We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
51
41
21
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
51
41
21
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews touring caravan indian restaurant chip shop swimming pool bowling alley mini golf rocky beach touring field static caravan lovely site severn estuary lovely week big portions weekend break coastal path hot water stayed here for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2021

We have never visited a worse site than here! The touring caravans are crammed in so tightly you can hear the baby's screaming and people snoring from neighbouring caravans! The barrier never works so after waiting 20 minutes anyone is let in. The swimming pool was changed to 1 adult to 1 child rule so when we went to go our 16 year old wasn't allowed to supervise a 14 year old! The family entertainment was cancelled so we had to watch the adult entertainment which was fine until a woman drank way to much and started fondling the singer and the staff! And then continued to be sick in the barside bin! In the waste room there is toilet waste in the sink and all over the floor! And nobody wants to hear anything you have to say! This is not a family site, you have to pay extra for swimming and crazy golf is £28! A total rip off! DO NOT VISIT!!!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Bongo111086
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Rented caravan from 28th June for 7 nights, beautiful and clean. Very impressed with the site, well kept grounds and gardens. Indian takeaway & chip shop were very good as was Fontygary Pub just outside of the entrance to site. Rhoose itself was lovely. Would definitely return

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank carole0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2021

Just back from a weekend in Fontygary Leisure Park. We booked as a large group with 4 campers. The site itself is lovely- the fields are well maintained and water supplies are shared between two pitches, so it’s handy not having to trek to water. The touring field isn’t particularly big, so you are very close to the toilet and shower block regardless of where you pitch. The pitches are very tight. We had a campervan with a small awning on the side. I parked tight to the pitch boundary but the guidelines on our awning went to the other boundary so not really much room to sit outside.
The toilet and shower block is relatively small so often saw people waiting for a shower to come free but the showers were hot and had good pressure. The toilets were individual cubicles with basins. The block was cleaned every morning but unfortunately by the end of the day were not appealing- dirty and people seemed to just urinate everywhere- I really felt sorry for the cleaners the next day.
The shoreline bar was lovely. We ate there for the three days- the view was beautiful and food tasty and well priced. Beer was good too. Bit of a pain ordering on the app and only being able to pay with PayPal but inside they allowed some to order and pay with staff. Staff worked hard on a very busy weekend but we never experienced delays with drinks or food. The playground was excellent also, and kids enjoyed it along with some crazy golf. Direct access onto the pebble beach was a plus, especially for the dogs who needed to cool down in the sea! It’s a rocky beach but lots of swimmers and paddle boards out.
The main issue for us was the other people on the site. Apart from leaving the facilities in a state every day, loud music seemed to go on until 2-3am every night. Kids were circling the toilet block at midnight on bikes banging and kicking toilet doors every time someone went in to use the loo. Swearing could be heard all day and The music just seemed to go on all night, from several pitches across the site. We also had to intervene in a nasty domestic abuse incident between a husband and wife, which left our kids frightened while trying to go to sleep.
The site is lovely, facilities are excellent, but unfortunately the people that use the site really let it down and for us, would discourage us from going back- potentially until foreign travel opens up and they all go abroad again!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2021

We came here on Monday to have a quiet retreat from our busy pub in derby. We just wanted to chill and have early nights .today we'd a touring caravan 100 yards away been laying loud boomboo.music for two hours. When I rang reception a man said he have a word this was at 9p m 15 min later stil going off. He said because it's before 10 it's ok . So I said I can at music loud all day ,and he said no so why are these people allowed .still going off now

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 450trevorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2021

We returned to Fontagary Park 40 years after spending our honeymoon there back in 1981.
My wife and I were interested to see how the park had progressed to the current time, and were pleased to report that it is looking and performing better than ever.
We stayed a full week to enjoy the surroundings, and left on the final day after purchasing a brand new static caravan on the site, and committing to the next 12 years as residents.
Most of the negative comments made with regard to the park refer to the travelling caravan area and facilities, and no way describes our experience within the main static site.
We look forward to spending the coming years at this tremendous park.

Room tip: Most of the comments applied to a HOTEL ..... this is a CARAVAN PARK!!
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil-Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews