We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spacious place on good location”
Review of The Other Corner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Other Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Great spacious place with only a few bungalows, so loads of space for each. Nice bungalows with very big bed and nice bathroom. Very friendly people. Restaurant has good local food, the international food is okay. Perfect location for many sights in the area.

Room Tip: all rooms look nice from what we've seen
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank paukasven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017

Loved my stay during my tour of Sri Lanka. The room was comfortable, the service was amazing, and the food served at the restaurant was spectacular. I would recommend it to everyone who is looking for a fun and relaxing stay in Sri Lanka to visit The Other Corner Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neosaybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

This is a real hideaway in the center of Sri Lanka, close to the cultural and historic places of interest of the island. such an amazing place, with individual houses, treehouses and so on. You're staying there in a kind of jungle, or better a park! We were there in June 2017 for two nights, and we regret it was such a short time! We'd loved to stay longer in this amazing small resort, and we'll come back for sure! There are many monkeys romping around, and such a great and different world of birds.
We made a birdwatching tour with Dhilib, an experienced and friendly scientist, who works there. Don't miss joining Dhilib at his morning tour! We will never forget. By the way: We watched more than 34 kinds of exotic birds - we also saw a crocodile. More than four meters long and looking very dangerous, but in a good distance.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Axel Carsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We loved this place because we had a magnificent walk with the naturalist from the hotel Dhilip De Alwis. He manages to tell you a lot about nature in Sri Lanka and local stories. Interesting guide! As a bird lover, this place was absolutely beautiful, you can see a lot of birds, and other animals and Dhilip told with such passion, I loved it. He is also a fantastic photographer, and I keep on following him on social media because of the beautiful pictures. Highlight of this place!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VeerleM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 night on route from Colombo to Trincomalee to be centrally located to see the sights.

We loved The Other Corner, it's a little oasis which is quirky and quaint. The staff were lovely, the food was good but the ambiance of the whole place was the main plus point.

We stayed in a stilted cabin which was very comfortable.

We had an interesting nature walk around the adjoining lake with the resident naturalist which was very enjoyable.

Great location, a bit different and peaceful. A few areas were a bit faded and needed a repair (paving close to pool, shelf above sink etc) but it's rustic!

Happy to recommend

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RayH301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
1 km away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
0.8 km away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Habarana
67 reviews
22.3 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,532 reviews
0.9 km away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
5.6 km away
Galkadawala Forest Lodge
Galkadawala Forest Lodge
#2 of 55 in Habarana
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Other Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Other Corner

Address: Anuradhapura Road | Laksirigama, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Habarana
Price Range: $119 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Other Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within 172Kms, about 4 hours drive from Colombo towards North Central of Sri Lanka, 'The Other Corner' is a place of rare beauty and tranquility. The picturesque Eco Resort is located within easy reach of National Parks, Historic Sites, Cultural Triangle and best beached in Sri Lanka. The Other Corner is an ideal layaway for tourists and naturalists, photographers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Other Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing