We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anais Bay Hotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$99
Bookcyprus.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Andreotis(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
238
180
53
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
180
53
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfig tree bayair conpool arealove boatupgraded to a suitenext yearself cateringthe main striptaxi rankbars and restaurantsan upgradegreat apartmentsclean apartmentsstudio apartmentcheers baryour doorstepgreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Our first issue was upon arrival at the Alva - We were told (or actually left to find out for ourselves upon entering our apartment) that Air conditioning was no longer included for Monarch clients. This was a contract issue between monarch and the Hotel which i was left to sort myself. Monarch were great at sorting however the Manageress less than helpful and informed me she didn't care who paid - but someone had to! Not a great start! The room was good, basic but had everything you needed. The bathroom clearly recently updated was very good. The room was cleaned 5 out of 7 days and to a good standard - although the balcony's are now glass fronted and ours was not cleaned so became increasingly smudged and dirty! The one hour wifi codes became tedious and we didnt realise until our last day that you could pay 20 euros for a week long code for 2 devices! The pool area was cleaned every morning - funny as the outside rim remained grimey -several people had ear infections throughout our stay.. Despite a notice people are allowed to reserve sunbeds from 630am so unless you are a very early riser you stand no chance of getting a bed until later in the day. A number of the beds are broken which is also an issue.

The Hotel/Apartments are in a great location and we ate in the poolside bar a couple of times and the food was very good. A number of silly managerial issues tainted an otherwise great holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floor for better view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
I would like to take this opportunity to remind you that when you messaged us through Facebook asking for information and requesting a room with pool view (which we allocated) you also asked us if air-conditioning was included and we informed you that it was not included in your package.
When you arrived at the hotel the receptionist also informed you that the air-conditioning was not included and you said you would not pay and that you wanted to see the manager. At no time during our conversation did I say 'I do not care who pays' but if you remember correctly it was I who advised you to contact Monarch and insist that they settle the issue as you felt you had been misled by them.
We sincerely apologise for the issue you had with the balcony, if this had been reported it could have been rectified immediately. The pool is cleaned daily, however the line that forms around the pool edge is due to the sun creams and lotions which the guests apply and do not remove by showering before entering the pool (even though there are signs indicating this). We would also like to point out that the sunbeds are checked regularly.
Finally, there is a sign on the reception desk informing guests as to the cost of the Wi-Fi in the rooms.
We hope these 'silly issues' will not put you of staying with us again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Yes it is basic but we only used the rooms for sleeping in. Nice, spacious and free air con. Location is right outside the Protaras strip great location beach is not far away. Food on site was very good well breakfast and lunch was. A nice base from which to go explore. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank joe6rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write you review we hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Went here in June half board,was told when we got there we must pay 72 euros for Air condition which was included in our booking with Monarch but they were adamant so paid it,got receipts and on our return sent receipts to Monarch who reimbursed us,food not very good in fact quite poor,no info on what the food was,would go back but would go self catering,not a bad hotel apart from the food

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We would like to clarify that air conditioning is not included with Monarch holidays (for this season) and as we explained, our contract clearly states this! We are pleased that Monarch reimbursed you for the air conditioning. It is a shame that you did not come and see me personally and give me some more information as to why you were dissatisfied with the food. I would like to take this opportunity to inform all guests that they are more than welcome to come and see me for any problems that may incur during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Alva hotel was amazing spotless and friendly staff and very family friendly.Maid service was great as well can't wait to get back next year booked already see yous august hope to get same room was great view 151 . Pool was great size and beds at pool were great to lye on . Nice family hotel x

Room Tip: Really all good view from all rooms .
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heatherforrest50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

What can we say we look forward to seeing you again next year!! Thank You!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Just returned from the Alva Apartments in paralimini Cyprus. We had a lovely Apartment looking out over the sea. The Apartment was one off the best we have stayed in very clean maid service 7 days out off 11 and very friendly staff. The only down fall for us was the Pool area didn't have enough sun loungers with parasols for the size off the Apartments as we are pool people and you had to be up at 6.30 if you wanted a bed with a parasol but hey hoe we just went to the beach didn't spoil our holiday. Fig Tree bay best beach in protarus. Lovely holiday would recommend these Apartments to anyone who likes self catering plenty restaurants and bars around to eat. Red Indian on the top road lovely food also if you want Fish and Chips also restaurant on the top road we didn't try it as only found it on our last night but will definitely go next time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank junie234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews