We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go, you won’t be disappointed”
Review of The Ship’s Cat

The Ship’s Cat
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a find! This place is amazing.....received a warm welcome, staff were friendly and professional, food was fantastic! The meals were nicely presented, very generous portions and most importantly tasted great! Will certainly be going back and recommend to others!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Curiosity49747380113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At 12.30 today 24th May i went to The Ships Cat Tynemouth Quay to enquire if i could book a table for tonight. I was told by the waitress on the door that they do not do "same day" bookings which i found bizarre. She said i could just call in and hope they had a table. I enquired as to if they were busy with booked tables and she said they weren't. therefore they had tables but could not take a booking. Maybe i am wrong, but i don't get you can book up for any other night in advance but not the same night, and in this current climate i would say a same day booking is more safe in that the customer has less time to change their mind. I am not a young person so am past going from pub to pub "on spec" In this case the pub lost valuable income as i have booked elsewhere and again given the current climate i don't know why they would turn good custom away

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Service
Thank johnwarren2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2021

We have visited for coffee early morning over the last few weeks, great seating area and always a warm welcome, however..... cappuccino is always lukewarm so can’t be enjoyed at a leisurely pace, opted for tea this time (can’t go wrong with a pot of tea). The water wasn’t hot enough to brew the teabag and when poured was actually as if it was made with water from a household tap, the young waitress was very quick to bring a fresh pot which was scalding hot so obviously something amiss with the first. Family members rave about the food served here and it looks good so it’s a shame we haven’t had the same experience.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BB3rn4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2021 via mobile

Bank holiday Sunday visit - Well done to all of the staff for their stellar service throughout a day that saw them run off their feet. From beginning to end we were extremely well looked after and the team were professional and friendly. Covid restrictions were managed with care and the service was superb. We only had drinks but judging by the delicious look of the food being served we will soon be back for another visit and a meal.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Kjhayes244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

Impressed when first arrived staff cautious with covid restrictions etc.
Then it all went downhill nobody came to take our order eventually we got served.
Meal was good and there was a good choice.
Impossible to order anything more when we eventually got to order more drinks they never turned up
So in two hours our time was up so a meal and one drink.
My advice is stay well clear until they get more staff or restrict the amount of customers..

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank rupert130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship’s Cat also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Ship’s Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.