We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great informative tours with flexible accommodations!

Well managed tour company with very informative staff who have a passion for whale watching with... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
michael11k
Intimate whale watching tour

Great whale watching trip, we saw a large humpback whale up close. Laki is the only whale watching... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2021
Nils R
,
Lausanne
Read all 523 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Grundarfjorour
from US$134.00
More Info
from US$128.63
More Info
from US$164.03
More Info
from US$156.00
More Info
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
423
61
17
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
423
61
17
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching minke whales boat trip small boat crew wildlife olafsvik sea weather suits proof
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2019

We met two people who told us about this place in Holmavic where you can do a whale watching tour. Two days ago we joined a tour in Husavic and unfortunately, we haven‘t been that lucky because we only saw one single whale. Joining the tour from LakiTours in Holmavic was the best decision we made for days. Even though the weather wasn‘t that good and it was pretty cold, we enjoyed it very much. While watching all the whales around you, you totally forget about the weather. We‘ve never seen whales so close befor! One of the best things we‘ve done on our two-week vacation.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 11ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Amazing Whale watching in Holmavik. In more famous spots are always many boats around the whales. Here you are alone! On the lovely boat we received good informations about whales and we saw many Humpback Whales very close to the boat. Best Whale watching so far!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank PascalG2143
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2019

We took the Laki Tour whale watching tour from Olafsvik. They rode us around for over 3 hours and we only saw 4-5 dolphins. As we came close to 3 hours, they said they had spotted a Minke whale and it should reappear in 1 minute after a deep-dive. No whale showed up.

We came back to Reykjavik and another whale watching tour had said the exact same thing towards the end of their tour.

This thing is a scam.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank sid s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisli Ó, Owner at Laki Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. Sorry to hear that our tour did not meet your expectations. Our tours involve wild animals and therefore it is impossible to predict or guarantee sightings of any kind.

Minke whales are fast swimmers and often change direction under the water surface. It seems this whale chose not to stay around long and it is unfortunate that you missed it.

We all love what we do and we work always hard to show our passengers the amazing whales in our bay. There is definitely no need for us to lie to our customers. We hope you still enjoyed the dolphins on our tour.

All the best
Team Láki Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

We just came back from a whale watching cruise with Judith the guide,it was amazing,it’s inside of a fjord so the water calm,saw many whales and received a lot of information,I would highly recommend,in particular when traveling with young kids. Thank you!!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank poofys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2019 via mobile

We booked lakí tours, aware of the risk of not spotting any whales, but thought that we’d get a nice trip from it. Within 10 minutes we spotted the first humpback whale! 40 minutes in, a pod of 6 humpback whales appeared! We were surrounded by beautiful whales and it was absolutely amazing. Judith was an excellent guide and the captain was great too. We got really, really lucky, so remember that it’s not the whales’ or the staff’s fault, if there’s a whale no-show. As Judith said “it’s nature, it’s wildlife”, nobody can control the whales. But we got so lucky, so do yourself a favour and book a tour. We took the tour from Hólmavík.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Celmeskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews