We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alva appartments Protaras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alva Hotel Apartments
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The Alva appartments are perfectly located at the end of the strip and 200 yards from Fig Tree Bay beach which is fantastic. The appartments are very nice plenty of room and cleaned every 2 days with fresh towels every day, the pool area is only small though and pool edges very dirty considering they have 2 buildings one for appartments & 1 for the suites their is not enough sun loungers to accomadate all the guests not unless you are up at 6am. I did not eat at hotel so cant comment on the food but right next door is the Loveboat probably the liveliest bar in Protaras which serves great food you can get a nice breakfast for 2 euros 50 very good value for money all in all though had a great time i wouldnt like to do 2 weeks at the Alva and its probably not ideal for a family holiday with children but a small break of 4-7 days is ideal for location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stylesy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review! Your comments were appreciated by both management and staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
* Just a small comment...we have very very many guests with children who visit us repeatedly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Our first issue was upon arrival at the Alva - We were told (or actually left to find out for ourselves upon entering our apartment) that Air conditioning was no longer included for Monarch clients. This was a contract issue between monarch and the Hotel which i was left to sort myself. Monarch were great at sorting however the Manageress less than helpful and informed me she didn't care who paid - but someone had to! Not a great start! The room was good, basic but had everything you needed. The bathroom clearly recently updated was very good. The room was cleaned 5 out of 7 days and to a good standard - although the balcony's are now glass fronted and ours was not cleaned so became increasingly smudged and dirty! The one hour wifi codes became tedious and we didnt realise until our last day that you could pay 20 euros for a week long code for 2 devices! The pool area was cleaned every morning - funny as the outside rim remained grimey -several people had ear infections throughout our stay.. Despite a notice people are allowed to reserve sunbeds from 630am so unless you are a very early riser you stand no chance of getting a bed until later in the day. A number of the beds are broken which is also an issue.

The Hotel/Apartments are in a great location and we ate in the poolside bar a couple of times and the food was very good. A number of silly managerial issues tainted an otherwise great holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
I would like to take this opportunity to remind you that when you messaged us through Facebook asking for information and requesting a room with pool view (which we allocated) you also asked us if air-conditioning was included and we informed you that it was not included in your package.
When you arrived at the hotel the receptionist also informed you that the air-conditioning was not included and you said you would not pay and that you wanted to see the manager. At no time during our conversation did I say 'I do not care who pays' but if you remember correctly it was I who advised you to contact Monarch and insist that they settle the issue as you felt you had been misled by them.
We sincerely apologise for the issue you had with the balcony, if this had been reported it could have been rectified immediately. The pool is cleaned daily, however the line that forms around the pool edge is due to the sun creams and lotions which the guests apply and do not remove by showering before entering the pool (even though there are signs indicating this). We would also like to point out that the sunbeds are checked regularly.
Finally, there is a sign on the reception desk informing guests as to the cost of the Wi-Fi in the rooms.
We hope these 'silly issues' will not put you of staying with us again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Yes it is basic but we only used the rooms for sleeping in. Nice, spacious and free air con. Location is right outside the Protaras strip great location beach is not far away. Food on site was very good well breakfast and lunch was. A nice base from which to go explore. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank joe6rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write you review we hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Went here in June half board,was told when we got there we must pay 72 euros for Air condition which was included in our booking with Monarch but they were adamant so paid it,got receipts and on our return sent receipts to Monarch who reimbursed us,food not very good in fact quite poor,no info on what the food was,would go back but would go self catering,not a bad hotel apart from the food

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We would like to clarify that air conditioning is not included with Monarch holidays (for this season) and as we explained, our contract clearly states this! We are pleased that Monarch reimbursed you for the air conditioning. It is a shame that you did not come and see me personally and give me some more information as to why you were dissatisfied with the food. I would like to take this opportunity to inform all guests that they are more than welcome to come and see me for any problems that may incur during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Alva hotel was amazing spotless and friendly staff and very family friendly.Maid service was great as well can't wait to get back next year booked already see yous august hope to get same room was great view 151 . Pool was great size and beds at pool were great to lye on . Nice family hotel x

Room Tip: Really all good view from all rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heatherforrest50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

What can we say we look forward to seeing you again next year!! Thank You!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 km away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,783 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
564 reviews
1.2 km away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#32 of 65 in Protaras
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#23 of 65 in Protaras
427 reviews
1.5 km away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
922 reviews
2.5 km away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#25 of 65 in Protaras
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva Hotel Apartments

Address: | PO.Box 30040, Protaras, Paralimni 5340, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: $91 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alva Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alva Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alva Hotel Protaras
Alva Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing