We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Gwalior
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2011

A very nice place to spend you weekend! The rooms we had got were huge and truly exemplified luxury! The bath tubs and toilets were redone and it was truly going back in time. A very well kept lawn greets you! When we had visited the hotel was undergoing a few renovations and hence there were a few things out of place. Service however is something that needs to improve. A bit too slow - possibly it is because of the location rather than the hotel group. Worth spending a couple of weekends every year at the place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avinashmnayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 476 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

A very nice hotel and I would say the best in Gwalior. The food is great and the rooms are very nicely priced for a Taj hotel providing a lot of amenities and warmth to the guest. Had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harshkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

What a stunningly beautiful hotel! It took us a bit to find it, but thanks to our guide and many requests for directions, we rolled in around nine p.m.

The service was amazing; one of our group was ill during the stay but she received so much personal attention that we never had to worry about her.

The rooms are huge. Simply massive in comparison to anything else we stayed at in India. Lovely sitting area in addition to the bedroom, huge dressing room and massive toilet area with stunning marble shower and tub.

The restaurant was lovely -- gorgeous breakfast with excellent freshly made omlettes and the a la cartes were delicious.

Gardens were exquisite and you could easily spend a few hours sitting beneath various trees.

And, I had no problem changing traveller's cheques at the front desk -- always a bonus!

I would highly recommend the Usha Kiran to all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatjaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Everybody in the Hotel is quite kind and gentle.
Everything is clean and the restaurant is great. We have eaten outside as the interior has no air conditioning and is rather hot.
Shame that there are glasses - unmovable - dividing the dinning room from the outside.
The waiter was Mr Santosh who suggested us good Indian food.
The Housekeeping in charge at the moment was a young Mr Jasil Ponnachan who was very kind and attentive.
November 2011

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the garden. On the ground floor may also be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio-Correia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I have been to this hotel many times and my Journey with Taj began here. I felt the warmth in their welcome and even though initially they took some time to adjust things to my taste they were very prompt and eager in their efforts. Food is just fantastic and with a Gwalior Sitar Player the dinner becomes regal. Rooms are big and some are with very good view. So check out before selecting one. It is next to the famous Jai Vilas Palace and one can visit their with minimum time to spend

Room Tip: Check out before taking rooms. The decor and view changes from room to room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medhurocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
2.5 km away
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
#2 of 27 in Gwalior
373 reviews
0.8 km away
Clarks Inn Suites - Gwalior
2.5 km away
Hotel Gwalior Regency
Hotel Gwalior Regency
#5 of 27 in Gwalior
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Central Park
The Central Park
#22 of 27 in Gwalior
179 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#4 of 27 in Gwalior
200 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Surbhi
Hotel Surbhi
#14 of 27 in Gwalior
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior

Address: Jayendraganj, Lashkar, Gwalior 474009, India (Formerly Usha Kiran Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior District > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Gwalior
Price Range: $168 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Usha Kiran Palace has played host to the Prince & Princess of Wales and is now a heritage hotel. Set amidst 9 acres of beautifully landscaped lawns, this 135 year old regal palace, rich in history, is outfitted with artistic stone carvings and delicate filigree work. Conveniently located, the hotel has 40 beautiful rooms including Villas with private pool and suites, a dining room truly reminiscent of royalty, a Bar and the award winning Jiva Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usha Kiran Palace Gwalior
Usha Kiran Palace Hotel Gwalior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing