We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Ok, so reading the reviews on TA have made me nervous as not visited this hotel for 9 years. No need to be worried. This hotel is in a fabulous location, right on a beautiful beach, smack bang in the centre of Protoras, so ideal if you enjoy being close to the bars, restaurants and shops. I agree the hotel is not International 5 Star standard, but still it is clean, tidy just not ultra modern. Food is ok, not fabulous cuisine but edible, just not the highlight of the stay. Views of the bay are amazing from the bedrooms. Pool areas are nice and clean. Fantastic to be able to go on holiday and not to have to get up early to claim a sunbed, wander on down anytime of the day and you will have a selection to choose from. My children felt the hotel was a little quiet for them as no entertainment on site really, but with so much going on around in Protoras not really necessary. Would defintiely return, a great value holiday in an unbeatable location.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank jojo2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Simply put, this hotel was a huge disappointment.

The decor has been mentioned may times in these reviews so I wont labour on that point. It is in a poor state of repair but the hotel is getting a refurb over the winter so thát will be addressed. Beyond the decor, the fixtures and fittings are also in a poor state of repair. In our room alone we had cupboard doors that were hanging off runners, a plug that would not allow the sink to fill and loose wall sockets.I heard similar tales of woe from other guests so I should imagine you could expect the same.
In fact, it was quite common for guests to be swapping horror stories poolside... it's an icebreaker at least.

The biggest problem I had with this holiday was the 'All Inclusive' package, which is anything but. Everything is engineered to steer you towards the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. The poolside bar shuts for food when the lunch buffet is about to begin, and again in the evening. The hotel offers Greek, Italian, Chinese and Mexican restaurants as part of the package, but this needs clarification as it is quite misleading.

First, you can only go to these once a week (which in most cases is more than enough).

Second, the 'Chinese' restaurant is just poolside tables with red tablecloths. The Mexican is in the hotel next door (and the better food of the 4) but again is poolside tables and the outdoor kitchen. The clincher though is the Greek and Italian (which turned out to be the same restaurant on the strip, but with two names!). These were both poor and while surrounding establishments were busy, they were always mostly empty. When you're forcing down soggy pasta and limp pizza while the Italian over the road is bustling, you wonder what it was you paid for.

The Greek restaurant that is only open for lunch is by far the best food in the hotel. Unfortunately again, the not-so-all-inclusive package allows you to dine here once a week.

The first breakfast buffet we had I asked for a bottle of water. I was told that bottles of water are not included in the All-Inclusive Package! Later I asked for a Frappe, I was told that they are not included either! So I can drink enough beer and spirits to sink a battleship, but I can't have a bottle of water or a simple cold coffee?! (Note water is available from soda dispensers behind the bar and a large urn at breakfast).

The All-inclusive package gives you 1 bottle of water and 4 cans of soda in your fridge on arrival. These were not there in either of our rooms. When reception was told, one fridge was stocked, the other took three days to arrive! This is not replnished unless you want to pay for it (oh, not-so-all-inclusive then). On the day of our departure, my wife was sleeping in the room while our baby took her afternoon sleep, when a man came in the room, ignored the protestations of my wife, and stocked the fridge for the next guests. this was beyond outrageous.

Air conditioning. Be prepared to leave your keycard in the slot at all times to leave your AC running 24/7 in your room. This is the only way it is effective. The breakfast/lunch buffet room is only cold for the first 5-10 minutes before it becomes a sauna. The two antiquated lifts were sweatboxes; you would inwardly weep if you had to stop at every floor before you could finally get out at your own, perspiring uncomfortably. The fans never seemed to work in them. To be clear, I live in the UAE and I'm quite used to the heat. I aso know what effective AC feels like!

The reception area is the most dimly lit I have ever seen, quite unwelcoming to be honest.

The shop inside the hotel does not stock drinks of any kind, even the water that we have to pay for.

The majority of tourists at the hotel are Russian, and so naturally the hotel mainly caters towards them for the evening entertainment. A lot of Brits felt they should have been made aware of this when booking. The entertainment was so poor (and the stage was a ramshackle plywood affair) that it was very poorly attended (even by the Russians), and events often cancelled. Quite often you felt you had no choice but to leave th hotel and go to the strip, even though it would cost money to do so.

There are positives. The service from the younger members of staff was good (you could tell when the older member of staff were having a bad day!) and a special mention must go to Kitti at breakfast and lunch, who always made sure we had whatever we needed to help with our baby. The waiter at the Mexican was also very good.

You cannot fault the location, Smack bang in the heart of everything.

Whenever we complained the issues were mostly dealt with quickly and resolved satisfactorily.

The pool is great, and the kids had a lot of fun.

The gym is good.

Fellow tourists I spoke to on the half-board package felt less agrrieved, but all in all, you will sit in your sun lounger amazed at how they think they can call it a 5-star hotel, while drinking your not-free bottle of water, looking at the cheaper Vrissiana hotel next door (also a Tsokkos hotel) and wondering why you didn't go there instead.

Room Tip: We had 242, had a sea view but was on the quiter side of the hotel so we had no issues with noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank GarthMaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Great position food in restaurants exelent staff very good rooms/bathrooms could do with upgrading just a few minor changes could make this hotel better soft drinks are not great nor are the kids ice creams but the al le carte restaurants are a bit of a con especially the Italian you only get a set menu feels like your having a early bird special offer

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank derbys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This hotel is very run down with a very dirty pool area.
The food selection is limited however good quality.
Staff are all good & friendly.
Rooms are all small & have a number of broken parts.
Would I return to this hotel? No. Location is great however it’s so run down & the limited selection of food makes it a high 2 star at best

Room Tip: look elsewhere for your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MarkB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Draws in the room are broken. The deco is stuck on the 90s. 2 lifts for 600 people and 100 sunbeds for 600 people. And they are broken. Nobody seems to bother about them it looks like a beautiful hotel outside but nnnnnooooo!!!!!!! And staff there is couple of them are lovely but most of them are miserable. I will never come back here again am going yo Grecian park next time... but what i can say the beach is beautiful really.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank marieboothfreyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 km away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
1,017 reviews
0.7 km away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,779 reviews
0.4 km away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#28 of 65 in Protaras
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,130 reviews
0.4 km away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#49 of 65 in Protaras
568 reviews
0.3 km away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel

Address: 29 Protaras Avenue | Protaras, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#16 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#17 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#21 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: $195 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the beach hotel of dreams! Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel is directly located on Protaras golden sandy beach and impressively overlooks the endless shades of blue stretching towards the horizon. An exclusive all seasons 5 star hotel with stylish accommodation, elegant atrium lobby and excellent service complement the wide range of activities and facilities. From you balcony you may enjoy the first sunrise in Europe and the panoramic view of the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. It is located in the heart of Protaras with a big selection of bars, shops and restaurants just a foodstep away. The quality accommodation, friendly staff, and relaxed ambiance make this hotel an all-round appeal for a perfect luxurious beach hotel. Guests return year after year to the popular Constantinos The Great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantinos The Great
Constantinos Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing