wild so not controllable.

The cabins are made of mud, wood and palm fronds, but they are also air conditioned with hot and cold water, electricity and Wi-Fi. The beds are comfortable and the facilities good. The cabins are all different and spaced out around the property with a central eating area.

The team are all willing and helpful and essentially prepare food to order. Naturally local food wins over western food every time. Beer and wine are the only alcohol beverages served so if you want something stronger take your own.

We had a jeep safari into Kauduala Park to see the elephants. We had a really good and experienced guide/driver provide by TOC which meant we saw around 400 elephants. Stunning way to spend the afternoon.

So if you want a break from the usual tourist route of hotels and sights; want to be a bit closer to nature and experience something different a few nights here will do the trick. There are not that many guest rooms so numbers make it very manageable for the team to ensure you are well cared for. The lack of TV and radio is also a welcome break from the hurly burly of life. There is always Wi-Fi to stop you having a complete withdrawal from the 21st Century.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank fedupphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOtherC0rner, Owner at The Other Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thanks so much for talking your time to place your experience/ review about 'The Other Corner' (TOC), Habarana on TripAdvisor. We sincerely hope you will viisit us again soon and also recommend TOC among your family & friends.
Wishing you and all your loved ones 'Merry Xmas & Happy New Year 2017'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on our tour through Sri Lanka. Very nice with great cabins in a Beautiful setting. The area is like a park, removed from the main road. The food in the restaurant was actually very good and the staff was very friendly and attentive. Would definitely go again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We stayed at this place for two nights during our tour around Sri Lanka and we're very happy we have chosen this place. Rooms are made to look like individual little cottages you see in Sri Lankan villages from outside with all the modern facilities inside including hot water and air conditioning. Very comfortable place to stay and the garden surrounding these cottages are clean very well maintained. Staff are very attentive and polite. Always happy to assist the guests. Food served in the restaurant is very tasty. Tourist attractions like Sigiriya, Pidurangala and Dambulla Rock temple are not far from this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Subagaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOtherC0rner, Owner at The Other Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future . Warm regards , Team TOC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
1 km away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
0.8 km away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Habarana
67 reviews
12.5 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,732 reviews
0.9 km away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
5.6 km away
Galkadawala Forest Lodge
Galkadawala Forest Lodge
#2 of 57 in Habarana
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Other Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Other Corner

Address: Anuradhapura Road | Laksirigama, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Habarana
Price Range: $117 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Other Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within 172Kms, about 4 hours drive from Colombo towards North Central of Sri Lanka, 'The Other Corner' is a place of rare beauty and tranquility. The picturesque Eco Resort is located within easy reach of National Parks, Historic Sites, Cultural Triangle and best beached in Sri Lanka. The Other Corner is an ideal layaway for tourists and naturalists, photographers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Other Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing