We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday ”
Review of St. Elias Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Elias Resort
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We returned last week from our first visit to Cyprus. Our son, daughter-in-law and grandson also were on holiday with us.
The hotel & grounds are beautiful. No high rise building just little blocks of apartments dotted around. We stayed in superior studio, which had king size bed, sofa bed, dining table & chairs, kitchenette, with full size fridge & bathroom with bath & overhead shower. No problem with hot water or pressure.
The rooms are large & all seem to have a lovely large balcony to terrace. Our son & his family stayed in a one bedroomed apartment which had separate large bedroom, 2 sofa beds in lounge, dining table & chairs, kitchenette with microwave & bathroom as above. The balcony was absolutely huge.
Everywhere at this hotel is exceptionally clean. There are 2 pool areas, a quiet pool, where there is no music etc had lovely cushions on the sun beds, a larger pool where the water slides & entertainment was. So there was something for everyone.
The food in the buffet restaurant was one of the best we have experienced in an all inclusive resort. We have been all over the Caribbean staying in 5* platinum hotel and this is on par if not better than some of those. There is a different theme every night, Mexican, BBQ, Italian, Cypriot, Gourmet, Carvery and our favourite was the Far Eastern night. There is a kids section of the restaurant and our grandson loved helping himself & tried things he would probably never have done.
The staff here are excellent and go out if there way to make sure you have everything you need to make your holiday special. They come around the pool offering freezing towels, which we needed as the temperature was never below 40 degrees, or little tubs of frozen dessert or fruit. This was a love,y touch. Mario & Illonna in the quiet pool bar mixed some fab drinks and a,ways had a laugh with you. They knew what you wanted before you even asked.
There's also an A la carte Greek restaurant on site which is really good, but not suited to children, you can go to the Buffet and get their food to take through to the Greek restaurant, which I thought was really good.
The entertainment team work extremely hard here and put on a different show each night. They work wonders with the resources they have. The dancing is amazing, Joe, Kirsty & Katie were fantastic classically trained dancers. The singing came from Malik who was good and Lucy, unfortunately I don't think the sound system suited Lucy's voice!!!
The team were fantastic with the kids, and our grandsons favourite was DJ Dimi who did the kids disco every night.
You hire towels for €10 for your stay but you get this back at the end of your holiday, you can change them every couple of days.
Out and about.
You are about a 10 min walk from the centre of Protaros. There is loads shops and restaurant there, a Magic Dancing Water show, which we went to and although we though it was great, we also thought it was a little over priced.
The beach at Fig Tree Bay is beautiful but make sure your there early to get a sun bed. There's also a few little bays to the left of the centre. These are a little quieter. Loads of water sports are on offer.
We hired a car to explore. And went to Greco Caves etc to snorkel. We then decided to hire a buggy from Prot or us motos. This was very reasonable & so much fun. We went along to Ayia Napa, which is only about 10km away, we also visited Fomacousta. Our only gripe was we did not fly until 10pm and asked for day one if we could keep 1of our rooms on. Reception kept saying it probably wouldn't be a problem but to go back 'tomorrow' this went on until the day we were leaving where we were told no rooms were available!!! You have to take a shower and get changed in the toilets. No electric points for hairdryer etc. The little hairdryer on the wall was practically useless. Surely you could let people keep their rooms on until at least 4pm. We have never had a problem anywhere els in the world.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday at a fantastic hotel. Would I go back. Oh yes in a heartbeat and cannot wait. Our son has booked up already for next year.

Big welldone to all the team at St Elias Resort.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank jaqr1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vakis C, General Manager at St. Elias Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for sharing your excellent review following your recent stay in our St. Elias Resort.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are glad to know that we succeeded in providing you a holiday that left you truly satisfied.

It is nice to note that our services provided had a very positive impact on your stay and we are sure that everyone in the St. Elias Resort will be absolutely pleased to hear of this. Your words continue to give credence to the hard work and effort, motivating us to keep striving for the best in what we do.

We are delighted to read that your son already booked our St. Elias Resort for next season and we certainly look forward to welcoming you all back.

With kind regards,

The St. Elias Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We returned yesterday from St Elias Resort as a family of 4. 2 Parents and 2 Children (1 classed as an adult at 15 years old and paying full price). My review is mixed. We have had a good holiday but I feel this hotel is no where near a 4*+/ 5* just yet and the Ultra All Inclusive is somewhat lacking in the Ultra. I will review in sections to stop me rambling:
Rooms: We had a upper 1 bed suite with a single sofa (not sofa bed and unsuitable for sleeping) and camp bed (very small and basic). Clean rooms, Kitchenette, Shower Unit (no bath) and a good balcony.
Master Room was spacious, plenty storage and good bed. Lounge was not equipped with suitable beds for that of a full paying adult and the camp bed was very cramped for that of a 6 year old. Air Con noisey and poor causing restless nights and can only be on with magnetic door key that controls electric. You cannot leave in to keep on unless you get the spare key. If you have a terrace you can quite easily lock yourself out if the door slams behind you.
(I will include photos)

Dining Restaurant: Good Food throughout meal times. Only on occasion of very busy periods did you struggle to find a table. The staff would always try to help accomodate you if you were an established resident. Service from the staff was very efficent and they were very pleasant.

Bars:
Reception/ Relax Pool Bar is very much a chill out chat style bar and seats are mostly available.
Activity Pool Bar: Evening gets busy and they really need more seating in busy months of the year if you decide to watch the entertainment.

Drinks: Not Good - watered down everything even Branded Product. Soft Drinks no fizz, Larger is Keo and Estrella, Smirnoff cant taste it or seem to get and effect off it same as cocktails and unbranded alcohol. You could drink all day and night and never feel it,it was so watery. Fresh orange was transparent at times. No Ultra All Inclusive in my opinion.

Snacks: Cheese Sandwiches or Cheese and Ham Sandwiches, Salads or Water Melon available between meals. There is unlimited icecream and milkshakes available (if they have vanilla). Need more variety for people who do not wish to dine for lunch in restaurant for a big meal. Pizza and Fries maybe??

Entertainment: Can only describe as poor. Mini Disco - Poor

Pools - Slide/Activity Pool is good but very busy at times and you do need to get up early for a lounger.

Relax Pool - loungers with cushions obviously alot quieter than other and its next to restaurant.


We where asked to change suites at the end of the holiday to allow the hotel to accomodate someone else. We did this but do wish we hadnt, however they compensated us with a free late check out for the trouble.
With the move what we did find was that the new room had full memory foam beds in the lounge which where comfortable and would allow a good nights sleep. This annoyed me as I was unaware these beds existed in these suites and I believe as a full paying adult my daughter should of had one all along as the sofa really is a single uncomfortable sofa and not a bed. If I had knew this was not standard I would of dealt with it. I confirmed with others that their small children had memory foam beds but others had the sofas who again felt this was unacceptable as they had paid adult price also.

We enjoyed our holiday but we dont think we would return. We met some fantastic people and my son made alot of friends.

I just cant justify the price at this moment.
This is 3*+ maybe bordering 4 star accomodation they need to do some work to get to 4* Plus.
They need a atleast a small convenience store.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank sunshineandplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vakis C, General Manager at St. Elias Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

It is with mixed feelings we receive your review following your recent stay in our St. Elias Resort as well. It really hurts to read that even if we have managed to satisfy you with almost all our services we did not fully satisfy you with our extra beds comfort and drinks quality. The effort put from all the team of the resort is very big to reach our objective of having very satisfied guests and we are really sad to read that we did not manage to do this in your case. We would like to ensure you that we will take all your comments into very serious consideration for immediate and near future improvement. Realizing that, as with every other hotel, we are not perfect, we understand that sometimes it is necessary for us to take actions for continues improvement. Once again please accept our apologies for not fully meeting your needs and thank you for visiting us. We do hope for the chance to welcome you back in the future, so we can better serve you in the areas we have missed.

Kind Regards,

The team of St. Elias Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week stay at St Elias, as a family of two adults and two children aged 6 and 12. The rooms are clean and very spacious, it was a short walk to reception and the air conditioning was quite noisy but very needed! The only gripe I have regarding the rooms is that there is nothing to hang swimming costumes up to dry outside, we had a small terrace with no railings so towels had to go on the outside chairs to dry so a small clothes rail would be ideal.
The pools are lovely and well maintained, the lifeguards are fab and really engaged with the children Sasha and Eddie are a credit to the hotel! The pool music could do with being mixed up a bit as it was rather repetitive.
The snack bar needs to have more snacks available as there is only baguettes, fruit or salad tubs. There is no menu so you have to ask what the snacks are. My daughters would have loved to have had a toastie, chips or something along those lines occasionally for lunch instead of having to go to the main restaurant for lunch. The fizzy drinks are very flat but the milkshakes and cocktails were fab!
Mario in the reception bar was such a nice guy always chatting and made some lovely cocktails and he came in early on the day we were leaving to say goodbye!
You could not fault the food at all in the restaurant, it was amazing! The staff were always cleaning and making sure the food was constantly topped up, the other staff were very quick at clearing tables although sometime a little too quick when you were still eating.
This hotel restaurant is not like your average hotel canteen type its smaller and feels like a restaurant! Although it does get very busy at peak times but it still maintains its high standards.
The Entertainment is fun and light hearted and the team work very hard with what they have got. The stage area is very small and the seating area is not big enough for all the guest so you may have to sit on a sun lounger. The team are limited to what shows they can do and it does seem like they have a small budget for props/costumes etc. They make a huge effort to socialise with the guests and get people involved if they want to but there is no pressure if that's not your thing. All of the team were nice but a special mention to Kirsty,Marek and Joe for making that extra effort and to Siddy for always being so enthusiastic!
We had a great family holiday and met some lovely people, we would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Donna1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vakis C, General Manager at St. Elias Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

It is with great pleasure we receive your very good evaluation following your visit in our St. Elias Resort.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our resort and please rest assured that we will continue all the hard work to constantly provide the best to our guests. Your comment for the drinks is very important to us and we would like to ensure you that we are working closely with the supplier to find immediate solution.

Once again thank you very much for visiting us, thank you for your very good evaluation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

The team of St. Elias Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Only a quick review, it was more like 7/10.

Good Points

Clean Hotel
Nice Sized rooms
Great Pools and Slide
Only a short walk to Protaras
Reserving beds not too bad but you need to get down by 845 for the activity pool beds
Ice Cream on tap
Milkshakes superb
Friendly and lovely staff
Food good and high quality
Entertainers, worked very hard but Marek whilst a+ for effort, his singing and dancing was pretty robotic and not that great

Bad points
Air Con far too noisy even on low settings meaning we didn't sleep too well because of it
Music at activity pool really louid and on a 1 hour repeat so by 3pm you want to kill
someone or in fact you knew what song was coming up !
Only 1 main restaurant (we went once to Meze but left after 2 courses as it wasn't really to our liking)
Not much to do in the evening, entertainment was hit and miss

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajuWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vakis C, General Manager at St. Elias Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Mr. Watts,

First of all we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback and we are indeed happy with all your positive comments about our St. Elias Resort, however we are sorry to read that we did not fully satisfy you. We feel confident that some of your comments can be easily fixed as our aim is certainly to have all our guests very satisfied. We duly take note of your suggestions for improvement and we do hope for the chance to welcome you back in the future, so we can prove our ability to improve the areas we have missed.

With kind regards,

The team of St. Elias Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We are just coming towards the end of a week's holiday at St Elias Resort. We are a family of four with children aged 13 & 8.

We were not expecting the hotel to be as good as most of the reviews suggested, but it actually is.

The resort is just really well put together and run. The accommodation, restaurant, food, pools and staff are all great.

The accommodation is clean, spacious and comfortable. Our room was at the back of the resort which is a short walk from the main pools and resturant. I would say however that if you have mobility issues it may be a bit difficult to access the rooms at the back of the resort as you do need to walk uphill, and up a number of steps.

The food and restaurant is definitely a step up from any other AI I have visited in mainland Spain, Canaries or the Balearics. Different themed nights and a good quality choice of food at all mealtimes. We normally eat out a few times whilst on holiday but this time we didn't feel the need to do this at all.

The activity pool with slides and music all day is great for the kids. There is a quieter, more relaxing pool also. If you want the "best" lounger positions (at the activity pool) you do need to get up by 7am-8am, however, we did not have a problem finding loungers after breakfast on a few occasions. The hotel provide towels for a deposit (€10 each) if you don't want to pack your own. The towels can be changed during the week.

If I could suggest some improvements for the hotel to make, and these are minor, they didn't impact our holiday at all, I would say that the drinks quality could be improved. The soft drinks were a bit flat and the beer wasn't great. That said, the milkshakes were absolutely delicious!

The entertainment team worked hard and what we saw of the evening entertainment was average. Definitely not the best I have seen, but we tended to walk into Protaras (10 mins) in the evening or take a taxi to Ayia Napa (€32 return).

All in all a very good hotel which I would recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank hywel1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vakis C, General Manager at St. Elias Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are especially pleased to read your comments with regards to your overall experience and we are grateful that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Positive feedback like yours will always serve as an added motivation to our entire team. As for your recommendations for improvement please rest assured that we will look into the matter and make adjustments where necessary.

We would definitely be more than pleased to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

The St. Elias Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.8 km away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,779 reviews
1.3 km away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
1.5 km away
Louis Infinity Blu
Louis Infinity Blu
#15 of 65 in Protaras
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
560 reviews
1.4 km away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,018 reviews
2.2 km away
TUI Family Life Nausicaa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Elias Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Elias Resort

Address: Agiou Ilia 44, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: $197 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Elias Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultra All Inclusive Resort rests on a total of 40.400 sq. meters of beautiful gardens. Its spacious, comfortable studios and suites, its unique architecture and amazing views give a feeling of independence and relaxation. Resort’s facilities include a reception building with a bar and sitting areas, a fully renovated main restaurant with extensive verandas, a brand new tavern "Meze by Elliniko" with astonishing view, a swimming pool with a second bar and terrace, a Jacuzzi ,2 kids clubs and a playground, tennis court, a second pool which includes three(3) water slides (Two lane Racing slide, Float slide and Wavy body slide, children below the age of 6 and/or under the minimum height of 120cm are not allowed to use the water slides), kids pool and as well as a brand new spa consisting of a gym, sauna, steam bath and treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your St. Elias Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing