We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Njaya Lodge(Nkhata Bay)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$52
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Makuzi Beach Lodge(Chintheche)
US$300
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
179
13
0
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
13
0
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonlake malawiplunge poolevery mealbarefoot luxurylocal womenquad bike tourdive masterthank you very muchbird lifehope to return soonsound of the wavesvery special placefell in lovestunning locationmain areaparadise on earth
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We travelled to Kaya Maya from Zambia after 10 days safari. We actually stayed in Ndomo House which is a private house but attached to the resort (perfect for families though if you want interaction with other guests you should book into the main resort). It was absolutely wonderful. The house is beautiful, quirky, chic and very comfortable. The staff were fabulous (Christina and her wonderful cooking, Wilson and Pete who took all our requests in their stride and sorted out all our activities, the security guys and the lovely ladies who came in and cleaned - also Becky and Josh at the main resort who helped us out with all our logistics and questions). All of the staff were so friendly and happy to help us out with anything. The real positive of this place was actually the thing I was most concerned about when booking - that it is on a lake so would it be a real beach holiday? Well I need not have worried - the fact it is fresh water makes swimming a real delight (especially first thing in the morning off the jetty). We also snorkelled, kayaked and the kids had water ski lessons (and were rather good by the end although they gave up on wake boarding which was way too difficult!). We went in the boat around the island on one of the days which was really worth doing. Christina packed us a delicious picnic and we visited the amazing cathedral and got a feel for what happens on the island (as well as how incredibly close it is to Mozambique). We spent a little time at Kaya Maya itself as well - and had dinner on the beach on a night when Wilson's choir came and sang to the guests - how wonderful! I also had a massage with the lovely Ash in a little tent on an island attached to the resort by a rope bridge - it was so relaxing that I very nearly fell asleep to the sound of the waves! I would definitely recommend a trip to Suzie's textiles workshop where local people are employed to make beautiful furniture, furnishings and clothes putting money into the local economy. Our last night we had dinner sitting on rugs and cushions on the beach with candles and a fire. It was really fabulous - I wish I was still there! Oh and you read a lot about bilharzia when you google Lake Malawi - not a concern at Kaya Maya.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldfishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon... It takes you back in ages... The most laid back place... Everything from the welcome to the departure is taken care of.. The managers show you around and let you be..

We requested a room change since we had booked a private island room mistaking it to have a pool... The managers happily changed the room to ngani... The rooms are beautiful... Right on the lake.. Stunning views... The bar is superbly located ...

The dinner is SPECTACULAR !!! Actually all the meals are superb..but the 3 course dinner on the beach deserves a special mention... Amazingly done food ... We are vegetarians and we loved every single meal :-) :-)

Lots of things to do for those who want to... Quad biking.. Kayaking.. Sailing.. We did them and were really impressed with the arrangement, friendliness of the staff! Special mention : Martin for the awesome coffee :)

We also had tea prepared to our liking (we are Indians and they managed to make lovely Indian tea) thanks Michelle :-)

Would love to visit again...!!!

Room Tip: Premier rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themanfromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Others have well described the virtues of this place which are numerous. It is an exceptionally beautiful setting and they do everything possible to make one's stay special. Each room has its own snorkeling equipment, which was of high quality and in excellent condition, and sea kayaking and sailing are available for free. The food is excellent, and the lake itself beautiful and great for snorkeling. I could go on extolling their virtues but others have already done so, but I'll add a cautionary note. Several of the rooms are only reachable by climbing quite steep and uneven rocky steps. Another couple in the adjacent room had real difficulties getting to and from their room. Also our room's toilet was set on unsculpted and uneven rocks making footing challenging. These rooms are also clearly designed for intimate couples; the two units I saw offered no privacy for one showering.

But if those are not obstacles, I highly recommend Kaya Mawa.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We've just come back from Kaya Mawa where we spent the second week of our honeymoon and I can honestly say that it is the most amazing place we've ever stayed. Likoma island is so far removed from your day to day and Kaya Mawa really did cater for our every need during the stay. We stayed in room Ngani which was beautiful and to be honest with direct access to the lake, snorkelling equipment at the ready, an infinity pool and terrace we wouldn't have needed to leave our lodge.....were it not for gorgeous three course dinners at a different table every night on the beach under the stars, (the food really is extremely high quality!) diving, massages, sunset boat trips etc..... We loved it and want to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We have just returned from spending 4 wonderful days at Kaya Mawa. Everything, from arrival to departure, was amazing. The Managers and staff were faultless - there when you needed them, but not intrusive, and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The rooms were beautiful - tastefully decorated, comfortable and in total harmony with the surroundings. We had several treatments at the Kaya Mawa Spa, which were all heavenly and performed by a lovely, professional therapist.

The food was out of this world, and I continue to be in awe of how the chef prepares and serves such world class cuisine on a remote African island!

All in all a magical stay, and I am already planning our next trip there! Thank you to all at Kaya Mawa for making our break there so special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trysh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews