We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Grand Slam - Punta Allen, You'll be back”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Allen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fisherman Fishing Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Reviewed 20 June 2009

This was our first trip to the Yucutan and we decided to stay at Club Grand Slam (www.clubgrandslam.com), operated and owned by Capt Greg Rahe and his wife Lupida.

Club Grand Slam is situated in the beautiful Sian Ka’an reserve in the small town Punta Allen.

Their beautiful lodge offers very comfortable accommodation with excellent food expertly prepared by chef Lupida !. I am sure we both added 10 pounds to our weight in 10 days ! The lodge offers very good value for money.

Capt Greg Rahe is an excellent guide that will go the extra mile to put his clients on their preferred species, his thourough knowledge of the area comes in very handy when you want to target specific species.

After fishing vary diverse areas in Africa, Seychelles to the Florida Keys I honestly rate this as one of my top areas to fish, combining this with the hospitality you will find from Greg and Lupida I can honestly say that this is a must visit venue...and once visited I am sure you will be back !

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pisces54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2009

This was my first fly fishing trip outside the Turks and Caicos and the flats fishing at Club Grand Slam far surpassed anything I have experienced. If it wasn't for my inability to judge distances, I would have landed 2 grand slams; if I did manage to land the slam it would have been thanks to Greg and the guides for excellent instruction. The only thing that topped the fishing was Lupita's cooking; words can do no justice. Thanks again Lupita and Greg!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonefishsleeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

I live in Montana on a private spring creek, and I've been fly fishing for over 45 years. I am horribly spoiled by this, and I can also afford to fish anywhere in the world, and I have (thanks to a lot of good luck and a bit of hard work). I especially love flats fishing.

I found Club Grand Slam a few years ago. Now I go back every year. I am going again in April 2009 and then again in June. This is the best fishing outfit I have ever found, and I can't say enough about it. It is simply THE BEST flats fishing there is. Period. Bonefish by the thousands, permit all over the place (and BIG ones), tarpon and snook that even a blind man could catch - all together in one place. Just amazing!

I am referring my friends there all the time now, and they are all thanking me and sending their friends. You just can't do better. The prices, location, accommodations, food, guides, and hospitality are a dream come true.

Go now before it is discovered by everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveTheSlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Club Grand Slam proprietors Greg and Lupita were beyond wonderful to us on our vacation to Punta Allen. Our room (two rooms really) was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The shower was hot (& lots of water pressure!) and the AC kept the place cool. And, please, do yourself a favor when you stay at Club Grand Slam; include meals in the package! Lupita is an amazing cook and the portions are huge. Her cuisine is fresh and Mayan; and the garden where meals are served is absolutely lovely.

Believe it our not, we didn't come for the bone fishing but found plenty to do on our own. The nearby swimming, beach combing, and snorkeling opportunities are incredible. Greg showed us miles and miles of deserted beaches and pointed out the good snorkeling spots. There is also a nice jungle hike you can take through the Sian Kahn Biosphere; the trailhead is only minutes away from their place.

Punta Allen is a nice little enclave worth visiting. The people are very friendly and you definitely won't see hordes of tourists. We spent a nice day just walking around town. Make sure you watch the sunset over Laguna Negra from the pier and viewing palapa the town recently built ( and don't forget to bring a bottle of wine).

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brazilbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

A fantastic fly fishing experience with guides Fransisco and William. These local fishermen have been guiding for years in Ascension Bay and are very knowledgable not to mention they know all the best spots around. Even for the rookie fly fisher that I am (first timer) I reeled in Bone fish every day we were out - over twenty on my last day.

Accomodations provided by owner, fly fishing instructor and guide, Greg, and his wife, Lupita were always clean and comfortable. We had all the basic comforts of home including A/C. The only exception was television. But who the hell wants to sit in front of that brain drain when life is this good! The beach is just a short jaunt down the street and a small market a few blocks away. The late afternoon downtimes were great for reading or napping and cleaning gear before supper was served.

Lupita cooked generous portions of the most delicious authentic Mexican food for breakfast and dinner. There was always variety and lots of TLC. Meals were served in their private garden just around the corner from our room. She also prepared us sack lunches for the day of fishing. We never went hungry.

Its a long drive to the small fishing village of Punta Allen but the road is well maintained. I liked the feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle of life in this relaxed atmosphere. I'm going back in a few months and really looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BozemanJewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
36.3 km away
Hotel MangleX
Hotel MangleX
#72 of 101 in Tulum
55 reviews
38 km away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#15 of 101 in Tulum
392 reviews
39.3 km away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
923 reviews
37.6 km away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
479 reviews
37.3 km away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 101 in Tulum
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman Fishing Lodge

Address: Beach Side Drive 1, Punta Allen 77768, Mexico (Formerly Club Grand Slam)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Price Range: $360 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Allen’s top ranked lodging and dining for anglers and adventurers. Catering to travelers who want modern accommodations and outstanding dining while still experiencing the beauty of the Sian Ka’an Biosphere. Rooms include all the creature comforts, including A/C and lots of personal attention. Private beach and fresh water swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Grand Slam Hotel Punta Allen
Hotel Grand Slam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing