We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Secret Visit By A Generous Spy at the Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chingola
Reviewed 21 July 2017

It was one of those busy days and I decided to just spy on the facility for a possible weekend with my wife. It was not a disappointing visit! Guess who I met at the reception desk? It was a fine lady by the name of Gina! I had a wonderful chart with her about the hotel. Its a marvelous place worth staying for a weekend or simply for a holiday.
Hey money, I am commanding you to come to me now! I have a secret appointment with Protea Hotel-Chingola!

Room Tip: Quite environment near the civic center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulmumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Paulmumba,

Thank you for your compliments regarding our hotel. We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Gina in particular are highly valued and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated her for doing such an outstanding job.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison Hart
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott® Chingola

T: +260 212 312810 | F: +260 212 313510
E: gm@phchingola.co.zm
W: proteahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

Okay this is the protea I do not like ,the rooms are very old. Charging too much money for the service they give. This hotel need a big face lift in all the rooms .bathroom very old too. Free Wi-Fi is always welcome to me that's all .

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bush o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Bush O,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience is viewed in a serious light. We confirm therefore that your comments have been forwarded to the relevant management and STAFF.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best and we look forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Alison Hart
General Manager
Protea Hotel By Marriott Chingola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

I have been traveling to Africa on a regular basis for many years and have found that many of the hotels in Africa start off well and then slowly deteriorate as they get older.
I have not been to Chingola for 5 years or so and expected the same from the Protea in Chingola.

It is not the most modern hotel in Zambia however the rooms and facilities are more than adequate and the staff are extremely helpful and could not do enough for us.

More than sufficient for what we needed.

Thank you

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mosiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Mosiman,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding our extremely helpful STAFF and we will certainly congratulate them for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison Hart
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott® Chingola



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The staff here were all very warm and welcoming, regularly checking up on us to see if everything was ok. This was a work trip and so it was conveniently located to the town center. Spacious, clean rooms and a nice outdoor dining area.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClemL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the warm and welcoming STAFF and the clean rooms. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for their exemplary service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Khetiwe Chiumya Puta
Marketing and Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I have stayed at the Chingola Protea Hotel a few times now and have always had a fairly pleasant stay. Friendly staff, secure parking, smallish swimming pool – I’ve never seen anyone use it.
The room is modern with an average size flat screen TV, selected cable channels, tea & coffee facilities, small bar fridge. Bathroom has a separate shower with reasonable water pressure.
Breakfast was your standard hotel fair. We ate our dinner in the restaurant and I can highly recommend a rump steak with inshima, gravy (tomato & onion) and relish.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Graeme,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the friendly STAFF and conducive services and facilities offered at our hotel.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,
Alison Hart.
Protea Hotel Chingola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chingola
0.0 km away
Protea Hotel Ndola
Protea Hotel Ndola
#2 of 4 in Ndola
29 reviews
0.0 km away
Icon Hotel
Icon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chingola
23 reviews
0.0 km away
Nobutula Lodge
Nobutula Lodge
#5 of 23 in Kitwe
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mokorro Hotel
Mokorro Hotel
#2 of 6 in Chingola
19 reviews
0.0 km away
Samfred Garden Lodge
Samfred Garden Lodge
#1 of 6 in Chingola
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola

Address: Kabundi Road, Chingola 50100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Copperbelt Province > Chingola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chingola
Price Range: $129 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Chingola - Affordable Luxury in the heart of Zambia's Copperbelt. Chingola, the most picturesque of the Copperbelt towns, is where Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Chingola offers a choice of 40 well-appointed, air-conditioned and en-suite rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, telephone, DSTV and free wireless internet access. The Restaurant offers a mouth-watering selection of meals, while the pub has a delightful variety of cocktails and drinks for a relaxed social get-together. After a long day, you can unwind and relax over sundowners on the terrace, next to the swimming pool. Conference and banqueting facilities are available for up to 120 delegates, while the gardens make an ideal venue for weddings, private parties and banquets.Sport and leisure activities include golf, fishing and swimming. The Business Centre will help with all office and secretarial services that the international businessman may require. Travel arrangements and car hire can be arranged at Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing