We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Mactan Island
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I went to the Costabella purely based on the Trip Advisor reviews. It sounded like a good value resort.

1) We pre-arranged a taxi to pick us up. After 10 minutes waiting we decided to get another taxi as it was clear that our taxi wasn't coming. It was my first time in the Philippines and I wasn't too sure what to expect, so when the driver started driving down muddy country roads I was very nervous.

2) We pre arranged a free early check in. We arrived at around 4:30 in the morning. It was a short flight from Hong Kong and we hadn't slept all night. We got the hotel and no-one had any clue about our early check in so we ended up paying an extra $70 US. Fine, we did after all take up a half a day in there hotel. We got taken out to these houses on stilts and put in a rather grimy room. The first thing we noticed was the smell, it was a damp, moldy smell. We turned on the (extra loud) aircon thinking that it would take the smell away. We went to sleep but woke up after 90 minutes. I had a horrible headache and the room clearly still stank of damp. The toilet was disgusting too, plaster had fallen off one of the walls. It was the worst room I've ever stayed in, including hostels.

We asked for a change and they moved us to a half decent room.

3) There was nothing to do there. There's a busy swimming pool and a quite expensive massage spa. When you stay in a resort like this, you really just want to stay there and use up the facilities. going out the hotel it's a different world and you never see any westerners wandering around.

4) Day trips. Idiotically we didn't take much cash with us, what we didn't know till we arrived is that the Costabella don't take credit cards for ANY of their day trips. So we had to drive around looking for a cash points for hours. None of them worked, we don't know why but we couldn't get any cash out. So we where stuck for with 11,000 pesos ($300 US) for our week long holiday.

On the plus side, most of the staff were very polite and friendly. The food in the restaurant was very reasonably priced and some dished where very nice. Breakfast was okay, always a long queue for the french bread which was lovely.

The dive centre organised an island trip to Nalasuan Island which was beautiful. Almost compensated for the fact we couldn't go to Bahol.

Though despite that we still cut our holiday 2 days short. The weather forecast was bad and there's really nothing to do on a rainy day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 485 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

The Costabella is a chilled and relaxing environment to settle into if you are in need of an escape. The pools are great for kids, as is the beach, safe and calm. The concrete ' harbour ' walls are maybe not that attractive and the odd hawker's shout selling you boat rides and diving, a little annoying but this really is a small price to pay for the rest and tranquility you can scoop from the beach and sip from a mango mojito. Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms may be basic but comfortable and clean. We loved it, it feels small and cosy, friendly and warm.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Hotel was great friendly staff, nice clean rooms great pool. massage was very expensive. 1200paso more than triple price of outside. but transport was a ripe off. The taxis had no meters and charge huge amounts to travel short distances. The trycicles would not give a price before travel and even if they did you had to pay because each one was call when u required it. I would not recommend if u want to see the sites but if u want a quiet getaway with the kids this place is great. we cut our stay short because of the transport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Company outing for one day with buffet. Great staff! Our food was delicious and overflowing! Look for Ann if you visit the resort. She can assist you with anything resort related. Nice, well maintained place. Pools are nice, too! Room is cozy and masseuse is skilled! Will go back for sure! May not be like those high end first class resort but can't be beat when it comes to hospitality and warm reception!

Room Tip: Even the cheapest rooms are cozy with a huge bathroom. A bit dated but very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElcNagacity_cebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The title says it all. No interesting activities. Resort primarily for the elderly in my opinion. We paid for a sea view room, but when we entered our room, the only view we had was of tree leaves. We immediately asked for a room which had a sea view; we were giving a 2nd floor room which had a sea view. Food was good, no specials or theme dinner

Room Tip: If you just want a quiet vacation, this place may be what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
1.3 km away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.6 km away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
3.1 km away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
498 reviews
2.6 km away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 43 in Mactan Island
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range: $105 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing