We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
Pod Site
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pod Site
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Pod Site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dufftown, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Webby1873
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Recently had a 2 night stay here with my wife and son. The pods are great,very comfortable and cosy, in a lovely setting. The owners were very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this place and will certainly return sometime. Maybe when the weathers warmer so we can appreciate the fire pit out the front of the pod

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review, we really appreciate it. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for recommending us. Look forward to seeing you again. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanCRich...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really cosy "glamping" , excellent location”
Reviewed 1 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Had a weekend here last week. Really cosy "pod" with underfloor heating, wifi and hot showers. Excellent location 10 mins walk into the centre of Dufftown (where there are an excellent range of food and whisky options) , 30 mins drive to the Lecht (where we had snowboarding and skiing). Really friendly hosts, stunning views down the valley (there was even a pheasant walking around the front of the pod on the first morning). Lovely

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review, and we are happy to hear that you managed to experience so much during your stay. Hope to see you again! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
902310K
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous getaway”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in February 2018 for 2 nights. The pod had everything we needed for a family of four. My kids (age 8 & 11) loved it & it didn’t feel too cramped. Being Scotland we experienced all weather and the pod was very cosy. The owners have thought of everything, even forks to toast your marshmallows on the fire pit! Great fun .....
Would definitely recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our pods, It's great to get such positive feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we are doing right. Hopefully see you you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brody T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab chilled weekend!”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a 2 night stay for the weekend for my partners birthday, with two kids and a dog we weren’t sure what to expect but we all had a fab time. Everything has been thought of to make the stay as nice and relaxed as possible and the location was perfect, we had a great view of Dufftown from the smugglers retreat pod! Brian the owner was really helpful, he showed us around the pod when we checked in and made sure we knew where everything was, he also offered to provide information on nearby places to go with the kids and where to eat. Would definitely recommend for those looking for a luxury ‘camping’ experience minus the hassle of tents! Much better option than a B&B and in a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Smugglers Retreat.
Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it, and it's good to know that we are getting things right. Hope to see you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sneezy51
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smugglers Retreat”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I returned home from a 2 night stay with my daugther and we loved it! All we wanted was to chill out over the mid term break. These pods are immaculate and it was like a home from home, everything you needed for a comfortable stay: from shampoo, soap, towels, tea, coffee, milk to toilet roll. The underfloor heating was great and we were never cold even though it was snowing and windy outside, there was also wi-fi too, so my daughter was never bored in the evenings.
Highly recommend and we will be back! Good Luck with everything and huge thanks again. x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for your positive review, and we are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. Look forward to seeing you again. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing