We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel is old. It needs refurbishment and it will be great. The most important thing though which is the room and the location were excellent. The room was very nice and clean and the location right in the heart of Protaras.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PanaEn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,062 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

We checked in expecting a wonderful hotel as from the outside it looks beautiful. Then we saw what it really was like. The rooms are a good size, all overlooking a lovely atrium and with sea view. But the furnishings are so cheap, plywood doors and wardrobes so every sound is heard. Is this really what should be in a 5 star hotel?
We changed rooms after the first night as we were next to the lifts which make a terrible racket as the go up and down throughout the night. Other people who stayed in the same room location also insisted on room changes (that is rooms 124, 224, 324). The new room was further away from the lifts but no better furnished.
The hotel entertainment was bingo and if you didn't join in you could still hear this at full volume in your room as it took place in the public areas directly below the rooms. Still, the 'care-home' entertainment matched the food, which was bland, uninspiring and poor quality. Everything was buffet style and despite the hotel supposedly having three restaurants, there was no choice. As it was early in the year, their seafood restaurant and pool bar were closed.
Unfortunately, in March the whe of Protaras was closed and the only signs of life was the Costa Coffee shop down the road, the pub or Macdonalds. At least the food there was good.
The final nails in this hotel's coffin? Charging for a room safe (pure money grabbing greed), charging for wi-fi, only one working English speaking station on the advertised satellite tv (BBC World)
and a broken toilet by the pool that they never attempted to fix the whole week we were there.
Loved Cyprus but not in March and NEVER this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arlene2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I visited this hotel in April 2011. The hotel was lovely along with the food. Generally the staff were very friendly and Pedros the waiter made our stay, he couldn't do enough for us. We stayed half board, which I am pleased about because we had to go out of the hotel most nights for some entertainment. The hotel entertainment was excruciatingly painful. The guy on the organ made you feel like slitting your wrists!!!! There were some issues with the beach as they were working on a lot of improvements which was a little dissapointing.

Would never stay here fully inclusive but all in all wouldn't mind going back half board, having said that don't attempt to buy drinks in the hotel, you will end up with a huge bill on your departure.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mimsiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

my personal favourite hotel that I've ever visited.
staff very friendly and can't do enough for you, have been back 3 times and still the same staff which says a lot in my book. food for an all inclusive is wonderful fresh daily and well cooked and beautifully presented.
the beds are so comfortable and rooms are so relaxing fab view whichever side you stay at.
beach bar pool is so relaxing.
I will be back again and again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank diannelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We went to this hotel last August, sorry for the delayed review. We were a family of 5, kids aged 12-17. When we arrived we drove along the strip of shops right near the hotel and were horrified. My teenage daughter was laughing saying we had brought us all to Ayia Nappa. I can understand why she thought that, booming music all competing with each other from bars, themed restaurants, tatoo parlours etc. We arrived at the hotel. It was late. Two scruffy porters took our passports and pointed us to our rooms, refusing to help us. My son's bed was a put you up which was so hard he slept in with the two girls. None of us slept until 3am when the noise of the bars subsided. The rooms were ok but the hotel old and drab. The restaurant carpet was FILTHY. The pool was mucky by the end of every day. The hotel staff allowed their friends and all the hotels nearby to use the facilities at the weekend. If you can put up with all that there were a few redeeming features. My son liked the water polo everyday, the pool table and spacious, cool indoor areas to sit and play cards etc. The barbeque outside once a week was nice and the fish restaurant outside which is part of the hotel was lovely but expensive and no-one goes. - except Mr. Toskos who owns a load of these hotels. He swaggers around the place quite a lot. It took me a while to come to terms with the fact that we were stuck there for 2 weeks, we did make the best of it but no way on earth is this hotel five stars.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 km away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
1,020 reviews
0.4 km away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#26 of 65 in Protaras
862 reviews
0.7 km away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,023 reviews
1.4 km away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
1,501 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel

Address: 29 Protaras Avenue | Protaras, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#15 Family Hotel in Protaras
#16 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#17 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: $188 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the beach hotel of dreams! Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel is directly located on Protaras golden sandy beach and impressively overlooks the endless shades of blue stretching towards the horizon. An exclusive all seasons 5 star hotel with stylish accommodation, elegant atrium lobby and excellent service complement the wide range of activities and facilities. From you balcony you may enjoy the first sunrise in Europe and the panoramic view of the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. It is located in the heart of Protaras with a big selection of bars, shops and restaurants just a foodstep away. The quality accommodation, friendly staff, and relaxed ambiance make this hotel an all-round appeal for a perfect luxurious beach hotel. Guests return year after year to the popular Constantinos The Great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantinos The Great
Constantinos Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing