We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mokorro Hotel(Chingola)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icon Hotel(Chingola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Emerald Lodge(Chingola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Nsumi Lodge(Chingola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
5
19
14
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
19
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat servicevarietykitchenzambiamealsfacilitiesfacility
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Okay this is the protea I do not like ,the rooms are very old. Charging too much money for the service they give. This hotel need a big face lift in all the rooms .bathroom very old too. Free Wi-Fi is always welcome to me that's all .

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bush o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Bush O,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience is viewed in a serious light. We confirm therefore that your comments have been forwarded to the relevant management and STAFF.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best and we look forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Alison Hart
General Manager
Protea Hotel By Marriott Chingola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

I have been traveling to Africa on a regular basis for many years and have found that many of the hotels in Africa start off well and then slowly deteriorate as they get older.
I have not been to Chingola for 5 years or so and expected the same from the Protea in Chingola.

It is not the most modern hotel in Zambia however the rooms and facilities are more than adequate and the staff are extremely helpful and could not do enough for us.

More than sufficient for what we needed.

Thank you

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mosiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Mosiman,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding our extremely helpful STAFF and we will certainly congratulate them for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison Hart
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott® Chingola



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The staff here were all very warm and welcoming, regularly checking up on us to see if everything was ok. This was a work trip and so it was conveniently located to the town center. Spacious, clean rooms and a nice outdoor dining area.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClemL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the warm and welcoming STAFF and the clean rooms. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for their exemplary service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Khetiwe Chiumya Puta
Marketing and Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I have stayed at the Chingola Protea Hotel a few times now and have always had a fairly pleasant stay. Friendly staff, secure parking, smallish swimming pool – I’ve never seen anyone use it.
The room is modern with an average size flat screen TV, selected cable channels, tea & coffee facilities, small bar fridge. Bathroom has a separate shower with reasonable water pressure.
Breakfast was your standard hotel fair. We ate our dinner in the restaurant and I can highly recommend a rump steak with inshima, gravy (tomato & onion) and relish.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Graeme,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the friendly STAFF and conducive services and facilities offered at our hotel.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,
Alison Hart.
Protea Hotel Chingola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

I took my parents to Protea Hotel for dinner, the food was excellent. There was a good choice on the menu. The waiting staff were polite, professional and attentive. The steak I had for my main course was perfectly cooked, tender and very tasty. The meal was good value for money. Overall a pleasant experience.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank berginhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Dear Mr Berginhart,

Thank you for your compliments regarding the excellent food that you had in our restaurant. Please be assured that we will congratulate our Food and Beverage department for their exemplary service!

Thank you for choosing to dine at Protea Hotel Chingola.

Kind regards,

Alison H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews