We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
51
41
21
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
51
41
21
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews touring caravan indian restaurant chip shop swimming pool bowling alley mini golf rocky beach touring field static caravan lovely site severn estuary lovely week big portions weekend break coastal path hot water stayed here for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2020

We bring our vintage caravan yearly in summer as my children adore Fontygary, I was hesitant this year as I thought due to restrictions we'd have no fun but that's not the case. Over at the Shoreway bar things have obviously changed but it's still pleasant. For the time being you must enter track & trace details on arrival and cannot sit in the main bar however the terrace is lovely as ever and the function room next door available if it rains. Staff cheerful as usual. We've been eating our meals at the Fontygary Inn over the rd as we prefer the food there but often pop to shoreway for drinks. We have bowling booked in also.
We went yesterday for a long walk down to Aberthawe nature reserve, you reach it by taking the coastal path right to the end of the static vans you will reach stairs down to the shore. There is an old mill with freshwater lake, it had swans and we saw a heron. Very beautiful. If you take the cliff path from Fontygary beach steps in the opposite direction you will reach Rhoose point where there are fossils to be found!
I've seen other people complaining in reviews that fonty beach is rocky...well yes it is because that is the way this part of the coast has developed, with huge rock striations. I don't see what Fontygary park are supposed to do , if you don't like it perhaps do some research on the area before leaving home, just a thought !
We always book pitch 14 ...it's spacious and relatively near the showers . Everyone on touring pitch this yr is pleasant and considerate, last yr we had issues be with loads of noisy kids hanging about in toilet block till midnight. Showers need updating but they do give as much hot water as you need, perfect temp. Loos clean. The lady comes frequently to clean them.
Chippy under railway bridge is nice too.
All in all Fonty is still a nice getaway despite any restrictions.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank A9998KNsarahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2020

I booked the bowling alley for my sons 6th birthday with family and was worried as with the current pandemic I could not reserve a table for food afterwards.
When we arrived the staff were amazing, they had all social distancing measurements in place and went above and beyond to make sure we were accommodated.
The manager set aside a table for us and made sure all needs were met.
The manager is a credit to this place and the food was fab and the staff were all lovely.
A big thank you for making my sons day! Fab time had by all.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NikkiJH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2020

We were booked in to stay for 3 nights at the touring park. On arrival the grounds looked good and a decent space between each pitch however, it is impossible to peg an awning in as underneath the grass is plastic tiles. We decided to go down the beach and were disappointed that it was a rocky beach and not much sand, which wasn’t suitable for our children especially our 2 year old. The toilet areas were reasonable but could have been cleaned more regularly considering the current climate. The showers were an ok size but you weren’t able to control the temperature of the shower which on a day with 33 degree temperatures wasn’t ideal. We went to the bar/restaurant which was facing the seaside and it was lovely area however when we went to order food were were told that they decided to stop serving food even though it wasn’t the time stated on the menu. We also noticed that they weren’t serving food on plates but in polystyrene containers. We did go to the Indian restaurant on site and this was really delicious, the service was excellent and the staff were really friendly. When we returned to our van on the first night we had neighbours which decided to have a bbq at 10 o’clock night, which they located closer to our van than there own, this filled our van with our smoke. We did notice that there was no rules in place on site, music playing loudly etc (although it does state in your order summary). Unfortunately we will not be visiting the park anytime soon. We decided to leave on the first night as it was not for us.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank V2092VNjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2020

Don’t bother with the touring park. Its clientele are basically limited individuals who think that a good time can only be had if it in involves alcohol, chips and curry. The pitches are limited and poorly designed. Toilet block is ok but only cleaned once a day at 9am...poor in Covid times,
No pool or bowling but still paying the same rate. No beach, just wave cut platforms. I cannot believe the other reviews

Room tip: Best advice- don’t go if your IQ is above 90
Date of stay: August 2020
Thank davetrotteredl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2020

Me and my family went to Shoreway for food, and it was amazing! The staff we very welcoming and friendly and were always around for help. The food was good too! Big portions and good value for money .

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank David_Maughan0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews