We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in full view.”
Review of Chrystalla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chrystalla Hotel
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Wow, is now i would sum up my stay at the Chrystalla. From the moment we arrived on the 30th July 2017 for our 11 night stay until we left the staff did nothing but smile they are a credit to the hotel. 11 nights and it only cost €16.50 for a safe key. The hotel is situated just 30 seconds from the boardwalk and 30 seconds walk in the other direction to the strip. The pool has an amazing amount of parasol around the pool with a lovely bar and a welcome breeze billowing through. The food is themed at night for dinner the well cooked and unlimited. After over 40 years staying at hotels around the world the Chrystalla is in my top 2. Couple of tips try to watch the Cypriot Blues Brothers show(we actually managed to stop all traffic through the town at the show) also by your duty free spirits in the resort as the airport duty-free shop was more expensive than Morrisons back home in Bognor. All in all can't wait to return to Protaras and the Chrystalla even more so ..Brilliant.

Room Tip: Contact hotel soonest for possible sea view although pool view was cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank albartram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is ok
Not happy for the charge of a fridge €16 a week
Restaurant tables need replacing as do the sun beds and umbrellas
The staff are very courteous and the rooms are cleaned every day
On the whole very relaxing you are not far from the town or the beach
Our room was at the back so our view was just waste ground and the back of the shops

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jordan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Visited Protaras for 3rd year in a row.
First time to this hotel.

Lovely and clean and we had a balcony overlooking fig tree bay which was great.

Rooms cleaned every day our cleaning staff were really lovely. Room spacious and we did hire the fridge and safe which was not expensive. Air conditioning worked well. Soap and shower gel were provided.

Meals were theme nights the food was good and it was hot. Always salad, plenty desserts and plenty of choice. Least favourite was bbq night, favourite was the carvery the meat was delicious. Breakfasts had good choice.

The pool area was lovely, kept clean and a really good pool bar. Plenty of sun beds. There was a lovely breeze at times which was great given the temperature was 37 degrees

The reasons I have not given 5 stars are below but they would not stop me visiting again

Some tables were really grubby and could have done with being scrubbed.
Tables not set had to get your own cutlery.

Sun Beds need replaced not great.

More choice of fresh fruit at breakfast

A list on the tables at dinner of drinks available would be good.

As I said small things that would not stop me going back

Thanks for a lovely holiday.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Chrystalla Hotel , and must say found it to be a great little hotel with friendly staff.
Travelled with Thomsons and did not arrive untill the early hours of the morning, due to a delay at Birmingham Airport, although we were half board, no food was left in the room for us, but this was made up to us by the hotel opening the dinning room early on the evening of our departure, for us to eat before we left. which we found to be better as we did not really want to eat that time of a morning
check in.. not quick but rapid, no passport check just a night porter ticking your name off a list and telling you the way to your room.
rooms.. we paid for an superior room which came with safe and fridge included, the fridge was vital in the hot august heat, the room was very large with balcony to match,
walk in shower and a/c also excellent. Stayed on the 4th floor did not have sea view, but rest of our party did, sea views were nice but the back of the hotel gets the sun in the late afternoon.
pool/pool bar..always a hive of activity, some reviewers moaned about the airbeds and balls in the pool, remember it is a family hotel, and children have to play as well, a notice in the hotel says do not reserve beds, but like a lot of people when they go on holiday they forget how to read and all the sunbeds had gone by 8.30a.m. although it must be said some of the beds could do with some T.L.C. The pool bar was on par with other bars in the area 60cents for a bottle of water and 3euros for a beer, food was also very reasonably priced.
food.. Different theme every night, BBQ, ASIAN, CARVERY, etc, although food was ok would not call it great, but that is just personal opinion, puddings you had to guess what they were, no name cards on puddings and they all looked like different coloured moose with either unset jelly or melon, some nights ice cream.
locatin,, great.. 2 mins from fig tree bay, with it's golden sand and clear water, other way 2 mins from the quiet end of the strip, close enough to the strip to enjoy it but far enough away not to be bothered by the noise.
A family run hotel and nice to see the owners about, and always got time to talk to the guests.

Room Tip: superior room on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank aron149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Thankyou so much to all the staff of the Chrystalla. You really make the place. Special mention to Killy and the two brother owners. Nothing was too much trouble! Highly recommended and good value for money. We were a large group of three families with lots of children and were made to feel very welcome.
Food in pool bar and restaurant was of very high quality. I wouldn't say that there was a huge choice but we really enjoyed the idea of a different theme every night. For example, Italian, Carvery, Greek and Asian. We went with the intention of eating out most nights but only ate out once in our two week holiday and that was because we went on an organised Greek night.
We also really enjoyed the family run feel of the hotel. It was the Grandads birthday of the hotel when we were there and the owners were having a family meal in the restaurant. The grandma shared the birthday cake with us all and we loved this special touch.
We had a family room on the fourth Floor with sea views and this was fantastic.
Great location and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. A real gem. Don't change x

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.4 km away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
562 reviews
0.2 km away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,780 reviews
0.8 km away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,021 reviews
0.2 km away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#20 of 65 in Protaras
471 reviews
0.3 km away
TUI Family Life Nausicaa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrystalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrystalla Hotel

Address: Dimitri Lagiou 6, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#10 Family Hotel in Protaras
#15 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: $79 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrystalla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chrystalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrystalla Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing