We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
A TripAdvisor Member
53
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

When i stayed here it was amazing, food was great, gym was decent, rooms great, staff great, pool great and a wee path and thats you on the beach. Great holiday and thinking about going back, stay here for friends wedding.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about our hotel.

We are glad to read that we could convince you of our high quality standard and that everything, from food to service, was to your full satisfaction.

We look forward to your next visit, where you will also have the chance of seeing our renovated hotel!

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017

First of all we did have a good holiday. Cyprus in October is perfect.

There are lots of positives about this hotel so let’s start with those:

The location - right on the beach and within 100m of great bars and restaurants - is great.

Rooms are spacious and all have at least a side sea view.

The pool area is very nice. There is a boardwalk that leads on to the sandy beach with lovely safe swimming.

The boardwalk runs all the way along the beach so lovely walks in the evening.

Food was good. We went for the half board option and chose to eat breakfast and lunch at the hotel and in the evenings found some really lovely restaurants within just a few 100m of the hotel.

It was a nice mix of ages and nationalities.

Now the moaning:

The hotel is overdue for a refurb - this is being done this winter, so no point in grumbling about wallpaper and carpets.

I really hope they refurb the staff too! Reception were just completely uninterested - we arrived at 10.30pm and were treated like we were a nuisance. No offer of anything to eat or drink. No information given at all - just a key card passed over the counter after demanding our passports. No offer of help with our bags, not even directions to the lift. Some of the bar and restaurant staff were more helpful. Although the guy in the lobby bar had an absolute meltdown when we asked for a bottle of prosecco???? Not sure if the staff were just exhausted at the end of a long season, but it really felt like they just didn’t want you there.

We felt happy to use the pool area and downstairs restaurant for breakfast and lunch but in the evenings we just had to go out to get away from the gloom of the very dark lobby bar and the grumpy staff.

Currently the hotel is not a 5 Star - it may have been once but it’s now very faded. To really feel like 5 Star experience quality accommodation AND quality service are essential.

I really hope that along with a makeover of the rooms and public areas the staff are given a refresh in their customer service skills.

Room Tip: Level 2 or 3 for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear PaulaEssex_England,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We too are very disappointed to see you were less than satisfied with your stay at our hotel. Excellent guest satisfaction is of enormous importance to us and on reading this review we conducted an investigation to ascertain how this could have happened.

Please know that we pride ourselves on our impeccable personalized service and on creating memorable experiences for our guests. We are disheartened to hear that we were unable to convey this during your visit.

We sincerely hope to get the chance to be your host again, in order to show you our real potential.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Yes I know it's due to be reburshed (although I didn't when booking in January). So I accept this accounts for the wallpaper peeling off the walls, the thick limes scale all around the bathroom, the tired, battered bedroom furniture, the dirty lumpy mattress. But surely this does not account for curtains not clipped to the rails, poolside filthy and sticky, minimum, bland food selection, grumpy unhelpful reception staff, no air conditioning in dark morbid bar area, no entertainment, filthy loos, no cover on duvet.
We stay in 4 and 5 star hotels all across Europe and this is he worst yet ! Couldn't even get basic water supplies.
Yes it has regular customers that are proud to say they have been going year upon year. Easy to recognise the regulars too, they are the ones that get bottled water served with a wine glass at lunch time whilst the rest of us are grateful for a tumbler full. They are also the ones who have staff reserve the best sun beds in prime round the pool by placing towels on them in the night whilst the rest of us are trying to sleep on lumpy beds with the constant hum of generators in the room. Oh yes, if you want a sun bed round the pool, get up early, even then the chances of finding one that is not broken is highly unlikely.
Just so real 5 star travellers are aware, beach towels are changeable only every other day, fridge is not replenished in rooms. Oh and don't bother with the Italian restaurant that they tell you you can pre book. A choice of two main courses and I swear I have been put off pizza for life!

Stayed: October 2017
7  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Stephanie B,

Thank you for your review shared with other travelers.

We are sorry that we didn't manage to meet your holiday expectations and we have noted down all your remarks, and these will be taken into consideration. Please note that our hotel is under full refurbishment at the moment and a brand new hotel will be opened in May!

We do hope we will have the chance of welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This hotel is a little tired, the room I stayed had pealing wallpaper, noisy air conditioning & plumbing, but on the plus side the catering is very good. The location is central to Protaras and within easy walking distance of bars, shops etc. The rooms do not come with ironing facilities but these are available in the lobby area and there is a daily charge for the use of the room safe.
The pool is unsupervised ( no lifeguard) and the poolside bar only serves local drinks at full price unless all inclusive. There is also a lack of poolside recliners.
To summarize I would rate this hotel at 3* but the staff do work hard to try a make you comfortable.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank lstacey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear lstacey2,

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor.

We have noted down all your remarks, and these will be taken into consideration. Please note that our hotel is under full refurbishment at the moment and a brand new hotel will be opened in May!

We do hope we will have the chance of welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Where do I begin? If anyone's reading this don't expect to read about the 5 star service that you should be expecting otherwise you'll be extremely disappointed.
Just returned from a week half board holiday - family of 6 in 3 rooms. Previous reviews already explained that the reception area was not welcoming, and reception staff lack any customer care skills. Unfortunately this was true. They kept our passports that day but when I asked for them back they pulled them out from under the counter and ignored my question as to why they were not in a secure place. I've never seen this type of blase attitude.
General overview - lighting was minimal to various areas in the hotel, not to create a homely feel but in my opinion to cut running costs and you could also see this in the outdated furnishings, with cupboard drawers barely closing due to bits of wood sticking out, bedside lights not securely fitted, exposed wires to sockets; to name but a few problems. Evidence of historical leaks in rooms, one even by an electrical socket directly adjacent to 3rd floor communal emergency staircase which was covered up by 3 patches of wallpaper ( you can't miss it).
Here's my brief overview of the hotel services;
Rooms - small bathrooms with shower over bath, ancient hairdryer, toilet seats not correct size for toilet. Complimentary toiletries not topped up during stay. Bedroom good size but furniture is from the 80's era and showing its age. Small closets with some hanging space and access couple of drawers. Unfortunately not clean and in disrepair so kept clothes in suitcases all week. Door to rooms have large gaps, hinges loose, no spy hole and you have to ask for a do not disturb sign! Room safe and 30 year old fridges are locked, you have to pay a daily fee for these before your allowed to use them. Air con didn't work most of our stay but when it kicked in it smelt horrible, so forget that. They provide tea and coffee daily with decent sized kettle but no bottled water. All rooms had a small balcony with chairs/table but views (side sea) were obstructed by design of the hotel with protruding walls by road end. Generator noise and vibration above rooms 302,304 & 306 so don't expect any sleep during your stay here. Reception advised that maintenance would look into it, never did and they never even apologised for this or asked how our stay was which is normally customary.
Food -breakfast had a good range of hot food, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, breads, croissants,, and fruits. Served from 7-10am.
Dinner was themed nights with greek, Italian buffet etc. Plenty of food but rather bland and not many good fish dishes.
Cleanliness - don't expect your bed covers to be changed during a week stay or a proper vacuum - we found an old receipt under one of our beds dated prior to us checking in. Though the cleaning staff are happy and courteous.
Pool/beach area - enough recliners for time of year and beach towels provided. Note: beach towels can only be changed Monday, Wednesday and Friday.
Main concerns which the hotel management should look into is health and safety;
> balcony railings loose - especially to 3rd floor atrium and private balconies
>fire breaks between rooms need to be done - check above suspended ceiling
>damaged locks/hinges/doors to rooms- do not comply with fire safety
>check electrical sockets/cables -dated and some exposed

>poor visibility to ground floor reception area and basement area leading to pools/beach.

Lastly I would have to point out that being 'evicted' by 6 personnel whilst in the process of taking your luggage to the car, after paying £25 euros for 3 hours late check out, is absolutely appalling. Their explanation was laughable - 'need to change the sheets (always need 2 men and 4 women for this!).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank vividtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear vividtraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel.

We always welcome negative comments as we understand guests' experiences play a key role in our continuing process of improvement.

We are saddened to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel. Our staff is trying hard to maintain the highest standards with the utmost care, and we are disappointed that you find that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are disappointed to learn that this time we could not manage to offer you an enjoyable stay. Please note that all of our rooms will be refurbished and we are making major renovations in other points as well, and we hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 km away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 64 in Protaras
1,022 reviews
0.7 km away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 64 in Protaras
1,786 reviews
0.4 km away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#28 of 64 in Protaras
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
3.9 km away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#10 of 64 in Protaras
1,142 reviews
0.3 km away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 64 in Protaras
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel

Address: 29 Protaras Avenue | Protaras, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#15 Family Hotel in Protaras
#16 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#17 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: S$198 - S$534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the beach hotel of dreams! Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel is directly located on Protaras golden sandy beach and impressively overlooks the endless shades of blue stretching towards the horizon. An exclusive all seasons 5 star hotel with stylish accommodation, elegant atrium lobby and excellent service complement the wide range of activities and facilities. From you balcony you may enjoy the first sunrise in Europe and the panoramic view of the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. It is located in the heart of Protaras with a big selection of bars, shops and restaurants just a foodstep away. The quality accommodation, friendly staff, and relaxed ambiance make this hotel an all-round appeal for a perfect luxurious beach hotel. Guests return year after year to the popular Constantinos The Great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantinos The Great
Constantinos Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing