We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening meal.”
Review of Le Marsala

Le Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$35
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Sort this place out due to good reviews on here.

Firstly if driving and following sat nav, it takes you to the correct street but ends right outside a load of houses. Follow the road until you see a fork in the road, take the left hand fork, La Marsala is right at the end.

The menu is predominately Pizza, 3 of us had different pizza's all very nice made with fresh ingredients. One person had the Entracote steak which was also very well cooked.

We sat on the veranda which overlooks the river.

Staff were friendly and accomodating.

This places isn't anything spectacular but delivered everything we expected, its location if very pretty as well!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyArthurette, Propriétaire at Le Marsala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Hello Dom P, Many thanks for your review. Hope to see you again :)
Adeline & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Scoring the number 2 spot in this village, we went here for an alternative to the camping restaurant. Menu contains pizza, salads, steak and a local dish (Andouilles). The scope of the menu was a bit disappointing, would have liked a few more meat (or fish) options besides the long list of pizza's. Taste of the pizza and andouilles/chitterling was good though.

Kids were very welcome, there is a corner for them to play. Be sure to book a terrace table!

Thank Jelavos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyArthurette, Propriétaire at Le Marsala, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

hello Jelavos,
Thank you for your comment. We do not have the kitchen to cook fish so we only have smoked salmon a la carte. Our restaurant specializes in pizza, we have some meats but little.
We do our best to accomodate the children :)
And Yes, It is necessary to book a table during summer and weekends especially if you want to eat outside :)
See you soon

The Marsala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We were taken here by our friends who had visited before on more than one occasion. The chief waitress/owner? was very friendly to all and even took time out to explain the difference between 'chute' and 'tomber' to my friend. The younger waitress was trying out her English and making a very good job of it with much smiling. My friends pizza came ready cut up as he requested as he had a nasty injury to his finger which meant he couldn't cut easily with a knife.
It was very hot when we got there and a fan was procured to try to get the air moving, thoughtful, as it needed an extension lead too. We were out on the terrace but with air temperature above 30 degrees it was
The food came promptly and the Pizzas were of good quality a smoked salmon salad was very tasty with lots of smoked salmon. Our desserts were all ice cream so that takes no skill really. It was nice to see that the water jug was replaced without asking twice.
I would certainly recommend a visit here and will return soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyArthurette, Gérant at Le Marsala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hello, and Thanks Jim ! It is so lovely to receive your nice comments,
Really glad you had such a wonderful time with your friends.
Come back soon
Adeline and her team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We had a great Salad with Camembert cheese, Tasty Pizzas and excellent French red wine. Soup it was not in our taste but Creme Brulee was fantastic.
The lady who served us was friendly and professional. Overall a great dinner at a reasonable price.

Thank Evangelos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyArthurette, Gérant at Le Marsala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Hello Evangelos, Thank you very much for your review. We spent a really good time with you and yours friends. :)
Hope to see you again one day !
Adeline (the lady who served you ) & my entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The terrace is the only place to eat - the interior is fairly horrid and very hot in the summer: you will probably need to book to get a table on the terrace.
The pizzas are great, although all of ours had a fair amount of burning on the edges which somewhat detracted from the taste - and we noticed that others had the same burnt edges as well. The salads are awesome, but other than that there's not much on the menu. Very family/child friendly, and for a change in France, the terrace is non-smoking, which was a real boon.

Thank ralphblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyArthurette, Gérant at Le Marsala, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you very much for your review. This summer was our first summer in this new place (the restaurant opened last december). The temperature in the room was very hot and we didn't have air conditionning just few fans. We order a big one for the next summer !! :)
Yes, you need to book early a table to eat on the terrace, because we have only 40 seats (20 in the no smoking area).
For the egde of our pizzas it was also a consequence of the heat.. The pasta for the pizza was dry (so easy to burn) because not enough humidity on the air... everything was extreme this night. We are sorry about that. We notice that you appreciate our attitude with children :)
Thanks
Hope to see you again.
Adeline & my staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Marsala also viewed

La Roche-Posay, Vienne
La Roche-Posay, Vienne
 
La Roche-Posay, Vienne
 
Yzeures-sur-Creuse, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to Le Marsala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing